We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat in Newport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates Start @ $140
Ranked #1 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A special treat in Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Cliffside Inn exceeded our expectations in every way. The gracious hospitality of owners Nancy and Bill is matched by all of the Cliffside staff. Every effort was made to assure our comfort and enjoyment. The Inn is impeccably clean and has a harmonious decor that is in keeping with the history of the house. And there is history... DO take the time to read the book on the lovely, talented and eccentric former owner, Beatrice. Several of her paintings still adorn the walls at Cliffside. We enjoyed the sumptuous, carefully prepared breakfasts, the lovely 'wine and snacks' in the evening, and the delicious cookies delivered bedside each night. The Inn is 2 minutes away from the Cliff walk so you can work off the excellent food and enjoy a spectacular view. Nancy and Bill were quick to give helpful suggestions on restaurants and things to do, but were never intrusive. Our stay could not have been better, and we will definitely come again. This is a very special place - look no further!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
It was wonderful to have you both here and thank you so much for your kind words. Also, thank you for some of the tips you gave us while you were here. It was great to watch you interact with the other guests and make some New York connections.

We hope you will be back to visit us again soon. We promise not to quiz you on the Beatrice Book.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
594
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Cliffside and Newport exceeded our expectations. Lovely and spacious room (Cliffside Suite), generous and delicious breakfast, wine and hors d'oeuvres early evening, and scrumptious cookies delivered to our room for us to enjoy. The Cliffside also has a fantastic location and beautiful views of the ocean.

Nancy and Bill (owners) and all the staff were lovely, warm and welcoming. Really, one of the better B and B experiences we've ever had, and we have had many!

If you're going to visit Newport, stay at the Cliffside!

John and Ira

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
John and Ira,

It really was such a pleasure having the too of you here. You earned the elusive hug from Debbie! We are so happy that we were able to give you a relaxing and enjoyable stay despite the chilly and rainy weather. Of course, I'm bias and think Newport is great always.

We really appreciate you writing such a great review and look forward to having you back for a stay in the Garden Suite!

Warmly,
Nancy, Bill & the whole staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My Fiancee and I wanted a quick getaway weekend that was by the water. We searched between Hotels and Bed and Breakfast (we both wanted different things). Cliffside Inn was the perfect happy medium for us. We found a room that had a fireplace (what he wanted) and a whirlpool tub (what I wanted). The room was perfect-it had ample space, a great comfortable king size bed. Had plenty of natural light. The bathroom was amazing-probably the best feature! The staff at the Cliffside Inn was amazing...Thank you Debbie and Tamara for everything! We had lemon ricotta pancakes the first morning and a smoked salmon & havarti omelette the next. The wine reception was excellent and it gave us a great chance to mingle with the other guests. I definitely recommend Cliffside Inn to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway weekend or longer. We didn't want to leave but unfortunately had to return to the "real world". 20 thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Yashira,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the Grosvenor Suite. I'm sorry that Bill and I couldn't be here for your visit but I'm glad that Tamara and Debbie did such a great job (as always). Bill actually grew up in Scarsdale and Chappaqua. We'll have to save that discussion for the next time you visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was our first trip to Newport. I picked the Inn from viewing it online. It turned out to be the best B&B ever! Everyone there was as nice as could be. Our room was spotless and warm and inviting. The food was outstanding. They even gave me recipes to take home. We walked the Cliffwalk, which is close by. The afternoon get together for wine was so nice. We met a lot of people staying there and everyone seemed to be in agreement that Cliffside Inn is a great place to stay. I hope that we will go back there again.

Room Tip: Each room is unique so it depends on what you're looking for. They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Kathy,

I am so glad that you had a wonderful time at the inn and in Newport. I apologize for not being here during your stay but I needed to be in NJ for a family event. My brother and his family live in Little Silver. So, I was near your home when you were at my home! I'm sure the staff took great care of you our absence.

I do hope you get a chance to come up to Newport again. I'd love to meet you.

Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a mini-vacation here. It was our first time in Newport and our first bed-and-breakfast inn experience. We had a great time. The room we had originally booked (the Garden Room) was suddenly unavailable due to a maintenance issue so we chose the Tower Room instead. Even though it wasn't the room we originally wanted, we were still blown away -- beautiful, clean suite, with a gas fireplace, music to set the mood, a nice view of the water, spotless bathroom with a large whirlpool tub and shower. We loved that it had it's own entrance and parking spot. The innkeepers, Nancy and Bill (and their cute dog Cody), were so friendly and welcoming. They did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. There were so many nice little personal touches -- like a small plate of cookies with turn-down service, and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the evening. We missed breakfast on our last day there, but Nancy was kind of enough to send us home with some muffins. And on the night we missed wine and hors d'oeuvres, we found a cheese tray and a bottle of wine in our room after we got back from dinner. It really was as romantic and as cozy as we had expected it to be! Location is great. Right along the Cliff Walk and close to all sorts of charming restaurants, cafes and shops. Be sure to check out the mansion tours too. We're recommending Cliffside Inn to family and friends, and we are looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you liked the Tower Suite. The burst pipe in Garden was obviously not something any of us wanted, but they are sheet rocking today and it should be back in service soon. Thank you for your understanding. We are really happy that you enjoyed the room and were able to relax and enjoy yourselves. The rainy weather made for a romantic time curled up by the fire, but I'm glad you had one nice sunny day.

We do hope you'll visit us soon.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

There's not much I can add to all of the wonderful reviews for the Cliffside Inn...it's all been said already! The inn is beautiful and spotless, the staff is lovely, and the breakfasts and 5 o'clock hors d'oeuvres are delicious. We stayed in the Atlantic Suite in the cottage, which is large, cozy and very private. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else the next time we come to Newport!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Atlantic Suite. We know you were looking forward to staying in the Garden Suite, but you can save that for next time.

We appreciate all of your wonderful comments. Hope your trip back went well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

When a room (our favorite room here) unexpectedly became available for New Year's Eve, we booked it immediately. Cliffside is just wonderful. It's right on the famous Cliff Walk, and obviously we've been there before...and will be again. Newport is a great place to visit any time of the year. Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers, and their staff, could not be more gracious. The place is spotless, very comfortable, and their breakfasts and other treats during the day are fit for royalty. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
You two are the best. Always a pleasure having you here and we were thrilled that you saw the room open up on FB. I hope you enjoy the candles you bought and that you think of us when you use them. We received the holiday card - you two look great in front of the inn.

Until next time. . . all the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.