We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful rooms, not full-service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelham Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pelham Court Hotel to your Saves list
Pelham Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, beautiful rooms, not full-service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a great find. The location can't be beat (on a side street just off of Thames Street). The rooms are like little apartments (I think it is actually a condo hotel) and they look like they have just been renovated. They have a full kitchen with pots, pans, silverware, full refrigerator, etc. Really handy when you have kids.

Our room had a living room with a sleeper couch and a separate bedroom. We shared a bathroom. Nice high ceilings. They also have their own parking lot and don't charge for parking. They provide a small free continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, coffee.

The only thing about the Pelham Court Hotel is the unusual housekeeping arrangement. I don't know if they share housekeepers with another hotel (there aren't that many rooms so it probably doesn't make sense to have a dedicated housekeeping staff) but they were very inconsistent. On our 4 night trip, the room was obviously made up when we got there, on the second day we came back after a full day and housekeeping showed up to clean the room at 3PM (we ended up just swapping towels. On the third day, they didn't show up at all so we had to swap towels with the person working the front desk. It didn't bother me that much because I don't really need my room made up everyday (I just need new towels) but it really bothered my wife because we had to go out of our way to track down new towels.

It is a great place and a great location. You just have to go into it with the knowledge that it is not a full-service hotel (spotty housekeeping, no room service, no pool, no laundry) but if you are OK with that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Sitting here in our suite at the PCH and it just feels like home...

This is probably our 10th visit to the hotel, and it really has become our favorite place to vacation. The rooms are more than just rooms, of course. We have a wonderful living room, with plasma TV, and then a spacious bedroom suite with a comfy lush bed. Really couldn't ask for much more.

The key with the Pelham is the really the location. We've stayed everywhere in the city. The Marriott was to crazy busy with folks coming in who aren't even guests just to use the bathroom. Tried to go down to the restaurant to eat and couldn't get in because they said they were "all booked up," and that was as a guest. The Hyatt out on Goat Island has the most spectacular view, but it's way the heck out there, and you just lose the ability to walk down the street and grab a Starbucks or go shopping. Once you leave the hotel, you leave for the day.

At Pelham, life is far different. In the morning first thing, I walk across the street to Starbucks, and on the way back I stop in the lobby here and bring some of the fresh muffins upstairs to everyone else. After breakfast, the kids will walk out across the street to explore a bit, or shop at the local convenience store.

In the evenings, we can all go out together, or split up for a while and rendevous back at at the hotel later. If you're looking for a 500 room hotel, with five gift shops, this isn't the place...and that's just why we're here. We prefer the boutique hotel setting, quiet and like home, yet 50 feet from the shopping and night life on Thames. For that, Pelham just can't be beat!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in a studio suite and I cannot say enough good things. The location of this hotel is incredible (right off Thames Street), the staff was helpful, the continental breakfast was varied and great, and the room was beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland,Ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in January. We stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen and a fireplace. The room was clean and spacious. The location can't be beat! This was our second time staying here and it won't be the last.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We went to Newport to celebrate our Anniversary, and the Pelham Court Hotel was the perfect place. We stayed in a gorgeous (and quiet) 1-bedroom room, which had a gas fireplace, a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and plenty of space. The hotel is so conveniently located - we parked the car (free parking) and didn't need the car again for our entire stay because everything is within walking distance! Benjamin's, 22 Bowens, The Mooring, Fluke is all just steps away! So much great cuisine to choose from (by the way, it was Restaurant Week!!) it was hard to decide where to eat, but we definitely know where to stay. I've read the other reviews, and saw complaints that the breakfast is merely continental, but I have to say it was a very nice touch to have a basket left outside my door with bagels/butter/cream cheese, danish/muffins, oj, milk, fruit and oatmeal. Fresh coffee (Keurig) is available always. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great choice specially if you are planning to stay for a few days in Newport. It is literally a few steps away from bustling Thames Street. It is a new property and the rooms are big with kitchens. The breakfast could have been better (would have given it an excellent rating if not for the mediocre breakfast).

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed in a one-bedroom suite, large and comfy. Rooms were very nice and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was store bought pastries and pod coffee. Expected better breakfast for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Court Hotel

Address: 14 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelham Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature plush bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pelham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelham Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.