We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The GEM of Newport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydrangea House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hydrangea House Inn to your Saves list
Hydrangea House Inn
16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More - Pay Less
Ranked #3 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The GEM of Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hydrangea House Inn is an amazing place to stay in Newport! The staff was so kind and welcoming, and the facility and rooms are impeccable. We stayed in the winter, and we really appreciated the warm and inviting atmosphere. The central heat worked great, and the in-room gas fireplace was a huge treat! Parking in the rear was also very convenient.

The location was absolutely perfect. You are within walking distance of all the main attractions, and the historic neighborhood was really charming.

Lastly...the FOOD! It was beyond expectations! You don't really expect a 5 star meal at a B&B, but every morning we rushed downstairs to see what kind of amazing breakfast they put together. It was always plenty of food. Not just a few things to pick on but a substantial, savory meal that held us over until lunch time.

Overall, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a private room at a value, with easy access at any hour, choose the Verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
256
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amazing Inn, every room is in different style with a different name. The best breakfast I have ever ate.... :) Very clean and cosy. if you visit New Port you should definately sleep in Hydrangea House Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I rang in the New Year at our favorite B&B. We have stayed at the Hydrangea house many times over the past six years and are never disappointed.The inn is in a great location and within walking distance to many great restaurants and shops.Dennis and Grant are the perfect hosts. They are very knowledgeable and will make great suggestions for a memorable trip. We arrived at 430pm and wine and cheese was being served. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holiday's and the fireplace was on.What a great way to unwind after a long drive.We've stayed in many rooms over the years and each is elegant and so comfortable. Breakfast is served In the beautiful dining room and the food always delicious and gourmet quality!! Not to mention the freshly baked cookies that are waiting for you when you return from a night out. Thank you Dennis, Grant, and Rosie for another perfect stay at your lovely inn. We can't wait to come back!!!
Dorene and Paul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Hydrangea once a year for over a decade. It is the only place I would ever stay. Grant and Dennis are warm and caring hosts. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. All of the guest rooms are beautiful. Breakfast, served in the elegant dining room is always delicious and decadent- the breakfast bread pudding and eggs in puff pastry are my two favorites. We look forward to many more visits to this perfect bed and breakfast. In my opinion, the Hydrangea should be ranked 1st on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: the Chesterfield and the Carrie in Paris suites are my 2 two favorites, but all of the rooms are bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having loved Newport for years, I was anxious to share the special destination with my boyfriend. I had a Select Registries gift certificate, and using their site I came upon the Hydrangea House. Since it was off season, we were able to find a great rate and thus our weekend was booked.

From the get go, this was a spectacular experience. Dennis and Grant, the InnKeepers, are warm, knowledgeable and clearly intent on making you feel comfortable. Due to traffic, our trip took nearly 3 hours (as opposed to 1). Thus, when we arrived were both a bit stressed from the drive. Immediately, however, the stress started to melt away as we enjoyed a glass of complimentary wine and lovely cheese.

From the delicious breakfasts, the hot tub for two (that even fit my 6 foot 6 inch fiance), the two headed shower, fireplace, glorious bed, delicious home made cookies and spectacular service, this is a weekend we will not soon forget. This was the first weekend was enjoyed as an engaged couple, and we could not have hoped for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely Chesterfield Suite. However, I really have a feeling any room would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hydrangea House is a beautiful b&b. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were decorated great and very well appointed. Location is excellent with a private off-street parking lot. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the kitchen, as they tend to be much warmer than the rest of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner took me for a surprise get-away for my 50th birthday. It was the most perfect weekend. We had a beautiful suite with a 2 person tub, steam shower, fireplace and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was divine - unbelieveably delicious - I still cannot stop thinking about it! Dennis and Grant are incredibly hospitible and very helpful. The location could not be better - you can walk almost everywhere. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Address: 16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydrangea House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.