We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Ladies Inn

Save Saved
You added Victorian Ladies Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Ladies Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Cozy Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

My fiance and I came here to get away from the city for the weekend. We absolutely loved Newport, and the Victorian Ladies Inn was lovely. We stayed in a room in the guesthouse. The room was a tad small, but the bathroom was very large. We arrived in the evening and they had keys waiting on us in the mailbox. The Inn is a little far from Downtown Newport, but it was near the mansions. The breakfast was delicious and the propietors were very nice and welcoming. The parking was a little cramped.

My only complaint is that I specifically chose the room for the fireplace, but it ended up being a fake fireplace. It was chilly, so I really wanted the coziness of a fire. Overall we had a great time.

  • Liked — The bed was very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The parking and the fake fireplace.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
91
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Victorian Ladies is in a great location---off a bit from crowds on Thames but you don't need your car much after you check in. You can easily walk to Cliff Walk-Thames Street and Bellevue Ave . For mansions further along Bellevue such as RoseCliff and Marble House you will probably want your car.
The owners and staff are very friendly-really good orange mint ice tea and assorted sweets are out in the afternoon--along with hot tea assortment. Lovely grounds- sweetest dog Mack. Breakfast was very good. Asst. breakfast pastries-fresh fruit-yogurts-granola and asst juices are out. Served while we were visiting were fresh banana pancakes and sausage and the following day a quiche with bacon.
You can hear street noise (cars driving by -nothing more) in the front rooms of the main inn. We looked at a few B&B's that were rated on TripA but location is important and many you cannot just walk to dinner or shopping.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We recently stayed at the Victorian Ladies Inn for 4 nights - it was really great. The staff was friendly with good recommendations. The room was clean, very comfortable and charming. Everything about it was warm and welcoming. Breakfast each morning was fabuous! The location was also good. It was within easy walking distance to the Mansions, Ocean Walk and the beach. This turned out to be great b/c the traffic going/coming from the mansions could get quite heavy, and we just walked right passed them all. My husband and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — The room, and breakfast
  • Disliked — Internet Access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Victorian Laidies Inn, great place,great location!
My husband, Chelsea our Pug and i just came back from our 4 dasy stayed at the inn. It was a great experience!! first time on a bed and breakfast.
We were greated by Harry at the parking lot, then met Cheryl and Mac (a lovely Westie) . Then Reggie showed us around.
Room was cleaned, with a lovely decoration with hints of China.
Breakfast were deliciuos, consisted of fresh fruits, homemade pastries, a hot entree, decliciuos!!!!
The location is perfect, 3 blocks from the beach, the Cliff Walk, couple of blocks from the mansions and Intl Tennis Hall of Fame, and a 10 minutes walk to Dowtown.
It was delightful to find a place that accomodates our little Chelsea, she got treat, a bowl for water and bags to pick up after her. Very thougthful!!!
Will definetely come back. Loved it!!!!

  • Liked — Accomodation for pets
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Victorian Ladies for a weekend getaway for our anniversary. We stayed in The Louise, and the room was great, with a perfect sized bathroom. We were within walking distance
from everywhere. Harry, Cheryl and the staff were very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast for the two days consisted of homemade breads, muffins, fruits and one hot entree. Outstanding facility that we will
visit again.

  • Liked — Hospitality, Location, Room, Scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

The Victorian Ladies Inn was a great place to stay. It was within walking distance to the shopping and eating areas and a great place to stay if you are interested in going to the beach. The hosts were very nice. They gave us some good tips on what to do and where to eat, but were not overbearing. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband, myself our our Westie just returned from a fabulous stay at the Victorian Ladies B&B. They certainly honored our reservation and appear to be exceptional innkeepers. Our room, the Victoria, looked as though a first class decorator had been hired to set it up. I asked Cheryl if that were the case and she said No. She decorated it, along with Harry. It's a small room, but all the space is used remarkably well. We can only imagine how beautiful it would be in the springtime or summer months as there is a wonderful deck that leads to a charming back yard. Our Westie loved their little charm of a Westie, Mac. They provided us with a cermamic dog bowl, doggie treats, and pickup items. I wanted to come home and start redecorating, but instead, will just be sure to make a return visit. A delicious breakfast, consisting of fresh fruits, cereals, muffins, bagels. And then, the big treat, a leek tart with maple flavored sausage links. The orange juice tasted as though it were freshly made, which well could have been the case. We went to Mama Luisa's for dinner. Harry graciously made our reservations for us. Probably the finest Northern Italian spot around, and we've been to them all in Newport. Another review mentions that it is a 10 minute drive to town. You can actually walk to town in 10 minutes! This Inn will be on our list of very favorite places to visit, and we've been to many throughout New England.

  • Liked — The decorations and the amazing cleanliness
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Address: 63 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Ladies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.