We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Ladies Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Ladies Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Despite the name, men are very welcome. In fact everyone is made to feel welcome. The main house is over 100 years old and does suffer with the odd creak here and there but that adds to the charm.

The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished, and talking of taste, the breakfast was delicious.

The house is situated a short walk between the harbour area and the cliff path.

I would highly recommend the VICTORIAN LADIES INN

Oh by the way, check out The Canfield restaurant about 100 yards down the road. (see my review on that)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    41
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
123
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here just one night in September, but it was great. Had a room in the carriage house and it was quiet and secluded. Our hostess's were fantastic and we had a wonderful breakfast in the courtyard. We especially loved the location. Close enough to walk down to the harbor front and to Cliff walk, but far enough away from most of the hustle and bustle. We walked to dinner in the evening and actually walked a lot of Cliff Walk before breakfast the next morning - It was nice to be able to come back from our walk and sit down with a cup of coffee and breakfast before heading our on the next leg of our trip. Would love to come back and spend 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Victorian Ladies Inn for three nights in the Beatrice Room - a two twin bed suite on the third floor. The room was very charming and very quiet as we never heard any noises from the occupants of the other two rooms on the floor. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Cindy who showed us around the inn and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were always delicious and Cindy was kind enough to give us the recipe for the Crumb Cake which was absolutely fantastic. It was a bit chilly during our stay in mid-September so we did not get to enjoy the beautiful patio and garden areas. The inn was ideally situated for all the sights. This was our first stay at a B & B and we enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn during the Columbus Day weekend. The Inn has so much charm, the owner Harry is so kind and takes time to show you around and answer any questions you that you may have. We stayed in the Leopold room which is a deluxe room in the carriage house. It was beautiful. Immaculate. To find an Inn with such beautiful gardens is rare. Attention to detail shows here. The cliffwalks are three blocks away and not a far walk into town either. The morning breakfast is just wonderful. We really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Victorian Ladies Inn during a recent visit to Newport.
The inn is close to the famous Cliff Walk and is within walking distance of many restaurants and some shops. The inn is well maintained on a very pretty property with a garden and koi pond. The room we stayed in,Alfred, was good-sized, clean and quiet. The stairs to the second floor are a little narrow and winding but there is the option of using the stairs in the back of the house in the kitchen area. Breakfast was a buffet with delicious coffee cake, breads, juices,etc. and one hot entree which is freshly prepared. We had the opportunity to meet the owners and they are very pleasant and helpful. Everyone on staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay at the Victorian Ladies and Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic B&B in great location for cliff walks and the Newport Mansions. We where met by Cindy who was so friendly and gave us a detailed description of the surrounding area and were to eat out. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. And the breakfast is the best we have had in New England and that's saying something. Don't miss this B&B if you are staying in Newport.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last week we were able to have a 1 night get away and decided to head to Newport . We chose The Victorian Ladies Inn based on the reviews, location and price. The location was wonderful. You could walk everywhere and enjoy the downtown with lots of shopping and restaurants. We attended the boat show and the innkeepers allowed
us .to leave our car for the day at the inn. We were joined by 2 other couples . I thought all our Rooms were decorated tastefully and very clean. They had all the amenities you needed. Breakfast was a selection of cereal, baked goods, fruit and after you helped your self to that they served a lovely piece of homemade quiche with bacon. It was a little confusing to get a cup of coffee while we waited for our friends to join us at breakfast. There really wasn't a place to self serve the coffee so you had to stand in the kitchen where they were preparing breakfast. Although the staff was helpful I did feel a bit in the way. The grounds are well maintained and delightful. All kinds of little gardens and sitting areas. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting around the fire pit when we returned from dinner. I would highly recommend this B&B and would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Ladies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.