We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland House

Save Saved
You added Cleveland House to your Saves list
Cleveland House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleveland House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to Newport to celebrate 1st anniversary of our first date during Winterfest. Cleveland house was a quaint inn, rooms are a little small, but fine for a one night stay - clean, comfy, quiet, and warm. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome, loved the blueberry pancakes. Our car got snowed in and one of the staff shoveled us out :) Also, a great location, you can walk to shops, restaurants, clubs. Only downside was the size of the room - if it was longer than one night I would have wanted more space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANewporter, Owner at Cleveland House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Newport. Next visit, try one of our larger rooms with a jacuzzi and fireplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    9
    9
    12
See reviews for
10
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Upon arriving we walked into the inn we booked at and were in the building for 5 minutes without anyone there to greet us. As I went back outside someone from across the street came out and informed us we had to check in over in that house. When we entered, the smell of old mildew was overwhelming. We were offered a choice of any room in this house which I would never stay in. They were very unkempt & dirty looking. The innkeeper then offered us a choice of any room across the street, (which was the one I believed we had booked) for an additional $40.00 per night. We were also informed that the full breakfast we had inquired about was also only across the street. Those rooms, although a little cleaner, were in obvious disrepair. The walls were scuffed, there was toothpaste on the bathroom walls, the curtains disheveled, the lighting was poor (better to hide the lack of upkeep), and the television was so snowy it was impossible to watch. This was not our first trip to Newport where we had always had beautiful B&B stays, but if this is the result of "corporate owned inns" I will be certain that in the future I stay only at privately owned B&B's. Some do still exist. The full breakfast was the only good point in this dump. Everything is freshly prepared by a very competent young woman. The innkeeper, who "hangs out" in the dining room while breakfast is served is a boorish man who obviously doesn't like what he does. If you eat too slowly, he tries to rush you so he can make room for the other guests as there are only 4 tables and apparently everyone in the 3 houses wants the full breakfast. He makes numerous references to the fact that he "does all the work" while his wife (who was never seen) gets all the glory and spends the money. Maybe someone should spend some money to make these awful "inns" more appealing.

Room Tip: Not here! Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I have never written a bad review in my life. I am a raid warrior when it comes to traveling. I allowed my girlfriend to book the rooms for this vacation and she won't be allowed ever again. On a serious note, the place is not what it states to be. You will book for one inn, get switched to another and make sure you are ready to use the same towels for 3 showers and clean your own room. I asked on two different occastions .... Maybe you have to ask three times...needless to say, I will never stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Newport and at Cleveland House. Rick was very welcoming and always available to answer questions and offer suggestions about what to do, when to go and where to eat. Joe was also helpful during the evenings. The inn was close to downtown so we were able to walk almost everywhere. The breakfasts were delicious and it was very quiet at night. We're already talking about when to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Columbus Day weekend 2012. We booked a room at the Farragut Inn and upon check in, were told that we could "upgrade" to a room at the Cleveland House. We decided to go with the upgrade as the Farragut Inn seemed a little beat up and in need of some cosmetic repairs. The "king"size room on the 2nd floor of the Cleveland House was very small. There is absolutely no view with a room airconditioner occupying most of the window. The air conditioner was very loud. In addition, there is no ventilation in the bathroom at all. The woodwork in the room was beat up and in need of cosmetic repair as was the furniture. The light in the 2nd floor hallway stays on all night long and given the crack in the doorframe, was enough to illuminate our room. Another issue is that we had to continuously move our car because there isn't enough parking. The majority of the time it had to be parked in the attorney's parking lot across Washington Square which was an approximate 7 minute walk. The location of the inn is perfect. Breakfast was good and is served by a very efficient young woman who does all the cooking herself. If you want decaf coffee, you need to ask them to make it. Not a bad stay, but If we ever go back to Newport, I will definitely book another Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two wonderful nights at The Cleveland House.
It goes without saying that Newport is fantastic: ocean, shops, restaurants...heavenly!
We were warmly welcomed by Rick, the innkeeper himself! What an enthusiastic, personable guy! He loves what he does, is proud, and it shows! We were offered an upgrade..NO CHARGE! The room bowled us over: large, gorgeous Victorian decor, kingsized bed, spacious bathroom with DEEP soaking tub and shower; AC; flat screened TV - all the modern comforts with that charming atmosphere! The neighborhood is out of a storybook: inn after inn..charm galore on a beautiful, quiet street..'walking minutes' from all the action of Newport! Rick was SO HELPFUL: taxi talk, restaurant suggestions, you name it!
We mentioned to the night attendant that we'd like the hot breakfast next morning. (The Cleveland offers continental only, so don't forget to make that arrangement the evening BEFORE!)
She called across the street and put in our 10:00 reservation. What a treat. My husband ordered the blueberry pancakes with bacon, and I had scrambled eggs with bacon. FABULOUS coffee (with real milk or cream), fresh fruit and juice..teas, English muffins and bread..toasted...PERFECT!
Later that morning our friends arrived. One couple was having difficulty finding Clarke St.
Joe (What a doll! Can't do enough for you!)..took my cellphone and gave explicit directions. He had to do this twice! (Smile on his face all along; GLAD to help!)
Rick called his favorite Italian restaurant for us..and saw to it that we were seated at 6:30 for dinner!! Sardelli's was fantastic!
Morning came..yay! We had put in our 'reservation' for a hot breakfast once again - this time with out friends..6 of us! We ate at 9:00 this morning...next door at the yellow inn! All of us sat together at a long center table. We all LOVED our meals: pancakes, veggie omelets, bacon, sausage, etc.!
We can't thank Rick, Joe, and the whole hard-working, caring staff..enough! We just KNOW we'll be back. Would like a Cleveland House/Newport get-away weekend to be our new annual tradition! Can't wait! PS Rick and Joe saw to it that our three cars were safely parked..never to be used during our special weekend!

Room Tip: Call the inn a day or two before heading out! Let them all "look forward" to your arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It was our 1st wedding anniversary , and we decided to stay in Newport RI. We went with the Cleveland House!!! Never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before..it was absolutely wonderful. Joe checked us in; he was very personable, professional and knew everywhere to send us, parking was tough, but Joe took care of our car, moved it when needed, never had to worry about it!!! They have a few different houses on this street in Newport...and we will definately be back next year, clean rooms ; great staff....and a wonderful breakfast...ALL included!!!! Nice Job Cleveland house!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANewporter, Owner at Cleveland House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Congratulations on your first year anniversary! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you make it a tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland House

Address: 27 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cleveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.