We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute inn, but not worth the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Peddler Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yankee Peddler Inn to your Saves list
Yankee Peddler Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Newtown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute inn, but not worth the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at this inn the last weekend in June during the America's Cup trials. We made our reservations three weeks in advance and were quoted a special rate. I had an uneasy feeling about the conversation I had with the young man when I made the initial reservation so, the day of travel, i decided to call and confirm - they had no reservation even though he took my credit card information! Fortunately, Laura the manager was very nice and remedied the situation by offering us a bottle of wine and having a room available. We were very disappointed in the breakfast (which is one of my favorite things about staying at an inn)...store bought mini muffins, bagels, and waffles. Oatmeal was packaged and boxed cereal was offered. Serve yourself and clean up yourself - we were surprised to see a tip jar on the counter as the guests do their own cleaning up. One last thing - air conditioner in room #1 was so loud i couldn't sleep and it barely cooled off the room.

Location is great - close to many shops and downtown seaport.

Room Tip: Room #1 was close to the street and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Terry H,

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Yankee Peddler. We are thrilled you came to Newport to enjoy the America's Cup World Series, it was a very busy and exciting time for our town.

I apologize for the mix up with your reservation, Laura is a very hands-on manager and handles each guest's stay with care and regard and am very glad this worked out well.

Being in the Newport Historic District in a 17th century inn is surely a big part of our charm, but having a large kitchen for heavy cooking is sadly not an option for us. Our included breakfast offers a varied range of light menu options, but I am very sorry we disappointed you.

We hope you will come and stay with us another time, we appreciate your visit.

Thank you for your time and consideration.
Courtney van Beuren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
23
74
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Charming old home. Small pretty rooms and #14 has a small bath but all is clean, check-in people helpful will make reservatons for you and best part is parking on the side off Mary Street. You can walk to downtown area in under 10 minutes. Many restaurants are within walking distance. See my review of Bouchard.
There is a roof top garden for sitting or reading or bringing your own drinks.
Breakfast includes many choices - hard boiled eggs, waffles, cold cereal lots of coffee and tea anytime as well as a bowl of fruit left out for all day snacking with cookies. Try it.

Room Tip: # 13 if you don't mind walking to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the carriage house for two nights. Was our first time at a bed and breakfast, and I had hoped this would be more romantic than a hotel. Our room was nearly underground, which I hadn't expected upon reserving. Going down a small set of stairs sort of felt like descending into a basement, and although the weather was gray, I think the underground structure made the room darker.

Not a big deal, but fyi the TV was very teeny-tiny. Wi-fi was very low, hardly usable. Bed was comfortable. Quiet enough to get a good night's sleep.

Was most disappointed with the breakfast. To me, that's part of the appeal of staying at a bed and breakfast, and honestly it seemed no different from something at a budget hotel. Coffee was fine, but there was nothing fresh except a bowl of fruit and some hard-boiled eggs. Rest of the options were pastries, sugary cereal, and what tasted like frozen waffles.

On the bright side, it is very close to downtown, has a parking lot and the staff was friendly. We also got a package with our room, which included two passes for a mansion tour, a coupon that covered dinner at a very nice restaurant, and a bottle of chardonnay (though our room had no refrigerator).

Perhaps the inn would've been more tolerable in nicer weather - a fresh hot breakfast would've made a big difference!

Overall, the next time I'm in Newport I think I'll try another inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed at the inn last week having stayed there a few years ago. Place is shabbier, windows dirty in the carriage house, room was extremely noisy starting at 5:30 AM from traffic -- we turned on the air conditioner just to drown out the noise. We'd have been in trouble if we needed it for cooling, because it didn't cool the room. WiFi promised as part of accommodations, but found out it was only in the common area breakfast room. Continental breakfast mediocre.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the carriage house or any room that fronts onto Touro St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
847 reviews 847 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lovely old-world inn with friendly staff, large rooms, comfortable beds, fridge and decent ensuites. Onsite parking was a huge plus, as there wasn't much street parking around.
Included breakfast was down in the basement with a good selection.
Rooftop terrace was lovely in the late afternoon.
Far enough away from the busy main street in Newport for quiet, but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn is an older character property with tasteful furnishings and very helpful staff. I enjoyed a relaxing sit out on the rooftop deck on a warm autumn afternoon. The cold buffet breakfast was good - there was plenty of choice for adults and children alike and a huge variety of teas if that's your thing. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The wireless internet connection was not great in the coach house where our room was, but that's a minor point. We were able to leave our car in the car park after check out for a few hours, which was great as the Yankee Peddler is in a great location for a stroll into town and a look around the shops. We'd stay here again if we were to return to Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a nice coincidental find this place was. You could get a field of what this place was 200 years ago. Nice comfortable quaint place on a great location and town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Peddler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.