We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Street Guest House

Save Saved
You added Fair Street Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fair Street Guest House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
“Girls Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Five of us Connecticut ladies (middle age!) decided to take a trip to Newport in October...I have stayed at the Fair Street Inn several times with my fiance and it has always been my favorite (very romantic and cozy). Well, I have to tell you the Fair Street Inn ended up being the BEST girls weekend away we have had! We had an attic suite that was adorable, with an extra folding bed for our 5th lady, and it worked out perfectly! With splitting the cost 5 ways and having free parking and an amazing breakfast with bottomless delicious coffee every morning (Yes, we went over in our PJs, no one cares!) we had saved enough money to be able to shop! We had our "free" happy hour in the quiet garden with the pond and fountain, with our own wine and cheese...then being within walking distance to everything, we never drove our car the entire weekend! We even walked to the Cliff Walk. WIth the price of hotels in downtown Newport, as well as needing to spend 20 dollars or more to park...the Fair Street Inn is a jewel...we will be back!!! PS the attic suite does mean stairs so if you can't use stairs, the first floor rooms are also beautiful!

Room Tip: Most rooms have their own private bath, but make sure to ask as there are 2 that share a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
92
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient location. The innkeepers were great hosts, very welcoming and gave us an overview of things to do but respected our privacy. Very good made to order breakfast. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit. There was a small, decently outfitted kitchen, which we didn't use. We stayed 3 nights. It was quiet with only the occasional street sounds, which considering we were just a couple of doors from The Red Parrot was a pleasant surprise. There is a small garden. We didn't get to use it only because we spent most of the time out and about. I would definitely stay here again. The apartment was homey rarher than elegant and the room wasn't serviced daily, which worked well for us. We were told if we wanted daily service they would try but it really wasn't necessary as we had lots of towels and everything we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cttraveler9
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at Fair Street for two nights this past weekend. What a lovely place! The location is perfect - on a quiet, side street within walking distance of everything - dining, shopping, points of interest, etc. They provide off-street parking, which is great because parking seems to be a bit difficult in Newport. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The full breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The innkeepers were very welcoming. We were very happy to have stayed here and will recommend it to our friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very clean B&B located right in the center of Newport downtown but on a quiet side street. We were able to park our car there and walk to everything. Delicious breakfast served. We ate in a nice enclosed porch overlooking gorgeous flower gardens. Very good value, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Newport Rhode Island and we stayed 2 nights at the fair Street Guest house! It was more than wonderful from location, clean rooms, amazingly landscaped grounds and perfect breakfast daily!
Free Wifi too which always help but the help of the two Innkeepers Wayne and Denise was more than enough from where to eat and where to shop to what to do during the day and evening!
So knowledgeable of the Newport area and the history of Rhode Island as well!
Recommend anyone to stay there
I know I will again!
-Melissa Lotardo (NY resident)

Room Tip: We stayed in the house where breakfast was held made it a little easier in the morning but either wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very nice B&B with a great location near downtown Newport, RI with onsite parking. Close but off main street. The rooms are nice and well kept. The owners Denise & Wayne are very accommodating to have you enjoy your stay. Great breakfast and internet access.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location is fantastic as you are only steps away from Thames yet in a quiet side street. It consists of three seperate houses. Our room had a seperate bedroom with an additional twin bed for our four year old. A very kid friendly B@B with a full breakfast and parking right on premises which is great in this town. Clean place with reasonable rates makes it a winner! denise the inn keeper is a wonderful person and the care of all the flowers and grounds makes it a special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fair Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Street Guest House

Address: 20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Street Guest House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fair Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Street Guest House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.