We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jailhouse Inn to your Saves list
Jailhouse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Volvo Ocean Race Rooms!
Ranked #25 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neptune, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inn full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went to RI in the fall. If you can handle the brisk weather, it is a great time to go. Since it was off season there was no crowd. The Inn is a perfect location. Practically everything is a short walk away. Parking-no problem,right in front of the inn. The Inn itself is charming. If you are a history buff you will love this place. This was the attraction for me. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. A reminder though-the Inn is in the city area, you may hear the sounds of the city at night,dependiong on where your room was located. The king bed we slept in was firm.

Room Tip: Our room faced the alley out back-city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at the Jailhouse Inn this summer for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. We are not especially picky travelers and we both really enjoyed this cute inn. Its clean, they are very friendly and it’s a great location. Its close enough to Thames Street and all the restaurants to walk but not too much in the thick of it to hear all the loud kids. The only problem we had was that we happened to be in the room when housekeeping wanted to clean and then they didn’t come back so we did not get clean towels or sheets. That was kind of annoying but this isn’t a big hotel with round the clock staff who can clean the rooms and that is an unusual problem.

We went to the Barking Crab our first night because we were hungry and it was late. There are WAY too many great restaurants there to waste your time at the Barking Crab if you can help it. The second night we went to The Cooke House which is amazing and a great way to celebrate my birthday.

I was really happy with our choice of the Jailhouse Inn and would definitely recommend it. A bonus…fresh cookies every afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2011 for a birthday getaway and we really loved it. We wrote a glowing review in their guestbook! The place is a lovely historic building which makes it all the more exciting to visit. The gardens were beautiful with flowers overflowing everywhere. The location is great - close to town but far enough away that you get peace and quiet away from the nightly party-goers. We loved sipping our morning coffee on the front porch. The inn is well-maintained - very tidy and clean. Our room "cell" was on the first floor and was very spacious. We felt spoiled :) The decor is themed and tasteful - not overly done or tacky. We thought it was adorable. Breakfast is simple but very good! Every morning there was an array of cereals and breads, fruits, juices and endless hard-boiled eggs. I have to mention the service - amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We went to a friend's wedding one night and returned late. All of the parking spaces were taken! We told the front desk and they told us to park on the street and leave our keys with them and they would move the car in the morning before the meter maids make their run. Come morning, and our car was moved right in the first parking spot for us! We were very pleased and relieved! Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

this place is quiet, free parking (which in newport, any parking is unheard of)walking to everything except beaches..take the trolley or short drive to beach. lovely front porch with loads of comfortable furniture to have your morning coffee or people watch. our room was large and clean with a small frige, they had free wifi along with free breakfast coffee and refreshments. our room was on the 3rd floor so be prepared there is NO elevator. Its an overall nice place i would stay at again. lots to do close by.

Room Tip: if you dont want to walk up and down flights of stairs stay on the first floor, but higher floors we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed at the Jailhouse Inn over the weekend. A wonderful inn with a great inn keeper, Sharon. Rooms are spacious. We were on the second floor. Tastefully decorated, modern furniture. I liked ithat it was off the main area of attractions, so it was a little less noisy. We didn't eat breakfast there. Only issues, beds were hard, though lots of great pillows. The hotel and rooms were very hot and the air conditioners didn't cool it off enough and were noisy. Also, you could hear the guests on the third floor during the night. Pay a little more and stay on the third floor. Definitely a nice place to stay in Newport!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you arrive not expecting 5 star service and accommodation then you will not be disappointed. What you will get is a very warm welcome, clean, spacious rooms and a well positioned place to stay in the interesting town/city of Newport. Breakfast is simple but adequate and the setting of an old jailhouse complete with steel cage/cell doors still hanging adds to the feeling of being somewhere different. Air con is basic and noisy so we left it off but car park at the rear was very noisy early with trash collections. Not the Inn's fault but a front room may be a better option.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room as likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Jailhouse. The staff at the front desk were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable...I loved the huge bathroom with plenty of natural light. Breakfast was ample and varied...it always irks me to see other cheap guests pilfering all the accoutrements from the breakfast buffet to make their lunch sandwiches but the staff never complained when asked to bring more! Afternoon coffee and cookies were an extra treat. There was some street noise sure, and noise from the next door restaurant (the Perro Salado...great dinner there, by the way!) but what does one expect when the hotel is located right in the thick of things? We would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jailhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Inn

Address: 13 Marlborough Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jailhouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772, The Jailhouse Inn is a restored colonial landmark. It is Newport's actual historic jail and police station. Located in the heart of downtown, the inn now features modern rooms with just a touch of the original "jail" theme. One block to harbor, restaurants, shops and visitor center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Jailhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.