We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates Start @ $140
Ranked #1 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic bed and breakfast. Extremely friendly staff. Alexa was particularly helpful. Great cottage, excellent breakfasts on both days, close to the Cliff Walk, Mansions, and downtown Newport. Highly recommend and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Cottage was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review the Cliffside Inn. Alexa is great and we just love her energy. We are so glad that your son picked the Cliffside Inn when decided where to send you. What a thoughtful way to thank you for helping with his wedding.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
594
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bixby, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Oh my goodness... Where to begin?!! This was our first experience with New England. We didn't know what to expect from the area, but were hopeful of experiencing the beauty of the season for our wedding. Cliffside Inn, it's owners, as well as it's employees were so gracious, so friendly, so personal in the most professional sense, that it absolutely made our 5 days there exquisite! Every attention to detail was obvious from the moment we arrived. The room was perfect in every way, and the food was absolutely divine! But the biggest impression for us was in the way we were treated. We felt like we were THE most important people in the world to them! I wish there was a higher rating than "Excellent", because that word just doesn't seem to do justice to our beautiful experience!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We can't tell you how honored we are to have been chosen for your wedding. Your photographer sent me some of the pictures and I smile every time I see the five of us (you two, Bill, me and Koty) up on the rocks at Ledge Road, just after the ceremony. What a great day. It is wonderful to see two people who have really found the right soul-mate.

We look forward to having you back for many anniversaries.

Fondly,
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This B&B has so much history, and is a beautiful place to stay. The breakfast are delicious, and the evening wine get togethers are a wonderful touch. Bill and Nancy are great hosts and look forward to making your stay in the Newport area the best it can be. We stayed in Beatrice's room which was beautiful. The attention to all the little details are everywhere making this a luxury B&B. It is right off of the famous Cliff Walk making it a great location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It was our pleasure to have the two of you stay with us. All the way from Louisiana too! We had a wonderful time getting to know you both and look forward to a return visit the next time you are up in the Northeast. We are so glad you enjoyed the sailing - it is one of the things Newport is famous for.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Cliffside Inn was a wonderful romantic weekend getaway. There are many rooms to choose from, and we stayed in the loft, which was just beautiful and well appointed with a king size bed, a fireplace and a new bathroom that felt like a spa. The staff were just incredible, very helpful with suggestions, and always accommodating. The breakfasts were excellent, we always had the chef's special every day and were never disappointed (she is an amazing cook). My husband and I had such a great time, and we'd only go back to the Cliffside Inn when in Newport. Its also well located to the Cliff Walk and the mansions. We only used our car once and that was to see the Cliff drive. We highly, highly recommend the Cliffside Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are thrilled you had an "Ahhh-mazing" time at the Cliffside - I love that title. Thank you for your review of the inn and the Loft. That is a very unique room with the skylights and the wood paneled ceiling. We are glad you were able to enjoy some of the wines from our wine cellar too. We are big fans of the Cote du Rhone.

We do hope you'll make it back to the Cliffside sometime soon.

Happy Autumn,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

September and the Cliffside Inn Newport are a great combination. Just spent 3 nights in there St. George suite ., Very,very nice ! Bill ,Nancy and all the staff where great host and there recommendations for a Pub (Yesterdays) and restaurant (Mama Luisa) made the visit even better . The breakfast at the inn was first class and rivals any gourmet restaurant . My wife and I were given a tour of the other suites and you could not t go wrong choosing any one of them . All are unique and gorgeous. Front of the Mansion has a nice parcel view of the ocean and only 1 block to cliff walk which I highly recommend. Only 1 mile walk to down town ,just a great location!

Room Tip: Stay in the main Mansion unless you have a small pet then the cottage is required .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We had a wonderful time hosting you and Cathy at the Cliffside Inn. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our "Fall into Newport" special and have a great three day stay with us. It was wonderful to watch you make friends with the other guests and enjoy Newport. It really is such a special place in the fall.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best,
Nancy, Bill and Koty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When visiting Newport for business I usually stay at a hotel such as the Marriott but this time I chose Cliffside Inn. The experience was first class, great attention to detail and no feeling of being rushed. The breakfast was exceptional and the room, The Cottage, was as nice with as many modern appointments as I have ever experienced. I recommend Cliffside to the casual traveler, romantic getaway couple or business person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Lee,

We were so happy to have you back with us. We've had a number of business travelers stay at the Cliffside and it's always great. After a long day, coming back to a friendly place with a wine reception and other friendly guests is so much better than heading to a "box" room by oneself.

By the way, we love your product too!

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

just returned home from spending (2) nights at he Cliffside Inn celebrating my wife's 50th. We travel a lot and I have to say that this was one of the most enjoyable experiences we've ever had. Everyone one at the Inn was extremely nice & professional (Tamari!). we stayed in the Garden suite, and it was wonderful. We drank champagne on our personal patio that had a beautiful lighted waterfall. Coming from a self proclaimed 'Foodie', i can tell you that the (2) breakfast's we ate were fantastic. i would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for that special get away!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was so much fun to be a part of the birthday surprise! I wasn't sure after giving her the new car you would be able to pull off the other surprises - but sure enough you did. It was great to see both of you so happy and enjoying the romance package and the couple's massage. What a wonderful relaxing way to spend a birthday. I'm suddenly looking forward to my 50th!

We hope that you will be back with us for many more special occasions.

Warmly,

Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.