We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love Newport you will love the Victorian Ladies Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Ladies Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Ladies Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you love Newport you will love the Victorian Ladies Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

My wife and I have enjoyed coming to Newport in the past, so our children got us a gift certificate to the VLI as a Christmas present. We loved the room, the warm welcome we received and the hospitality shown at breakfast in the morning (which is great, by the way - very good coffee). The Inn is within easy walking distance of the Cliff Walk and mansions, as well as the Newport waterfront with its pubs, shops and restaurants. We never took the car out of the driveway the entire weekend.

We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    40
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I needed a few days away from the everyday grind to spend some quality time together with some rest and romance.The Victorian Ladies Inn staff made that happen in a big way.Betty Jo, our innkeeper for day one and two was so friendly that we felt like family.I had asked to have the Romance Pkg. prior to our arrival(bottle of wine,two beautiful roses and some chocolate hearts)and everything was as planned.My wife was so surprised and grateful.We did not get to meet the owners(Harry and Cheryl) but thru the other great innkeeper(Cindy)we learned how they came to acquire the inn and a little bit about them.My wife and I had a relaxing,quiet and enjoyable two nights and three days in Newport due to all of these fine people.We hope to go back again soon and bring some of our friends with us.Thank you again Betty Jo and Cindy.Hope to meet Harry and Cheryl on our next trip.The Victorian Ladies Inn is Number#1 in our book.
Don&Marsha-West Boylston,MA.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Proprietors Cheryl & Harry and Innkeepers Cindy and Betty Jo welcome you into their home and truly make you feel like you are part of their family. Their knowledge of the area is comprehensive, so they can help you with whatever your sightseeing goals are. The Victorian Ladies Inn itself is extremely well maintained and well appointed. We stayed in the Arthur room, which was very warm and cozy, and had a separate TV room. The bathroom was huge – unusual for a B&B. Breakfasts were delicious and generous. Afternoon teas included hot cider and homemade cakes. The Victorian Ladies Inn is a must for anyone who visits the Newport, RI area.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Victorian Ladies Inn is a great place to stay in Newport, a wonderful town for a long leisurely weekend. The hospitality was great. Harry, the owner (Cheryl was gone then) was friendly and helpful and provided a excellent breakfasts and conversation. The room we had was graciously decorated, with a newly remodeled bath, and just right for the romantic getaway. The small hidden garden in the back was gorgeous . Everything we wanted to see in Newport (downtown, wharfs, Cliff Walk, mansions, Tennis Hall of Fame) was within comfortable walking distance. Couldn't ask for more! We will definitely stay here again.

Alan and Elaine, NY

  • Liked — Friendliness, cleanliness, decorating, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

My boyfriend took me here for 3 nights for my bday weekend. The Inn was very well run and staffed. Rooms were so cute and clean and charming. We had the Sophia room the first night and changed to a larger one with a cute fireplace and deck by the koi pond for the next 2 nights. The breakfast was yummy with cereals and breads and either eggs or waffles to follow. Tea time had wonderful teas, coffee and homemade cookies. Cheryl and Harry were very helpful with advice on tours, restaurants and the general area. We will return when it is warm out so we can enjoy more of what the inn has to offer.

  • Liked — the warm feeling of the inn
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

My wife and I just returned from staying 3 nights at the Victorian Ladies Inn and we absolutely loved it. We would definitely stay here again. Our room was very nice and the owners & staff were super friendly, helpful, and very accomodating. Breakfast was very good - homemade granola, crumb cake, and even the banana pancakes :) Plus, it always smells fantastic in the house, especially in the morning.

I also can't say enough about the location. You're just a couple blocks from both the start of the Cliff Walk & Bellevue Ave. We were very thankful we didn't end up in the downtown area, off a narrow one way street with minimal parking - especially since we arrived in the dark and had never been to Newport before.

This was our first time to a B&B and I can say without hesitation that if all B&Bs are like the Victorian Ladies Inn, we will no doubt be staying in 'em again.

Great place, we highly recommend!

  • Liked — The whole experience - room, staff, food, atomsphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We visited Newport, RI and chose to stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Cheryl and Harry have a charming B+B and were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat during our 3 night stay, including the mansions and local wineries. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. We stayed in the Pauline room, which is in a separate building from the main building, but access is easy and the room is very spacious and quiet. We would definitely plan to stay here again in a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Ladies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.