We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southeastern CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I booked the Cliffside Inn based on a lot of research and was not disappointed! I reserved the Garden Suite as a combination birthday and valentines day gift for my husband and was looking forward to relaxing, and relax we did. We booked couples massages through the innkeepers and the masseuses were fantastic. Between the massage and the huge fireside jetted tub, I could've stayed for weeks. We had two wonderful breakfast specials, and the cinnamon bun pancakes were the perfect. We would love to stay here again, and hopefully we will. I thought Newport was great before our stay, but this experience made it perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for you birthday and valentine's day get away. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and love that you still have great memories a couple month's later. The Massage Place does an excellent massage . . . hmmm, reminding me I am overdue for one.

We hope that you will find your way back to Newport soon - surprise or not.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
639
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Looking for that unusual, romantic hideaway to celebrate your "special occasion" where the owners and their friendly staff welcome you with a warm smile, bottled water/wine + additional surprises, book at Cliffside Inn. Walking through the door, we were greeted like royalty by Tamara, Manager of Cliffside Inn and shown to our room. Harried and frazzled from our travel from the West Coast and disappointment from our attempts to book reservations at other B&B's, we were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful decor and ambiance that both Bill & Nancy, owners had created at Cliffside Inn. Located one block from the ocean with terrific views from all windows, one can easily transition into the timeless wonder of nature. Meeting guests at the Wine/Cheese hour every day at 5:00pm became a highlight each night. Wonderful surprises await as Terrance, master chef ,delights your senses with his varied creations each evening. Great way to mingle before heading out for that special dinner at one of the great restaurants in Newport. Return to your "romantic hideaway" with turndown service, fresh cookies/wine, fire in fireplace, and aromatic relaxing bath in the whirlpool tub....well done....what an anniversary celebration will be the attitude you will be left with as you leave the Cliffside Inn. Thank you Tamara, Terrance, Jackie (wonderful breakfast) and Bill & Nancy! We will see you again.......M & D Davey

Room Tip: Cottages not only have spectacular view of the ocean but they cater to pets.... Oh, they are very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for that glowing review and we look forward to having you back here soon - have you decided who's birthday you'll be back for, June or December? It was so very kind of you to give individual notes to all of the staff. It really meant a lot to them and to us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax after the harried trip.

Best,
Nancy and Bill (and the staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I cant imagine a better place to stay in Newport. From the time we arrived to the time we (regretfully) departed, we were positively stunned by the friendliness and great service at the Cliff-side. I recommend the "Sun Room" with its bay window views of Easton Bay, relaxing steam shower, and cozy fireplace. It was our first anniversary, and the rose petals on the bed were a nice touch! They even made all our dinner reservations and made lots of helpful recommendations. The breakfast was a treat, as well. We cant wait to return.

Room Tip: We recommend the Sun Room, but haven't tried any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are so glad you chose the Cliffside Inn for your first anniversary celebration! It was wonderful to have you here. All of the guests really enjoyed talking with you and we did as well. I agree, the Sun room is quite special and I just love that steam shower.

The flowers have finally started peeking through in Newport and I think the winter is finally over. Hope all is well in South Carolina.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the Cliffside with Nancy and Bill for just one night. I wish it had been a week.

We stayed in the Grosvenor Room.
It's a beautiful, big room with a King bed and a bathroom I could live in. It has double sink, a double tub and a separate shower with a rain head.

I believe it was all new in 2010. Whenever it was, it's gorgeous!

They also have French press coffee that just made my husband's day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Kim,

You are right! We bought the inn in 2010 and did a full restoration and remodel. We are glad you included us on your tour of New England inns. It was great getting to meet you both and hearing all about your experiences in general and on this trip. Seven kids - that's a handful.

We'll definitely look you up when we are in New Hampshire next.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The accolades earned by this inn are well deserved, and I want to add my own. My wife and I were looking for a romantic weekend retreat from our two boys – our first real getaway in 4 years, so we decided on Newport and Cliffside Inn. Excellent choices on both accounts! The reviews we read about the property made the choice easy, and they were spot on. What really impressed us was the care and attention shown by every staff member we encountered. It was clear that that everyone wanted to make sure that we were enjoying our stay at the inn, and our visit to Newport. You could also tell that the owners (Bill and Nancy) and Tamara and Debbie were really "tuned in" to their guests. We noticed that as they talked with guests, they seemed to offer up different suggestions about things to do in Newport for different people. We talked at breakfast, and compared notes, with the others at our table about their knack for listening and then making suggestions. We stayed in the Loft, a delightful room on the 3rd floor with wood beamed ceilings, a super-comfortable bed, skylights from which we could see the stars at night, and a gorgeous spa bathroom with a large whirlpool bath. The breakfasts were sumptuous and the wine tasting in the evening was a nice way to end the day’s activities in Newport before going out to dinner. Don’t miss out – this is a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Loved the Loft and its beautiful spa bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are so glad that you chose the Cliffside Inn for your getaway. You kids sound great, but it was clear you needed some time alone and we are so happy that you had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. Obviously, we can't always get it right but we are really glad that you noticed the efforts we take to make each guests the best it can be.

Next time you need a break, we will find you more exciting things to do in Newport.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed in the tower suite for 2 nights after our wedding and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The 2 floor suite was immaculate and the jet tub was a perfect way to relax after our amazing wedding the night before. As this was our first trip to Newport we spent the day exploring and looked forward to coming back to the turndown service that included homemade cookies. The breakfast was fresh, made to order and absolutely delicious. We will be returning to Newport to finish our Mansion tour and plan to stay at The Cliffside inn again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Congratulations again! What an exciting time in both of your lives. It sounds like it was a great wedding and you both seem so happy.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014


This was our 5th visit to Newport, but our first stay at the Cliffside Inn. Friends of ours had raved about their visit, so we decided to break our tradition with another property in town and give Cliffside a try. We love the location, and I think we have found our new home in Newport! When you stay at a 5 star B&B you expect excellence, and Cliffside certainly had everything, and more, than we expected. There was something else about our stay here that just made it feel special. It is hard to put your finger on it – it’s just a feeling you get when everything has been so well thought out, and there are pleasant surprises at every turn, and it all feels very natural. We stayed in the Carriage House, a detached building with a private entrance. After getting a tour of the inn and a description of the day’s activities, we were escorted to our room. We just smiled to each other as we walked in; the four poster bed (very comfortable sleep), the fireplace, the classical music playing, the sliding barn door to the enormous bathroom, the cathedral ceiling and an antique ceiling fan, soothing colors, comfortable furnishings, the bay window looking to the ocean by day and the fire pit by night – nicely done! I don’t want to make this sound like an Academy Awards speech, but thanks to everyone who made this our best stay in Newport -Tamara, Nancy, Jackie, Debby, Bill (the owner), “T” and Nichole. We have already booked our next visit this fall.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Well, we can't wait for the Duke and the Dutchess to return. It was so wonderful having you here. Your love for each other made the whole staff smile. It is just a fabulous feeling to know we made you stay so great.

Looking forward to having you back with us this summer - it will be Cliffside Inn, the Sequel!

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.