We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Street Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fair Street Guest House to your Saves list
Fair Street Guest House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Fair street Guest House is perfectly located in a quiet street, only a short walk away from the piers and the center of town, and close to some great restaurants. We were very pleased to be able to park our car at the guesthouse.

The innkeepers are friendly, welcoming people and they gave us great tips on restaurants and how to organise our sightseeing in the Newportarea.

The house itself is beautifull. We especially liked the tastefully and cosy furnished public areas (breakfastroom, livingroom, ...). Our room was OK, nothing special. It was spacious enough and clean. Good for a short stay for a day or two/three.

Breakfast was very good! Fresh juices, cereals, fruit, bread, bacon, eggs, panncakes, ...

If you're coming to Newport for a weekend, stay here. But try to avoid the high season. Our 4-star hotel in midtown Manhattan, NY was cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    39
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
96
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

spent 2 nights on a recent business trip at the Fair Street B&B run by proprietor Wayne Whatmough. Very reasonably priced and short walk to the historic district. While not a waterfront property, everything is so close it really does not matter... and the savings will leave you more to spend in this historic city.

Room was charming and building is beautifully restored. Breakfasts were excellent and owners strike the right balance of friendliness without being intrusive. Also very knowledgeable if you need advice on where to go / what to see in the Newport area....very well-connected and aware of what is going on. Great Value!

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Great Location! Great People! Great Time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I spent the Fourth of July at Fair Street Guest house, with my brother and my children. Denise and Wayne provided us with a large, beautiful room. The room was very comfortable and had a private bath with plenty of sleeping space. In the morning, we ate our delicious breakfast on the back deck, overlooking a incredible looking garden. My children especially loved the fish and turtles in the pond. My family and I enjoyed staying at the B&B because of it prime location to all the towns festivities. Denise and Wayne also gave us great tips on all the local sightseeing areas in town. I would highly recommend this B&B and I look forward to my return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Wayne & Denise offer so much more than a cozy room at the end of the night. They're extremely knowledgeable and friendly and willing to accommodate. I've stayed here many times over the years and reccommend them to everyone. Located right behind the Red Parrot on Thames, the location can't be beat. Outstanding value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I was traveling on Business for the Newport International Boat Show and our company stays here every year. This was my first stay and I enjoyed it a lot! It is in a great location but remains quiet during the nightlife hours. I am looking forward to going back this year!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We have been guests at the Fair Street Guest House for more than 10 years. We are always made to feel like we are at home, Wayne's breakfasts are wonderful and the gardens are peaceful and inviting. We are within walking distance to most of the town, the mansions and the beach ( if you're up for a 1 mile walk). We wouldn't think about staying anywhere else when we visit Newport, Rhode Island. This B&B is 10+.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fair Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Street Guest House

Address: 20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Street Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fair Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Street Guest House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.