We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn and nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jailhouse Inn to your Saves list
Jailhouse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Volvo Ocean Race Rooms!
Ranked #24 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great inn and nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B and we were very satisfied. Parking in Newport can get tough and you have to pay at most places but they have their own private lot right next to the inn and it's less than a quarter mile to Thames St where all the shops and restaurants are. It's also less than a half mile from the Newport Visitors Center where you can go to book tours and get information about Newport. It's within walking distance to pretty much everything except the Mansions, unless you absolutely love to walk. There is a Mexican restaurant right behind the inn but we couldn't hear anything until they dropped the bottles in the trash in the morning. Our only issue was that we didn't have an air conditioner in our window and so we had to turn the thermostat way down and try to use that as our AC. It helped a little bit but was very loud and made it hard for me to sleep. The manager Darryl was very nice and takes care of breakfast in the morning which was satisfactory considering that it was complimentary and he also made cookies in the afternoon which were delicious. He was also very helpful with answering any questions you might have or recommending something to do. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed the Friday and Saturday before Easter. The Service,Beggining from reception to housekeeping were extrememly friendly. Darells attitude was warm and friendly. He recomended Restaurant Bouchards!! it was delicous and expensive but, that was expected!
Overall the service, location and overall feel was great. Breakfast was good. Hard Boliled eggs, cheese, Fresh fruit yogurt ,muffins. croissants and asst. goodies.nothing to fancy.I But were free! n the Afternoon there were some cakes. fresh baked cookies cheesse, crackers and fruit. Which was welcoming after the rainy and windy weather we had. :(! The property, was clean warm and welcoming. Even though, the rooms could use some updating....I'll definately return!!

4 stars! .I'll definately return!
Thank again!
M/M M
NH.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

The Jailhouse Inn was OK at best. Unfortunately the room lived up to it's name. It was immaculate, but cramped, sterile, the bed wasn't much better than the previous residents probably had and the bathroom was extremely utilitarian. Good location, except the Mexican restaurant next door got a little rowdy occasionally. Great if you like the whole European hostel feel!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I booked a room at the inn for Monday thru Wed, unexpectedly I needed to change my reservations for Wed thru Friday. They gave me NO problem. The Jailhouse was very clean, the room was spacious and clean. The only noise I heard was the heat turning off and on. Yes there was street noise, however, remember you are in the middle of town. Located within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the Visitor Center. You would need a car to visit the mansions. The getaway package was fantastic! A bottle of wine, tasting and tour of the Newport winery-and unexpected free wine glasses, Dinner voucher at the Cooke House, the food was fantastic. and 2 tickets to the mansions. Well worth the money.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

The location was good, very close to Thames Street and Avenue of the America’s. The room was OK, nothing special, the bathroom was OK but had very little counter space, tough to get ready.

Every evening we went to bed and had to listen to people in the alley behind the hotel hanging out, there was a bar next door, we assumed that they were out there smoking, sometimes a fairly loud group. Every morning we were awakened by the trash truck picking up the trash and recyclables from the alley behind the hotel.

The Jailhouse offered afternoon tea and snacks which was nice. Staff was OK, did not go out of their way to offer assistance. In case you are asking, we would not stay again @ the Jailhouse for our next trip. Not for us.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband and I had the best stay ever at the Jailhouse Inn. The rooms were immaculate, they offered an extensive continental breakfast and the location to all attractions could not be better

  • Liked — cleaniness and breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

It's a little pricy but it's not out of the norm for Newport, RI. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed and a nice bathrrom. I could be wrong but the bathroom may have been renovated in the last few years since the hardware and fixtures didn't look dated or worn. The staff was very friendly and very low key. The blinds probably could have been dusted since they were rather filthy but other then that the room was meticulous. Be forewarned the plumbing is rather noisy, so if you're a light sleeper you will wake up whenever anyon in the inn runs a sink or flushes a toilet. The breakfast buffet was pretty simple breads, toast, yogurt, (not-so) fresh fruit, eggs, ham, juices, coffee, cereal. It was more then I expected for a continental breakfast and we made use of the carbs with the incredible amount of walking we did in Newport. There is no elevator but there aren't that many floors so not a big deal. The location was great, it's right on one of the bus stops for the Yellow Line Trolley (takes you to the Belleveue avenue mansions) and a very short walk from the Transportation Center. Only 5 minutes walk or so from historic dowtown and Bannister Wharf and maybe 12 minutes walking to the Tennis Hall of Fame.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool but wasn't expecting one. Most hotels in the area don't have one but a pool is always nice in the summer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jailhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Inn

Address: 13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jailhouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772, The Jailhouse Inn is a restored colonial landmark. It is Newport's actual historic jail and police station. Located in the heart of downtown, the inn now features modern rooms with just a touch of the original "jail" theme. One block to harbor, restaurants, shops and visitor center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Jailhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.