We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Street Guest House

Save Saved
You added Fair Street Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fair Street Guest House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Perfect Getaway with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My stay here was fantastic! I love the people who run the B & B. They were so warm and inviting. Very clean and cozy. I plan to try to visit Newport this summer and hope the Inn has rooms opened! I highly recommend this home away from home!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
92
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We wanted a comfortable and personal place to stay that was also quiet and within walking distance to all of the attractions Newport has to offer. Wayne and Denise made us feel right at home! The place is right in the heart of all the action, but with all of their warming touches, make you feel like your sitting out in your backyard. We stayed for the Folk Fest, but couldn’t wait to return. They even provided chairs for us, when we forgot them for our daytrip! Wayne and Denise provided with first-class service from the first meeting at the B&B until helping us navigate our departure home. Fair Street is truly a gift to Newport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location, Innkeepers very accomodating and flexible with guests' comings and goings...very zen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location for this B&B. We had a great time at the Fair Street Inn. The breakfast was great! Eggs, bagels, toast, and fruit. The innkeepers were very helpful. We visited the Cliffwalk, Chateau de Mer mansion, and the Sakonnet Vineyards. We had a grand time at the Red Parrot and went to 22 Bowens Restaurant for Restaurant Week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have had the pleasure of staying at the Fair Street Inn a few times now - wouldnt stay anywhere else in Newport - location is perfect, close to everything - shops/restaurants etc. The Innkeepers are outstanding...really nice and friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you are happy! Great breakfast and have loved every room so far..clean and great price for what you get :-) Perfect get away location....cant wait to get back in the summer!!!

Bobby and Amanda

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our stay here was nothing short of amazing. Both inn keepers were very accommodating and helpful with recommendations. At our request they left us two bottles of great wine for our arrival. We had great dinners on Restaurant Week at The Black Pearl and 22 Bowens. Both of which are walking distance from from Fair St. You really can't bet this location. We were no more than 5 min from anything, Cliffwalk, Ocean Drive, Thames St., Breakers Mansion and tons of great eats. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great location right off Thames Street close to everything. Nice breakfast and free parking included. Our room had a queen bed and provate bath. Very clean. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fair Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Street Guest House

Address: 20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Street Guest House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Fair Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Street Guest House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.