We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply ideal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland House

Cleveland House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland House to your Saves list
Cleveland House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply ideal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Two friends and I stayed here three nights for a girls' get-away in June 2012. We had originally booked one room at the Clarkeston Inn (across the street). Upon our arrival, the owner was able to upgrade us to two rooms at the Cleveland House for only a modest charge -- this made our stay much more comfortable. He and his staff could not have been more accommodating. The rooms were lovely, and the location of the inn was within convenient walking distance to the harbor/shops/restaurants. On-site parking made things very easy. A made-to-order hot breakfast was served each morning at the Clarkeston Inn (just steps away), or you could choose a continental breakfast at the Cleveland House itself. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment or any of the properties within the Inns of Newport family. My friends and I had a wonderful trip and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    11
    9
    14
See reviews for
11
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was the first time we visited Newport, and the inn we stayed at was lovely. The innkeeper was charming as was his entire staff, Although the room we stayed in was small, there was plenty of space for all our belongings (this has not always been the case). The Cleveland House is centrally located so restaurants and shops are an easy walk. The breakfasts were exceptional and could be individually ordered . My husband and I look forward to coming back in the fall.
Thank you again for your hospitality.
Mary A.

Room Tip: If a bathtub is important, make sure you request one. For a two night stay that is not particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great little bed and breakfast, walking distance from America's cup way. The staff was very friendly, especially the manager, he helped us find great parking for the Chowder festival, and they serve a delicious home cooked breakfast. Great for a couples weekend getaway!! My wife and I will definatley be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2011. We found this on B&B website after reading some seemingly good reviews. It turned out to be a great disappointment comparing to other B&B that we have stayed before arriving Newport. The room was much smaller than the impression given on its website and the furnitures/fittings were very old. The bathroom was so small that one can hardly move around. The airconditioner mounting was so bad that it vibrates throughout the night.The breakfast on one morning was badly prepared, and the manager was so snobbish! This is one of the few really poor lodging for the price ($120) paid, will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Newport on Saturday, April 21st. We arrived at the visitors center there looking for accomodations and we pleasantly surprised to find that the Cleveland House had rooms available. Rick, the owner showed us a King room that was priced higher than was quoted on the phone, but said he would give it to us at the same price as a Queen room. It was beautiful. There was a jacuzzi and this room was located in a quiet section of the Inn. The breakfast was hearty and the location was a block away from the downtown area. The parking was free and closeby. Would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had an excellent stay in Newport, RI at the Cleveland House Hotel on Clarke Street.
The owner of the Inn greeted us personally and let us pick our room! We are a family of five so sharing a room is pretty tight, but too expensive otherwise. The owner gave us a FREE room for our kids!
In the morning we enjoyed a homemade breakfast that was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Cleveland House is charming - older, smaller rooms but clean. Location is perfect - you can walk to everything easily. Jeff & Rick, the owners can be really really nice (almost over-the-top), but they are completely disorganized, which translates into many people in our group having problems with their reservations. They don't have a good system to keep track of reservations and who they promised what (and they'll promise you a lot). They charged some people in my group cancellations charges even though they had cancelled months (7 months) prior and weren't ever told of cancellations fees. Others they forgot to charge them for a night and ended up charging them 5 months later.

I wanted nothing more to give this place 5 stars, but after dealing with all the hassles after our stay, the utter disorganization of the owners, I just can't imagine recommending it.

Also, if it's busy or if you plan on having a wedding group here, tell them to do something about the breakfast service. It was so slow, most of my group ate elsewhere, which ruins the fun and coziness of the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleveland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland House

Address: 27 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleveland House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.