We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location--Needs Some Work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America's Cup Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added America's Cup Inn to your Saves list
America's Cup Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice Location--Needs Some Work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here Dec. 28th and 29th 2012. I would have given this place an "Average" if it weren't for the location being right in the center of downtown Newport. The reason I say this is because it is in severe need of updating. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls, or, starting to in several places, the bed linens were very old(the "bedspread/blanket" thingie was horribly stiff and not at all comfortable), and, the bed mattress was the hardest and most uncomfortable one we slept on during our travels this week. I actually had a back ache after sleeping on it. The headboard was not attached to the bed, had a broken top on one of the polsters that rattled against the wall every time one turned over in the bed or made any movement. We had to take a towel from the bathroom to cover it to stop the thumping. Tried bracing the bed firmly against it, but that didn't stop it moving. Whoever actually owns this place has a real "diamond in the rough" in their possession but, if they really care about guest comfort and quality, should take a little time and $$ to lovingly update this place. It has amazing potential, but appears to have simply been generating cash without much being actually put into it for some time. I saw what they asked per night during high season and was shocked because I would not ever pay that to stay here for a night. Lastly, as far as other negatives, the staff seemed elusive and not interested in engaging in conversation with guests. Anyway, remaining positives are that the continental breakfast was among the best I have seen in a while, with a large selection of different types of cereals, breads/rolls, cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, etc. The lobby area was warm and inviting, especially with the old fashioned Christmas tree set up. It snowed our second night, which for us, being Floridians, was a really cool experience. Anyway, if you want purely great location, this is your place. If any of the other things written here would be of concern to you, you might consider staying elsewhere. I definitely would not recommend staying here in high season, regardless of the location. It was already pricey enough in off season and anything higher is just too much to ask for what you get in the way of quality comfort and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    18
    17
    10
See reviews for
30
61
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The location of this inn is almost unbeatable; you walk out the side entrance and your right on Thames St & across from the wharf is a short walk. The restaurants, shopping, bars, are all within a short distance with the only walking being past the Red Parrot and further down Thames.

Parking is right across from the front door on Mary St. which is right behind stores as a public parking lot. The lot was pretty full when we arrived but even parking in the back was still not a long walk to the inn. Due to it being off season there was no charge as the booths are unattended.

The inn is clean and felt like being in a cozy home, with an older but certainly not worn out decor especially for the Inn's era.

The room was on a smaller size, nicely decorated with 2 double beds that were among the most comfortable I have ever slept on a hotel. The wallpaper was beginning to show its age in some places and the seams were separating. It somehow seemed fit though with the age of the building. There was a small fridge (no microwave) and very small flat panel LED TV. The private bathroom was very small with a small tucked in sink in the actual room surrounded by mirrors. (Exactly like pic #10) The shower was a normal size tub just the footprint of the room was small. It was definitely a + having a private bath though. It would have been nice to have a small desk but there was a comfortable sitting chair.

The inn was completely quiet at night which was nice, it was a very comfortable place to spend the night; there was some chatter and noise from Thames but that died down well before we went to sleep.

My only downer on the Inn was the breakfast. I only saw coffee and cereal boxes so I either must have not gotten down early enough (this was around 9 or so) or much wasn't prepared.

I will definitely stay again as the price beat the Harbor Hotel across the st and it is just as if not more convenient of a location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We where in town for a rugby match and had another night to spend in the Boston area...we loved what we saw of Newport and Middletown, so we decided to stay in the area. Honestly found this Inn last minute on-line and reserved a room. Really nice accommodations. Clean rooms, nice staff, excellent breakfast! Parking was $18 per night in lot across the street. We spent the entire evening walking up and down Thames street. So much to see! Food, pubs, shops, and great people. We really had a wonderful stay and I can't wait to come back and do it again. Also, you get a coupon for a free bottle of wine from the Newport Winery when you stay at this Inn. Although we didn't get a chance to take them up on it, I will next time I visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are not very big. If you plan on traveling with friends, either get extra rooms or plan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a quiet quaint hotel right in the middle of everything in Newport. The bed was comfortable, the rooms clean and the shower hot. The staff was nice and helpful. The buffet was plentiful but nothing to right home about. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 305 overlooking Thames, but it is a third floor walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Run by very nice people, I would recommend America's Cup Inn. It is right in the heart of Newport ... and has parking (for an extra fee). The rooms are ... roomy. What we enjoyed best of all (family reunion) was the large breakfast rooms which the Inn nicely let us use for gathering in the evening as well. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again. Oh! The afternoon tea (quite a spread) was a welcome surprise. And the breakfast was an equally large and varied spread. You really can't do any better.
One detraction -- the price for being in the heart of Newport is lots of street noise drifting in your windows if you choose to sleep with them open. C'est la vie.

Room Tip: Choose well as there is no elevator. I liked being on the fourth (top) floor for the glimpses of vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my family here last weekend for two nights. The room was advertised as a suite with a king bed and a queen bed. What we got was a single large room with a king bed and a full size sofa bed. I do not consider a sofa bed to be equal to a regular bed. The room had a kitchenette, and one small bathroom. The TV was tiny (it looked like a 20 inch computer monitor) considering the King Bed was 15 feet away. The paint on the ceiling in the bathroom was peeling. It was clean, but everything was old. The Inn has three buildings. Parking was in a public lot across the street. They give you a 6 dollar daily discount so it was $18 bucks a day to park. Now, I will say the location was GREAT! I just expected more for $300 plus a night.

Room Tip: Room 505 (The suite) is not in the main building and is just one big room with a tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yzerfontein, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 with my husband & another couple. The location is awesome, but the staff unfriendly, the historic old building is in desperate need of renovation. The linen is old & the wallpaper coming of the walls. Totally over prized for what they offer. Our friends had a block toilet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Cup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Address: 6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Cup Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.