We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydrangea House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hydrangea House Inn to your Saves list
Hydrangea House Inn
16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More - Pay Less
Ranked #3 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. The location was perfect -- a short walk to the waterfront and to the mansions. The innkeepers are charming and helpful; breakfasts were tasty and creative; and the gas fire in our charming bedroom was a great touch. Wine, cheese, and other little snacks in the early evening were an unexpected and delicious surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
252
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband & I just returned from our first trip to Newport, where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. We're long time B&B enthusiasts & I can't say enough good things about the Hydrangea House. Dennis & Grant were wonderful hosts & their staff couldn't do enough for us, going above & beyond our expectations. We found a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived & I thought "how lovely," until I opened the envelope to see the wine was from relatives - they called the inn Friday morning & asked if Dennis/Grant could pick up the wine for them. We were just blown away! When we returned from dinner Friday night, we found a small cake for 2 on a beautiful antique cake stand with a ribbon across it saying "Happy 25th Anniversary," Just so thoughtful!! The inn is immaculate, the breakfasts were so beautifully done (homemade yogurt was amazing!) & the cookies at night were delish!! The jacuzzi for 2 was fabulous & the robes were SO nice, that my husband didn't want to take it off (I've never seen him in a robe before, so this was a big deal) - you guys really need to sell those robes!! If you're looking for a bit of privacy, then book the 'Garden Suite,' it has it's own private entrance with 2 adirondeck chairs. We can't say enough about this 'gem in Newport.' We'll be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked beautiful, but the Garden Suite is VERY private - it's in the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three night stay at the Hydrangea House and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay.The breakfast food was excellent, plentiful and served on beautiful china. The rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious and romantic. Our room had a gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub for two. Never got to use the tub but did spend a very relaxing evening in front of the fire sipping wine and dining on cheeses, dried fruits and bread purchased form the shops next door. I titled my review as thank you because I am sure Grant and Dennis will read this and I wanted to make sure that we thanked them enough for their hospitality while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend w/ my bf in Jan 2013. It’s a beautiful inn, well maintained, clean, awesome location (walking distance to Thames Street and all of the restaurants, shops, etc.). It’s right across the street from Hotel Viking (the Viking bar has a band play on Fridays or Saturdays – fun crowd). The innkeeper was great, not intrusive but talkative, engaging and helpful if you wanted him to be (meaning, not breathing down your back). We only made it to breakfast once but it was delicious – I think it was egg soufflé or smthg like that. We stayed in the Carrie in the City room and really liked it – sunny, beautiful fireplace, comfortable big bed, etc. I liked that it faced the street (it wasn’t loud or anything). I would definitely recommend staying here – it’s so warm and inviting and you get a true “bed-and-breakfast” experience in beautiful, historic Newport. We’ve stayed in a few different inns in Newport and this one is definitely one of the best (and best service for sure). The atmosphere is just really cozy and romantic! Lovely place.

Room Tip: Stayed in Carrie in the City - great room. Loved the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hydrangea House Inn is an amazing place to stay in Newport! The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the facility and rooms are impeccable. We stayed in the winter, and we really appreciated the warm and inviting atmosphere. The central heat worked great, and the in-room gas fireplace was a huge treat! Parking in the rear was also very convenient.

The location was absolutely perfect. You are within walking distance of all the main attractions, and the historic neighborhood was really charming.

Lastly...the FOOD! It was beyond expectations! You don't really expect a 5 star meal at a B&B, but every morning we rushed downstairs to see what kind of amazing breakfast they put together. It was always plenty of food. Not just a few things to pick on but a substantial, savory meal that held us over until lunch time.

Overall, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a private room at a value, with easy access at any hour, choose the Verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amazing Inn, every room is in different style with a different name. The best breakfast I have ever ate.... :) Very clean and cosy. if you visit New Port you should definately sleep in Hydrangea House Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I rang in the New Year at our favorite B&B. We have stayed at the Hydrangea house many times over the past six years and are never disappointed.The inn is in a great location and within walking distance to many great restaurants and shops.Dennis and Grant are the perfect hosts. They are very knowledgeable and will make great suggestions for a memorable trip. We arrived at 430pm and wine and cheese was being served. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holiday's and the fireplace was on.What a great way to unwind after a long drive.We've stayed in many rooms over the years and each is elegant and so comfortable. Breakfast is served In the beautiful dining room and the food always delicious and gourmet quality!! Not to mention the freshly baked cookies that are waiting for you when you return from a night out. Thank you Dennis, Grant, and Rosie for another perfect stay at your lovely inn. We can't wait to come back!!!
Dorene and Paul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Address: 16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydrangea House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.