We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, dark and dirty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

Pineapple Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
Pineapple Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   372 Coddington Hwy., off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Newport
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Dingy, dark and dirty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best thing about our stay at the Pineapple Inn was that the bikers in the next room were quiet and settled in early. And we know it was only a 2-star facility but my grandmother used to say, "You're never too poor to have soap and water." The room was dark, dingy and very dirty. There were long black hairs in the bath tub, which (even if I had been brave enough to use) didn't work. The carpet, coffee maker, air conditioner and refrigerator were all filthy. The towels and bed linens looked OK but we immediately stripped off the bed covers as they were stained and dirty. There was a large stack of old mattresses piled up behind one area of the motel so some rooms may be renovated -- ours was NOT and regardless...the room and surroundings were just plain DIRTY. We had checked-in late and it was a summer weekend in Newport so no options but to stay the night. Never again...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    20
    8
    43
See reviews for
10
28
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the worst place I've ever stayed in. The room smelled like smoke and filth. The sheets had blood stains on them. I don't think I have to go into any more detail. Run away! Every hotel/motel we called were booked so we had no choice but to sleep here. If you do be sure to bring socks, sweatpants, and a hoodie to tie around your head otherwise you may end up leaving with lice or probably something worse...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice "mom & pop" type motel. The place is older and its not the "Ritz", but it's very clean and quiet, and the staff is very helpful & friendly. It's only a few minutes from center city Newport. We have stayed there several times, winter and summer, and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and opted to go a cheaper route and stay here- worst decision ever. Dirty towels, pillows, and bathroom; smeared bugs and blood/ brown stains on the walls; the staff said they had no more clean towels to replace the stained ones; sketchy people hanging around the hotel at odd hours; they charged us an extra $40 for having four people when we had two full beds in our room. Found out from a local that meth lab was busted in the motel early this year. Spend the money. Stay somewhere safe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and couldn't be happier . It was clean and comfortable and it costs what 1 night would be elsewhere . Unless you're the vanderbilts and can afford a 5 star hotel , this is the next best place , especially if your like me when you go to Newport , all you want out of a hotel is a roof , ac , and a shower !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A last minute decision found us at this old-fashioned motel just outside Newport's downtown. The place wasn't very impressive from the outside but the room was clean even if the decor and quality of the furnishings was kinda tired. The beds were nice and firm. All else was adequate for our 1 night stay. But for more than one night I would have made other arrangements

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booked a last minute trip to Newport, stayed at The Pineapple Inn, we were pleasantly surprised at the great location. Just out of town but not too far. The room was very clean and quiet. Would recommend this hotel to friends and when we come back again stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 372 Coddington Hwy., off Rt. 114, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Newport
Pineapple Motel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.