We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pat cooks as well as a French Chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spring Street Inn to your Saves list
Spring Street Inn
353 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
La Rochelle, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pat cooks as well as a French Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

During a visit to the United States, we visited Newport. We were two families from France and stayed three days in the suite and another room on the top floor of the Spring Street Inn. This will remain one of our best memories in our trip. Both rooms were stylishly decorated, cozy and surprisingly quiet in spite of the traffic in the street (very comfortable mattresses as well). In the suite we enjoyed the jacuzzi and the balcony with a fantastic panoramic view of the harbor. But we loved Pat, our dear hostess. She was able to speak enough French and guided us with our visit of the city and most of all, what a variety of breakfasts she manages to offer, from fresh fruits to crepes, to all kinds of omelettes and home-made muffins. Quel plaisir ! Pat, we will be back !

Room Tip: If you can get the suite, do not hesitate. It is large and comfortable and the view makes great phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
257
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Pat is a cheerful and accommodating host, an excellent cook, and very knowledgeable about the Newport area and its history. My husband and I stayed for two nights while in town to attend the Halloween party at Belcourt Castle, and we were so pleased with the Harborview Suite! It was really a special treat and I recommend this place to any couple looking for a little getaway. Thanks Pat! See you next year!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on the Harborview Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked a room at Spring street inn as it was consistently named as 1 of the top 10 B&Bs in Newport. I could not have made a better choice.
My room at Spring street inn had a canopy bed & a stunning red chaise lounge in it. Pat. the host , was extremely warm & friendly & greeted me at the door. She offered me lifts in the neighbourhood when I had to pull my heavy luggage along & did not drive. She prepared refreshing lemonade & cookies for my snacks upon my late arrival.
She cooked the breakfast in the morning. I ordered the blueberry crepes & the crepes were delicious! She offered me tips & great advice on attractions in Newport & new York(my destination after Newport). Service from the heart! In addition, this top B&B had a great collection of travel books & magazines which would entice any traveller. If you are stopping by Newport, you have to stay at springstreet inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this inn for our anniversay. This inn has a great location - you can walk to almost everything. It also has parking if you need to bring a car, but make it a small car as parking is tight. We stayed in the Harborview suite on the 3rd floor which had a small deck with a great view of the harbor (also great view from livingroom). I would caution that if you have difficulty climbing stairs, you should not consider this suite as the flight of stairs to the 3rd floor are a bit steep and treachorous (typical of homes of this era).

Breakfast was nice - served a quiche, french toast/waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, home fries, hot biscuits, hot muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The innkeeper, Pat, has quite a selection. Pat is also extremely friendly and knowledgeable. She recommended a great restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Stairs to 3rd floor are steep so make sure you are able to deal with this if you choose a room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My sister and I traveled the long trip from Australia to the best welcome in Newport ! To be met by Patricia, the kindest, warmest, best cook and tour director made us feel immediately at home in the Rose Room at Spring Street. Our five nights and days, full of memorable experiences, sights, great food, especially Patricia's gourmet breakfasts were all treats for sore eyes and feet! We loved the cool drinks and madelines left for afternoon tea after long days viewing mansions and having " dark & stormies" on board a fully furled ketch sailing around the Newport harbour!
The comfy beds,air conditioned rooms, clean towels every day were very much appreciated.
Patricia helped us to get the most from Newport and its special attractions with her generous advice and exceptional knowledge.Thank you Patricia,for sharing your home with us. We hope that many others will enjoy the same privilege.
best wishes from Suzanne and Paula, Australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is always a pleasure to stay here. This B&B is only 2 blocks from Thames Street and 3 from Bellevue. Pat is fantastic and makes you feel very welcome. She has lots of ideas for things to do in the area. My friends and I look forward to coming back every year--next year will be at least the 5th time we've stayed here. Yes, it's that lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just returned from Newport and a stay at the Spring Street Inn. We enjoyed our stay very much. The B&B was centrally located to all of the must see attractions of Newport. Pat, the owner, was so well informed of the area and an excellent cook!

Room Tip: We stayed in the the 3rd floor suite, which provided a great view of the harbor and was far enough a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Street Inn

Address: 353 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Street Inn is an Empire Victorian Inn built in 1858 by one of the investors in the Fall River Steamship Company as his residence. Each of our 7 beautiful guest rooms have bathrooms en suite,air conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV and Wi-Fi. Free on site parking included for each guest room. Full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Spring Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Street Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.