We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for special event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates Start @ $140
Ranked #1 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Ellicott City,USA/Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Special place for special event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent part of our first anniversary celebration at the Inn about a year ago (2nd time around for both of us). It's a gorgeous house of the owners are fabulous, friend hosts. The view and cliff walk were great. We had a very small room with the rainfall shower. Bed was comfortable, but the room really was a bit too small. We arrived to find our rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed--very nice touch! Breakfast was one of the best we've ever had at a B&B--plenty, variety and delicious. The Inn is extremely expensive (we paid about $400 for the tiny room) but if you're able to splurge it's an excellent pic. Close enough to town that we walked everytime.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Connie and Andrew,

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your first wedding anniversary. We enjoyed having you both here for three day to celebrate. The Swann Room is the smallest room at the inn, but it is really charming and quite the quintessential inn room. I'm glad that you enjoyed Newport as well. It really is a wonderful walking town with little gems tucked into unusual places.

We hope your travels bring you back up to Newport again soon. We'd love to show you some of the other rooms at the inn.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
594
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Cliffside Inn is extremely warm and comforting and the owners (Nancy & Bill) and staff (Debbie, Tamara, and Ada) are some of the nicest, most accommodating people you will ever meet. We stayed at the Cliffside Inn for two nights and wished we could have stayed a lot longer. The Inn is beautifully furnished and the rooms are very warm and comfortable. Cliffside is located only a block from the Cliff Walk and within walking distance of the mansions and restaurants. The breakfasts are excellent and the cocktail hour was a great way to meet other guests. If you are planning to visit Newport, I highly recommend the Cliffside Inn.

John G.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
John,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really enjoyed having you here and are thrilled that you had a great time too. We agree with you about the staff - we are some of the luckiest owners around.

Looking forward to a future visit.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The main house is period perfect, the owners, Nancy and Bill are very engaged and friendly, the new manager, Tamera, is all about customer service with a smile and a story; great location just off of the Cliff Walk and a long walk or a short drive to the mansions. We stayed in the Cliff Suite with a warm bedroom, living room, library with gas fireplace and top of the line bathroom. Just do it.
505

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Press 505 for more information about how much the Cliffside Inn loves their guests. It was wonderful to have you here and we really appreciate the wonderful review. I'm writing my scripts for the house tour so you might just have that headset next time you are here:). Or maybe I will be the docent.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here not only for our 1 year wedding anniversary, but for our honeymoon last October too. We decided to go back because we enjoyed our first stay so much. I honestly don't know how to describe the Cliffside. Put it this way, you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was wonderful to have the two of you back with us for your anniversary. I hope when we see you next year, you'll be able to tell us all about your new home. Good luck with the search.

Give your parents our best. We'd love to have the four of you here at some point.

Fondly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just spent two days at this very special inn. The gourmet breakfast and the afternoon hors d'oeuvres were really special. Bill and Nancy (the Innkeepers) and all of their staff couldn't do enough for us. We had a beautiful room, newly re-furnished, which had a steam room. We would unhesitatingly recommend the Cliffside Inn. The only downside being that we couldn't pick it up and take it around for the rest of our trip around New England.

Room Tip: We loved the Sun Room. It had a steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was so great to have you here. I hope Paul had a wonderful rest of his birthday trip. I hope now that you are back in the UK you've been able to straighten PM Cameron's cat issues. You are the cat woman after all.

Hope to see you back in the US soon for that 12th Select Registry night.

Best,
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we started planning our New England road trip spanning over several days with various stops in different states, we thought one night in Newport would be enough time to see all the historic sites in and around the area. Wish we had spent another day in this beautiful town. The Cliffside Inn was the perfect B&B for its ideal location, overall charm, and warmth within. Our room (Beatrice) was most comfortable and overlooks the front garden. The afternoon hors d'oeuvres and the dining room breakfast was great. Inn-keepers Bill and Nancy were exceptional hosts. Looking forward to our return trip to the Cliffside Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so glad that the Cliffside Inn was one of the stops on your New England tour. It was great to have you here, even if for just one night.

Newport really does have a plethora of things to do and a marvelous rich history. We hope you'll be able to come back for a few days soon and get to enjoy more of what the town has to offer.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Once my fiancée (now husband) and I made the decision to have a small, intimate wedding ceremony, I set out to search for elopement packages. None of the options felt quite right until I queried Google for “Perfect Elopement” and found a 2011 TripAdvisor review from a couple who eloped to the Cliffside Inn. Their review was so glowing (as were many others) that we were very excited to contact the innkeepers to see if they still did weddings. Nancy and Bill wrote back quickly, saying that they don’t offer standard packages but rather help each couple to plan something to suit their tastes. Needless to say, their thinking is spot on, as I truly felt our wedding fit our personalities.

Bill and Nancy provided us with recommendations for officiants, photographers, florists, and restaurants. We decided to invite our parents and had them stay the night of our wedding, while we would stay for four nights. Bill and Nancy were very accommodating and thoughtful to us and our parents during the entire stay. My husband and I arrived on a Monday, the day before our wedding. We got to enjoy the town, the cliff walk, and the company of the other visitors at the wine and hors d'oeuvres hour. We stayed in the garden suite which overlooks the front yard and the cliff walk beyond. The room is 2 floors and has a private garden. The hot tub was very nice as well.

As for the ceremony, everything was amazing! We got married right in front of the inn on the lawn. We took pictures on the grass, porch, cliff walk, and inside the inn as well. Nancy and Bill also had suggested using a local bakery for the wedding cake. They ordered the cake for us, though I wasn’t exactly sure how it would be incorporated into the day. After pictures were taken Nancy led us into the library, where we were delighted to find cake and champagne waiting for us and our guests. It was also at this point that Tamara shared the wedding cup story with us – we don’t want to spoil the surprise for other couples, but it was a wonderful touch that made the day even better.

We left for dinner and returned to the inn around 8. Tamara offered us more of our wedding cake and even told us a story about Beatrice Turner, a former resident of the house. Tamara is a great storyteller! We ending the night stargazing and reminiscing with our parents out by the fire pit.

Breakfast was great at the Cliffside Inn. They have a special every day, as well as the option of ordering eggs any style. My favorite special was the cranberry pear pancakes and my husband’s was eggs Newport (eggs benedict served with crab cakes!). It was really nice the day our parents left because we all got to sit together inside at a round table during breakfast. All the other mornings the weather was so nice that we ate outside on the porch, which was so peaceful and beautiful. Wine and hors devours hour was wonderful as well. They carry superb wines and the hors d'oeuvres are spectacular.

We had mentioned to Bill that we wanted to see the Norman Bird Sanctuary and he told us to check out Hanging Rock and Sweet Berry Farm. He also suggested going to a corn maze. It said on the website that it was closed so he called up for us and found out that they were open for a school trip and got us admission! We had so much fun at the corn maze and everyone was congratulating us there. At the bird sanctuary we mentioned the Cliffside Inn and got in for free! All of Bill’s suggestions were appreciated and were very fun. He also made reservations for us at Tallulah on Thames the same day.

Bill and Nancy really set the tone for a warm and happy vacation. They pay attention to detail and make every effort to ensure that your stay will be special. You leave feeling as if they are old friends. Tamara is also very nice and helpful. The whole staff is wonderful. Last but not least is their cute, lovable sheltie named Koty. He is adorable and friendly. We also loved Tamara’s cat Roxy. I really can’t say enough great things about this Inn. Just go and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Jillian and Michael,

I'm not sure there is much more to say than thank you. As we mentioned when you were here - it is so great for us to be able to make these types of events special for people. It is even more so when we see how happy the two of you are and how well suited for each other. You are really a wonderful couple (with great parents) and we were honored to be part of your wedding celebration.

We look forward to your next visit. Winter in Newport is very cozy.

Thank you again for your kind remarks.
Best,
Nancy and Bill (and Koty and Roxy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.