We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, dark and dirty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
Pineapple Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   372 Coddington Hwy., off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dingy, dark and dirty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best thing about our stay at the Pineapple Inn was that the bikers in the next room were quiet and settled in early. And we know it was only a 2-star facility but my grandmother used to say, "You're never too poor to have soap and water." The room was dark, dingy and very dirty. There were long black hairs in the bath tub, which (even if I had been brave enough to use) didn't work. The carpet, coffee maker, air conditioner and refrigerator were all filthy. The towels and bed linens looked OK but we immediately stripped off the bed covers as they were stained and dirty. There was a large stack of old mattresses piled up behind one area of the motel so some rooms may be renovated -- ours was NOT and regardless...the room and surroundings were just plain DIRTY. We had checked-in late and it was a summer weekend in Newport so no options but to stay the night. Never again...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the worst place I've ever stayed in. The room smelled like smoke and filth. The sheets had blood stains on them. I don't think I have to go into any more detail. Run away! Every hotel/motel we called were booked so we had no choice but to sleep here. If you do be sure to bring socks, sweatpants, and a hoodie to tie around your head otherwise you may end up leaving with lice or probably something worse...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice "mom & pop" type motel. The place is older and its not the "Ritz", but it's very clean and quiet, and the staff is very helpful & friendly. It's only a few minutes from center city Newport. We have stayed there several times, winter and summer, and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medcart1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and opted to go a cheaper route and stay here- worst decision ever. Dirty towels, pillows, and bathroom; smeared bugs and blood/ brown stains on the walls; the staff said they had no more clean towels to replace the stained ones; sketchy people hanging around the hotel at odd hours; they charged us an extra $40 for having four people when we had two full beds in our room. Found out from a local that meth lab was busted in the motel early this year. Spend the money. Stay somewhere safe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missaloha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and couldn't be happier . It was clean and comfortable and it costs what 1 night would be elsewhere . Unless you're the vanderbilts and can afford a 5 star hotel , this is the next best place , especially if your like me when you go to Newport , all you want out of a hotel is a roof , ac , and a shower !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A last minute decision found us at this old-fashioned motel just outside Newport's downtown. The place wasn't very impressive from the outside but the room was clean even if the decor and quality of the furnishings was kinda tired. The beds were nice and firm. All else was adequate for our 1 night stay. But for more than one night I would have made other arrangements

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Efranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booked a last minute trip to Newport, stayed at The Pineapple Inn, we were pleasantly surprised at the great location. Just out of town but not too far. The room was very clean and quiet. Would recommend this hotel to friends and when we come back again stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#16 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 372 Coddington Hwy., off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Newport
Pineapple Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing