We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming - cozy - immaculate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Ladies Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Ladies Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staten Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming - cozy - immaculate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Our first trip to a B & B and we could not have asked for a better experience - from the warm chocolate chip cookies, tour of the inn, overview of Newport. The breakfast was also amazing, first a nice continental breakfast buffet, then a hot entree. Yummy!
Friendly and helpful staff and owners. Within walking distance of harbor, restaurants and cliff walk. I just wish we could have stayed longer. Just perfect!! The room was also beautiful. It even had a gas fireplace!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    40
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metrowest Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Victorian Ladies Inn for one night in April to celebrate his birthday. We had joked about the name -- a little on the feminine side for my man's 35th. But I couldn't argue with the reviews, photos, or prices posted online. Well I'm glad the name did not deter us! We were greeted warmly by Cindy, who gave us a brief tour of the inn and provided us with maps and guides. She walked us to our room, "Edward", which is located through the garden with a private entrance. It was very clean and so tastefully decorated with Asian accents. Comfortable bed, updated bathroom, just lovely.

We like to walk and were 10 minutes from downtown. I appreciated our quiet location after strolling through the town center and seeing inns that sit right on the main drag. I wouldn't have liked that.

After enjoying downtown, we walked back to the inn in time for afternoon tea. Cindy makes the BEST chocolate chip cookies. This was only a preview of the wonderful breakfast that awaited us the next morning. A buffet of fruit, granola, the most wonderful coffee cake and other pastries. Then a hot entree.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at the Victorian Ladies Inn the weekend of Thanksgiving, arriving in wind swept conditions on that Friday to a very warm and inviting inn. The inn is beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean and well kept. Our room was on the third floor in the back of the main house and was very cozy and inviting! Cindy & Betty Jo made us feel quite at home and helped us make dinner choices which were wonderful (loved Mama Luisa's & The Brick Alley Pub!) They also helped orient us to Newport. The inn is located just two blocks from the beginning of the Cliff Walk (which is absolutely beautiful and should not be missed!) It is also easy walking distance to a few restaurants and one of the shopping areas. We took the car to the restaurants and shopping area down near the water/wharf only because it was rather cold and windy the entire weekend, but it is about a 20 minute walk if the weather permits.
The inn was also not far from the gorgeous Newport Mansions that are on tour in Newport, again another not to be missed tour. We visited the Breakers and the Marble House and would love to visit them all!
Our breakfasts were delicious, starting with a continental buffet of fruits, cereals, bagels, breads and muffins. Then a hot entree is brought to your table to top off the meal. Afternoon tea consisted of your choice of variety of hot teas or hot cocoas along with a sweet treat. It was an opportunity to meet the other guests.
Newport is an historical, charming town with great restaurants and delightful shops. When in town, stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn. You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The room was very nice and clean, it was a blizzard everyday we were there and the room was so warm and cozy. The owners and inn keepers were so friendly and helpful. The inn was close to everywhere we needed to go and there is even an awesome kareoke bar down the block. I stayed there with two other couples and their rooms were very nice and clean also. This inn had the biggest bathroom that i have ever seen in a b&b. They als have a very good breakfast. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

While visiting Newport in a Blizzard and having NO where to stay, Fate and Karma sent us to this lovely and quaint Inn on Memorial BLVD R.I.
We were greeted with kindness and understanding even though a Blizzard had just came in and made things difficult for them and their guest.They never showed a sign frustration or worry when two snow covered wanderers entered their clean and holiday filled home.
Even though it was very early for arrivals of new guest we were shown a Beautiful and welcoming room { Alfred} with the fireplace turned on to warm us and bubble bath placed by the tub to soak our cold bones. Special care was placed in the room with decor and great taste. The bed was more than comfortable and I must admit the pillows were very easy to fall asleep with. Towels were beyond clean,bright and white but also very soft and absorbing, of my couple baths.
The breakfast which was provides the next day was wonderful and everything was taking into consideration for my partner who "dislike" eggs.
We had a wonderful experience AND WILL RETURN , to try out the Aurthur room next time.
Thank you so much for a Grand experience, one that will be mentioned to ALL our friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed over a stormy 2 days and it was just lovely - sharing, warm and welcoming. It's close to the town and the beach. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a B&B, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived Betty Jo made us feel at home. She gave us the tour of the main house, then showed us to our room (Victorian). The room was spacious and clean. The fireplace was very romantic during the evening. The bathroom was large and with plenty of room to store our toiletries.

I typically wake up several times when staying in a hotel, but I slept almost through the night here. Although the bed was hard at first, it was surprisingly comfortable once you went to sleep. The room came with a small refrigerator which was perfect for storing some drinks.

My wife and I always complain about the water pressure when we travel, but this was actually pretty good.

When we arrived for breakfast the Inn Keeper was very gracious. The pastries were fresh, and the parfait was creamy and delicious. I can't say enough about how romantic and comfortable this B&B was. If we ever decide to stay at another one in Newport, you can bet that we'll make another reservation. It's also very close to all of the restaurants and shops in downtown Newport.

My ONLY complaint is that during the second day another couple arrived and were staying in the room directly above ours. If you've ever lived in an apartment, you know you can hear them whenever they walk around. Thankfully they stayed still for most of the night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Ladies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.