We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jailhouse Inn to your Saves list
Jailhouse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Volvo Ocean Race Rooms!
Ranked #25 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at the Jailhouse Inn May 25-28, 2007. What we loved most was the LOCATION! It was right in between the fun, busy Thames Street and Wharfs and the more laid back, local joints on Broadway. We walked everywhere! The staff at the Inn were friendly and went out of their way to help us with everything we needed! The room was like a typical hotel room--bed, desk, bathroom, TV and a continental breakfast. Not a fancy place at all, but a nice place to sleep and shower. It was a bit thrilling to know that it used to be a jail!!! The price was right here too, we'd definitely go back!

  • Liked — The LOCATION
  • Disliked — Lack of some hotel services...no concierge, wireless internet, pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

Overall, this hotel was just okay. We stayed in the only king-sized bedroom, which was on the third floor (no elevator). There were two window air conditioning units, only one of which really seemed to work. The windows had chipping paint (we just opened them to get air rather than trying to decipher the A/C units). When we arrived in our room, it was very stuffy, which was a bit of a disappointment that they didn't turn on the air or open the windows beforehand.

The bed and linens were fine. The TV was old (but in Newport, why sit around and watch TV?). The breakfast wasn't that great (cold cereal, etc), but it worked.

The hotel staff was very nice though.

There are no vending machines in the hotel, but there's a village pantry fairly close by. Just keep that in mind to buy beverages and snacks while you're out.

Overall, it was allright, but not a very romantic setting for a honeymoon. The location wasn't too bad, but we ended up driving to various places, parking, and then walking.

  • Liked — The helpful staff, and easy parking
  • Disliked — The dinginess of the rooms, the breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the Boulangerie at 382 Spring Street for breakfast! PHENOMENAL! Don't try to do more than three mansion tours in one day--you'll get visual overload.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

I recently took my son to the Navy Academy prep school. The room was clean overall. Only the blinds needed attention. We are not exactly the tourist types. The place was close to where I saw a lot of tourists/people walking in groups. The beds were very comfortable and the refrigerator was a nice added value. This is not a really fancy place but it had a nice decorum. The breakfast had better selection than most of the chain places. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Good beds
  • Disliked — Dusty blinds
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

I just returned from the Jailhouse Inn. It was nice. I would definitely return there.

Thumbs up for: Location, Cell #19, Cookies, Free water bottles, Bathroom toiletries, Staff, Free newspaper & dining guides, Ice machine, Free parking, Free coffee,tea & hot chocolate and Porch.

Thumbs down for: Holely towels, Stained sheets, and Hotel price.

I am definitely going to return, but from Sunday - Thursday. They raise the price up a hundred dollars or more [depending on the season] for Friday and Saturday.

The breakfast was decent. The menu for breakfast is: bagels, toast, eggs & bacon, danishes, cereals [hot & cold].

We had a refrigerator in our room and a small living room with a pull out bed.

I definitely recommend this inn for people who are not picky or fincky about their lodges. If you are looking for luxury, then go to the Marriot, Hyatt, or Hotel Viking. But if you are looking for a place to lay your head in and be mostly outside, then this Inn is the place for you. We were out and about during our stay, so this was perfect for us. We will be staying here each and every time we need a place to stay in Newport, Rhode Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

This is a great little hotel. My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our mini honeymoon in late August '05. It was just what we were looking for: a quiet, good value hotel with a quirky side. It's not deluxe, but more like a nice b&b.

The Jailhouse has gotten some not so stellar reviews since I stayed there. But I think this may have to do with its top rating on Tripadvisor. This isn't the Four Seasons; if you are looking for a super cushy hotel with bells and whistles, this isn't it.

Newport is an expensive town, but with the Jailhouse Inn you are getting one of the better deals in town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

I read the reviews here of the Jailhouse Inn before booking two rooms; one for my parents and one for my husband and I. Based on the description on the Inn's website and in prior positive reviews I got the impression that the Inn would have some charm to it, have a feeling of having some real history, and be relatively nice. The whole experience ended up being rather mediocre.

The rooms were sparsely decorated, with little to suggest the Inn's historical significance. The blinds in both of the rooms we took were filthy; dirt was visible on them. The breakfast that came with the room was no better than in a Day's Inn. All in all the experience was not worth what we paid. Our rooms shouldn't have been more than $85 a night.

I'm really not extremely nit-picky about a lot of things, but when it comes to taking time away from the home that I work hard to keep clean and to decorate nicely, I feel I'm justified in expecting something for my money. The Jailhouse Inn was the wrong place to look for that...despite what is suggested in it's marketing material. Look elsewhere unless you just don't care.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

Pleasantly surprised with our room. Very comfortable and clean, with a very large modern bathroom. Excellent toiletries and they also give you two bottled waters every day after cleaning your room.

The continental breakfast is okay but the fact that they have cookies and lemonade during the day is a nice touch. Having their own parking lot is huge since parking (and driving) in Newport is a nightmare. But it's not easy to get to so if you miss it the first time, you may be going around the block a few times and if that's the case in Newport then may God have mercy on your soul.

Best thing is the central location. If you want to be on the water then this isn't for you but that will also cost you an arm and a leg in Newport. Here you are two blocks from the water, the boats, the buses to see the mansions, and the tourism building. Plus you are on the same block as the legendary White Horse Tavern and within a 5 minute walk of all the shopping on Thames Street. In other words, everything is pretty much right here but far enough away that it won't cost you a forture. If you have the enormous money it takes to be on the water then by all means go for it, but if you are a normal person, this place is very much worth it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jailhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Inn

Address: 13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jailhouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772, The Jailhouse Inn is a restored colonial landmark. It is Newport's actual historic jail and police station. Located in the heart of downtown, the inn now features modern rooms with just a touch of the original "jail" theme. One block to harbor, restaurants, shops and visitor center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Jailhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.