We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydrangea House Inn

Save Saved
You added Hydrangea House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydrangea House Inn
16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More - Pay Less
Ranked #3 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Hydrangea House Inn for our anniversary. We selected the Carrie in Paris suite. With a spa tub, gas fireplace and two person shower, it is perfect for a romantic weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and unique. The inn is located within walking distance to the waterfront, which was convenient. This is a great choice, when staying in Newport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    20
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
236
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a one week vacation in Newport, RI, staying at Hydrangea House Inn. We enjoyed wonderful gourmet breakfasts each day! The Garden Suite was beautiful and spacious and had a private entrance. The innkeepers, Grant and Dennis, were very gracious and hospitable, offering suggestions on what to see and do, where to dine, etc. I highly recommend this Inn. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Hydrangea House and it was wonderful.
The house has been furnished beautifully and has some wonderful touches and the hosts produce a magnificent breakfast served in the elegant sinning room.
I was very fortunate to have the largest room in the house which had a delightful four post bed and this is the room to get if you can.
Hydrangea House has wo awards and it is easy to see why.
When staying in beautiful Newport Hydrangea House is a very good option as it is very centrally located.
I can't speak highly enough of a first class B& B

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We celebrated my huband Tom's Birthday in Newport. The Hydrangea House was a perfect place to choose to stay. Grant and Dennis were warm and thoughtful hosts. Since the Inn was not full during the week we were there, they surprised us by upgrading our room to the Carrie suite! We had cold rainy weather when we visiting and it was wonderful to return to such a beautiful room with a warm fireplace and heated towels after touring the spectactular mansions. The bottled water in the room and homemade cookies at night were really nice touches and appreciated by us. We took the train to Kingston RI and a car service to the inn. The location was ideal since you could walk to the mansions and to the shops and restaurants.( There are cabs and trolleys if you do not like to walk)Breakfast was served at 9:00 am but since we were leaving early to catch the train back to Delaware, Grant and Dennis served us a gourmet breakfast at 7:00am. We would highly recommend the Hydrangea House to others and hope to return.
Mary and Tom
Lewes,DE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hydrangea House over the Labor Day weekend with two other couples. It was a perfect location with outstanding services and the breakfasts were wonderful. The owners were so nice and shared the recipes of some of our favorite items offered for breakfast. They also offer a happy hour with wine that we never missed!

Room Tip: The B&B offers many rooms at different price levels. We stayed in the Little Red Veranda room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with an impromptu trip to Newport, RI. The Hydrangea House Inn was simply outstanding. The hosts, Grant and Dennis, made the weekend relaxing and enjoyable. Fantastic breakfasts & afternoon wine & cheese in a comfortable inn. Room was exceptional. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. We stayed in the Garden Gate Suite. Simply amazing. Spacious room, large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Every detail is thought of and thoughful. From the moment we arrived, later than we had hoped, everyone was helpful and personable. The "concierge", the young man at the front desk who checked us in, when we told him we were travel weary and starving and asked where we could get a good steak, immediately said "22 Bowen, I can call for you to see if I can get a reservation", and he did for 9:00 pm and it was wonderful and perfect. This was our first time away from our 2 year old daughter (thanks to Nana!) and we really needed a relaxing, quiet, plush weekend and we got it! This trip was also to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and what a nice way to celebrate! The room we stayed in was amazing! The Chesterfield Suite. The details: The room looks like something out of a castle w/ modern touches. The "living room" has a great gas fireplace that does warm things up as well as look great. From the two person, really a two person (my husband 6'1" and I am 5'6") jazuzzi you can see the fireplace, and the "mirror" tv above the fireplace...my husband thought that was great! He could watch the football game, while sitting in the tub, and watch the fireplace too. The little loveseat in front of the fireplace is comfortable. The view of The Viking Hotel across the street is beautiful, night and day. The bedroom was so nice..the bed huge, beautiful and comfortable. The heating/ac options in the room were perfect. The TV in the bedroom was a nice little size, you can see it fine, but it does not stand out too much. The closet a good size, the dresser too and the desk is great. The bathroom was super too! The steam shower w/ two heads, again truly two person and works great. I was so relaxed. The water closet is seperate from the main bathroom. Every detail was thought of, glasses, cups in the bathroom, q-tips, cotton balls, hair dryer, iron and full size ironing board. All the details thought of and the decor is so relaxing and fitting the age and style of the building. I have not even started on breakfast...over the top good.Each morning we were there, different china, and the table impeccably set. You are dining under a gorgeous crystal chandelier and you feel like a princess or prince! I often don't like to go to the same place twice, I like to check out different spots, but I will be hard pressed to change locations of where I stay when in Newport again. This stay and this place was exactly what two full time working parents of a toddler needed, we felt rested again, and as though much stress was lifted. The entire stay was wonderful. If you can...stay here! Oh, I almost forgot the cookies left on your pillow at night...delicious. All the details you could ever think of and more to make your stay wonderful! Go!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hydrangea House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea House Inn

Address: 16 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of grace, elegance and style where the intimate charm of Hydrangea House is complemented by its prestigious Bellevue Avenue address where once lived the Vanderbilts, the Astors and the Dukes. Each room's decor is designed around a specific fabric used in the room with luscious colors that were chosen to complement it distinct ambiance. Located in Newport's Old Quarter, guests will find restaurants, shopping and recreational opportunities within footsteps of the inn’s front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Travelocity so you can book your Hydrangea House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydrangea House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.