We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Years and so relaxing....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ivy Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Lodge
12 Clay St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years and so relaxing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I decided to go away at the last moment for New Years. We could not have picked a better place to stay and will now make this an annual event. The inn was decorated to perfection and it was hard to decide which of the common rooms to hang out in so we spent time in all or them! Breakfast both mornings was amazing and both Daryl and Darlene went out of their way to be warm and welcoming. Darlene even had a very nice appitizer spread for all the guests on NYE! Both were very accommodating with their suggestions on where to dine (Fluke and Momma Louisa's....Both a must!) and even made our reservations for us one night. Their warmth spread to all the guests and we met the nicest people there. And there was even a small wedding in front of the fire place on New Years Day! Truly wonderful inn keepers and we loved our stay.
Kelly and Mark Bartoletti

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We enjoyed you too! That's the nice thing about owning a B&B, built in party and we didn't need to move our car. You made our New Years Eve, more lovable and friendly, as you can see by your review, your outlook on life is your reward and ours. We look forward to seeing you both again. Our best for a healthy, prosperous New Year, I'd say happy, but you two got that covered.

Warmly,
Darlene and Daryl
Innkeepers/proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    54
    4
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
308
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This B&B is located a block from the cliff walk and near the mansions. It's nestled on a quite street, but still close to the heart of Newport, away from all the traffic, hustle and bustle. We passed many B&Bs on the drive, and we're so glad we chose this one. The Inn is beautifully decorated, so elegant and charming, and so clean. We mostly interacted with the Inn keeper Daryl, who is so sweet and helpful. The breakfast prepared by Darlene was wonderful. We stayed in the Turret room which has a victorian feel. There is a lot of space and the private bath is very roomy. There isn't anything that this room didn't have: fireplace, refrigerator, tv, dvd/vcr, fireplace, whirlpool. Other couples were here during our visit and we didn't hear a sound. Our stay was very relaxing and peaceful. If you're looking for a bed and breakfast, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Your review comes at a time when we need it most, taking down the holiday decorations. You are the reason we spend so much energy putting them up, thank you for writing such a nice review.
It's a sunny, balmy day in Newport by New England standards. We too are grateful to live in a neighborhood were the trees are plentiful and the ocean is a stones-throw-away. On my break, I'm headed to the cliffwalk, this is my favorite time of year to walk the infamous walk, just a short stroll away. Hope to see you again this New Year.

Wishing fair winds and safe seas,
Darlene
Innkeeper/proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our stay here was just perfect! We thought the ivy lodge was beautiful and the breakfast was wonderful. The staff there was very attentive. They even said one the day of our check out, that we could come back and have a coffee and relax in front of the fire to warm up. Would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We spend many hours decorating the Inn for the holidays so you can come, get inspired and just relax by the fire. We are so happy you did just that: explore Newport but still find time to recharge and relax. We are so grateful you found what you came for.

Cheers and Happy New Year!
Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived and immediately welcomed by the innkeeper. The room was so clean and comfortable and extremely cozy with the fireplace. We were so glad we stayed three nights. The breakfast every morning was always delicious . We were so thankful for the wonderful hospitality especially when we left early in the morning and Darlene the innkeeper made us coffee and breakfast to go and it was set up for us. We felt like family! Amazing people amazing place. The location of the inn was perfect for walking to the cliff walk and the beautiful mansions! We will definitely go back again hopefully stay longer. It was the most relaxing vacation we ever had, Thanks to the innkeepers and there beautiful inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. Can't go wrong with any of them. You will love them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Manager at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
You are very kind to take the time and write the Inn this very nice review. We are grateful for the positive feed back. We hear a theme in many of the reviews of relaxation. You inspire us to enhance our Inn with a relaxed theme . . . we'll be working on enhancing that theme in our guest rooms and through-out the Inn. . . Comforts of tidings and Joy!

Cheers,
Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aladonnamiller
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I took a trip to the Ivy Lodge in late September of this year. The experience at the lodge was unlike any bed and breakfast experience to date. The property was immaculate, the breakfast was phenomenal, and the Inn Keepers put their heart and soul into making their guests feel at home. The Ivy Lodge was not only a destination, but an amazing experience.

Ashley Miller
Morristown, TN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivykeeper, Owner at Ivy Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Wow! That is one nice review. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much enjoyed your company . . . we always say, guests like you make our job so enjoyable. Have a great New Year! Darlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I walked in and saw a Foyer at Ivy Lodge I was already impressed. What a charming and romantic place! Very clean, beautiful, great location! Our room was not big on the 3rd floor, but it has everything we needed. Too bad we had only one night stay:(
Darlene was very helpful and welcoming and breakfast was out of this world!
I would definitelly stay their again and gladly recomend it to my friends.
Thank you,
G. T.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely B&B with lots of character in a GREAT location for Newport mansion touring. Innkeepers were very helpful and breakfast was delicious. We were able to walk everywhere from the Inn - cliff walk, mansions, "town", etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Address: 12 Clay St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.