We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Save Saved
You added Victorian Ladies Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Victorian Ladies Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Arlington or Cambridge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The new owners of this inn have made it a very warm and cozy place to be. I had been here once before, years ago, but did not stay in the main house. Glad I went back because it is a really comfortable and convenient inn to stay when coming in from the cold weather. The house is beautifully decorated in period furnishings that are also comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious so save room for the two courses. Afternoon tea and homemade cookies were appreciated after being out all day. The hosts are wonderfully friendly and helpful. I will be back when the weather is warmer and we can sit outside in the garden.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a delightful inn! This is a wonderful place for a getaway. I came here with my husband, and our room was wonderful and very comfortable. The breakfast was incredible--probably among the best breakfasts I've had at any place. Everything was homemade and delicious. The innkeeper was super friendly, and Cindy was amazing!!! I had complimented her on these cookies that she had made for 4pm tea, and a week later she sent me the recipe for the cookies! Truly exemplary service and a wonderful inn--we will absolutely be staying here on our next trip to Newport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away just for a night to celebrate our 12th anniversary. We live in RI so looked to Newport. We wanted to find a B&B or Inn that wasn't your every day cookie cutter hotel room. We have stayed at some nice places before but some have two night minimum stay or were just too expensive for off season.

My husband found the Victorian Ladies Inn online and it completely fit the bill. The Inn has several buildings on it's property. You can tell that in the Spring and Summer, their gardens must be beautiful. We picked their best room, the Pauline. It was upstairs in the third building to the back. We meandered down a small brick path past the Koi pond and through the patio gardens to our outdoor staircase. Our room was beautiful with lovely antique furniture (big desk and wardrobe) as well as a beautiful King Size Canopy Bed (ultra comfortable). The gas fireplace by the bed added to the romance (and heat....word of warning...turn it on when you are ready...it throws off a lot of heat!). There were many little thoughtful touches throughout the room and we noticed them.

The Inn serves tea and assorted cookies between 4 and 5PM. Breakfast consists of a side board of scones, banana bread, coffee cake, muffins, fresh fruit, home made granola, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee and tea, and a hot item. For our breakfast, the hot item was a crabcake quiche. I don't normally eat crab (except crab rangoons!) but I decided to try it. It was delicious!

I have to say that the staff was very friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay and wished we could stay longer. We felt like we had our own private romantic hideaway. We will definitely go back for another visit and we will choose the same room again.

Only disappointment was that I thought the room had a CD player. We have a CD of favorite music to play when sitting in front of a fire. However, we didn't have a CD player in the room. Had we known, we would have brought one or an ipod. I am sure the staff would have provided one had we asked but we didn't think about it until later that night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm from Newport, but decided to book New Year's Eve at the Victorian Ladies to make it extra special because this was going to be our first New Year's Eve together. Well, we had no idea how extra special it would be!

First, after Cheryl, the Innkeeper, checked us in, I went to pick up my sweetheart. Before we returned, she had iced our bottle of champagne, set it up with stemware in our room, and set out two candles next to it.

We asked if a late check-out were possible and Cheryl said certainly. When we asked what time, she told us to stay as late as we liked as no one was moving into our room the next day.

Breakfast was 8:30 to 10:30. We slept late (had a great party at a nearby restaurant) and did not come to beakfast until 10:15! Everything was still waiting for us, platters full of warm food, great coffee, and a fabulous carrot cake!

Cheryl and Harry sat with us and were delightful hosts. It was as if we'd known them for years even though we'd met only the afternoon before. We returned to our room (the Arthur - warm, cozy, beautifully appointed) and, due to the hearty breakfast with mimosas, promptly fell asleep. We awoke much later and didn't get downstairs for checkout until nearly 4:00! Cheryl was true to her word - no problem staying as late as we wanted!

The experience was so delightful, that we made reservations for next New Year's Eve and for my birthday in February, as well. This is among the best B&Bs I've ever visited. If you're coming to Newport, stay here! It's not only a wonderful place to stay, but it's also in a great location - just up the hill from Easton's Beach, a short walk to Bellevue Avenue, and a brisk walk to downtown.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We can't say enough about our visit last night. We stayed in the Pauline Room and it was wonderful. The fireplace added a romantic touch to our birthday getaway.Everyone was friendly and helpful. It was so quiet which was exactly what we wanted. We never knew that there was a dog living next door! Breakfest was delicious. We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a one night stay in the Victorian Ladies Inn while visiting Newport. It was a last minute trip decision and we were looking for a different experience than just a hotel. This inn is a little off the beaten path, which is good since it's in a more quiet area. Although the whole town was quiet during the off season. The inn is within walking distance to the main tourist areas.

We were greeted by the inn staff and everything started off great with a tea and cookie reception and we were given suggestions for dinner options that evening. After dinner we went back to our room expecting a quiet evening in front of the gas fireplace. We were greeted with a whining and barking dog in the room next door which lasted for a few hours until the other guests came back. The website does state the inn is dog friendly, but it's in the upper right hand corner of the page. I should have paid more attention or it should have been more clearly marked.

In the morning we were greeted by the inn owners and had a cold buffet choice of cakes, cereal and juice. Nothing appeared to be homemade, i.e. store bought coffee cakes. For our hot meal we were offered what can best be described as an Egg McMuffin - egg, bacon and cheese on an English muffin. Although I would expect more from a B&B, it was made more uncomfortable by the owner telling us how his wife is a great chef for quiche and other meals, but couldn't cook eggs. I didn't know why we were getting what she was not comfortable cooking, rather than one of her specialties.

We enjoy staying at B&B's and this was definitely not worth the price, even in the off season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our third time to Victorian Ladies Inn in Newport and we enjoy the warm and laid back atmosphere a lot. The folks in charge were all very down to earth and friendly. There are an array of rooms to choose from, each having its own charm and their tea time, with yummy treats, and their breakfasts were to die for. Its location isn't on the water but it is a block or two from the beginning of Bellevue Avenue where all the mansions are located and from the National Tennis Hall of Fame with a very good and casual restaurant attached to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport
Victorian Ladies Hotel
Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Ladies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.