We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added America's Cup Inn to your Saves list
America's Cup Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. The staff was pleasant and the room reasonably priced. The house is what one would expect for an older building. The rooms are small, but pleasant. The only concern would be noise from the bar next door. However, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone who is a night owl.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    18
    17
    10
See reviews for
30
61
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Although my stay was short this quaint inn is right on Thames. My room was street level which translates to lots of
noise from passersby...it did not get quiet until 100 am. The rest of my accommodations were fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the America's Cup Inn. The room was clean and pleasant. The view out the windows was a run-down building. The breakfast Sunday morning was very extensive and good. However, the Inn had no reserved parking. There was public parking across the street and it took us 45 minutes of driving around to find a place in the public parking lot across the street so we could check in. We have never been to a hotel/motel anywhere that does not have parking for guests. We will never stay there again. There are many places in Newport-with parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If all you care about is location this is the place to be. If you want a pleasant stay in a decent hotel then I suggest you look elsewhere. We were presented with a room described as cute, which apparently translates as small, top floor, no view and decor inspired by Grandma (in fact I suspect the decor has a similar age demographic). We were told when we checked in that we could have another room if this one wasn't up to scratch. When we asked for another room we we told they didn't have any!! Avoid if you have any self respect.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were delighted with the warm welcome extended by Esteban. He made us feel 'at home'. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. It felt as if we were in an antique home - we were in another era. Breakfast was generous and prepared us for an invigorating walk on CLIFF WALK. Esteban made sure he explained how to get to Narragansett Rd. where we parked for free to access CLIFF WALK. Our March visit a few days prior to Easter was also enhanced by the availability of free parking across from the inn. If you don't mind leaving the modern world outside you'll enjoy the coziness offered.

Room Tip: Room 201 allowed me to see my parked car across the street. No noise at night or in the morning in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Esteban, greeted us warmly, our room was perfect, the breakfast unbelievable. His recommendations are to be taken seriously, he knows Newport! The location could not b better! You are within walking distance of everything and public parking across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here Dec. 28th and 29th 2012. I would have given this place an "Average" if it weren't for the location being right in the center of downtown Newport. The reason I say this is because it is in severe need of updating. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls, or, starting to in several places, the bed linens were very old(the "bedspread/blanket" thingie was horribly stiff and not at all comfortable), and, the bed mattress was the hardest and most uncomfortable one we slept on during our travels this week. I actually had a back ache after sleeping on it. The headboard was not attached to the bed, had a broken top on one of the polsters that rattled against the wall every time one turned over in the bed or made any movement. We had to take a towel from the bathroom to cover it to stop the thumping. Tried bracing the bed firmly against it, but that didn't stop it moving. Whoever actually owns this place has a real "diamond in the rough" in their possession but, if they really care about guest comfort and quality, should take a little time and $$ to lovingly update this place. It has amazing potential, but appears to have simply been generating cash without much being actually put into it for some time. I saw what they asked per night during high season and was shocked because I would not ever pay that to stay here for a night. Lastly, as far as other negatives, the staff seemed elusive and not interested in engaging in conversation with guests. Anyway, remaining positives are that the continental breakfast was among the best I have seen in a while, with a large selection of different types of cereals, breads/rolls, cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, etc. The lobby area was warm and inviting, especially with the old fashioned Christmas tree set up. It snowed our second night, which for us, being Floridians, was a really cool experience. Anyway, if you want purely great location, this is your place. If any of the other things written here would be of concern to you, you might consider staying elsewhere. I definitely would not recommend staying here in high season, regardless of the location. It was already pricey enough in off season and anything higher is just too much to ask for what you get in the way of quality comfort and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Address: 6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Cup Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.