We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Black Ships Festival
Ranked #1 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Vernon NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best B&B Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted warmly. EVERYONE we met at Cliffside was so friendly and helpful. Nancy and Bill were the perfect host and hostess. You can tell they really love what they were doing. Our room- Garden View was just wonderful- heated floors!! in the downstairs bathroom area with heated towel racks and a delightful spa tub. We look forward to returning again and trying all the rooms!! We can't forget Cody, their very friendly dog.
Newport is a very fun place- lots to do and many wonderful restaurants.
You won't be sorry; you'll only be sorry you can't stay forever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I can't help but agree with your review title! But seriously, we really appreciate your great review and your kind words. I really love the heated floors in the Garden Suite too. The patio off the lower level is really great in the nice weather. There are even more things to do in Newport in the Spring and Summer so I hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    609
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
521
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My sister and I recently celebrated her 60th birthday at the Cliffside Inn. Bill, Nancy and the kitchen staff made us feel right at home the minute we arrived. Soon after checking in, we found ourselves sipping tea, in a cosy room, next to a roaring fire. Served with the tea were delicious sandwiches and cookies. It hit the spot on a rainy and cold January day. The rooms at Cliffside are gorgeous. We loved the old world charm with modern amenities. We could have stayed forever, but unfortunately we had to return to New York the next day. We definitely are recommending this Inn to our friends and we hope to return soon ourselves. My sister said she could not have spent her birthday in a more lovely place than Cliffside. Thank you, Bill and Nancy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and your sister for her 60th (I can only hope I look that good when I get there). I wish your dad could have been here for his 80th too and I hope they are feeling better. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Cliffside Inn in the Garden Suite on January 20th 2013 for a quick relaxing getaway. The room was very spacious, separated into two floors that are joined by a spiral staircase, each with a fireplace; the top floor being the bedroom area and the lower floor being the relaxing room with a reading nook and an over-sized whirlpool tub. The weather was nice enough on the first day that we took a leisurely stroll along the cliff walk, which is a short walk away from the inn.
After the walk, we returned to the inn in time for an afternoon wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres, which was very enjoyable. We got to visit with Alexa from the inn, who was very entertaining and funny.
Afterwards we retired to our room, drew a warm bath, and relaxed in the whirlpool for hours, then climbed into an extremely comfortable bed for a great night's sleep. In the morning we went to breakfast and were presented with our choice of entrees, to which we chose the special of the day: gingerbread Belgium waffles.
I can't wait to return to the Cliffside, as this will be a reoccurring adventure for years to come. After 13 visits we will be able to stay in each room of the main house, and then hopefully we can repeat the process again. Visit #1 complete.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We look forward to the next 12 visits and thensome! I wish we had been here during your stay, but am glad to know that Alexa took good care of you. Jackie works magic in the kitchen so you never know what gem you'll get at the afternoon reception or for breakfast! We do hope you will be back soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked the Cliffside Inn, following recommendations from other travellers on Tripadvisor. This B&B did not disappoint, so it was a shame we were only staying for one night as part of our tour of New England.

We choose the Loft Room, which was light and airy but also cosy with a great shower and jacuzzi bath complete with towels shaped as swans! The whole B&B was immaculately clean.

It was the small touches that made Cliffside Inn stand out. There was Afternoon Tea offered for all guests each afternoon with scrumptious homemade savouries, cakes and cookies. This was a lovely opportunity to meet other guests staying at Cliffside. Breakfast was also very good and a real social event.

The B&B is ideally located if you want to walk along Cliff Walk as Cliffside it's just a 'stones throw' from the sea and the start of the walk.

Would I recommend Cliffside Inn, like so many others have - absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. You were able to sum up our mission in one sentence - "It was the small touches that made Cliffside Inn stand out." That is what we strive for and we are so happy you enjoyed your time at the inn. We hope you will return for a visit soon.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Cliffside Inn to celebrate our anniversary, and really enjoyed our stay! Bill and Nancy were very nice, as was everyone there, and the Garden Suite that we stayed in was beautiful. A nice added touch was Bill, without being asked, making a reservation for us at a restaurant in Newport that I mentioned to him on the phone 3 months earlier when I booked the room with them. Wonderful place, great innkeepers, 2 big thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and for your wonderful review. The Garden Suite is such a romantic room and we are glad that we could help make your anniversary special.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Cliffside Inn's Loft for one night early this January and we already can't wait to go back. The Inn was beautifully decorated for the holiday season and it was lovely sharing afternoon tea with the other guests by the Christmas tree and fireside. The tea service was excellent and featured a variety of hors d'oeuvres, from scones with orange butter to cucumber tea sandwiches to deviled eggs. At night, our beds were turned down and strewn with rose petals for our two year anniversary. Breakfast was also wonderful with pear muffins, egg and cheese frittata and bacon. Bill and Nancy were warm hosts and I very much enjoyed learning about Beatrice Turner and the history of the building from Bill. The entire staff was outstanding and I cannot say enough about the Cliffside-- it was truly a magical experience.

Room Tip: We loved the Loft's skylights and gorgeous bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It was so great having you here for a post New Year's get away. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Inn, the food and the fireplace. We hope that next time you are on the east coast we will see you again.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The highest compliment I can give the Cliffside is to say that innkeepers Nancy and Bill must be discriminating travelers themselves. They're so attuned to the details that go into creating a memorable experience that they've made every necessity a comfort, every comfort a luxury, and every encounter an absolute pleasure. Their standards are the very highest, from Terrence's award-winning nightly cookies to the beautiful, though not fussy, Victorian decor, to the smartly designed bathrooms (which fit seamlessly into the historic house), to their expert knowledge of the area. Bill even made sure to brush snow from the windows of our car the day we were leaving! Kindness, comfort, forethought--and Koty, the happy, welcoming Sheltie--sum up our delightful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Manager at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We all enjoyed having you both here. Bill and Nancy are discriminating travelers and do try to make the inn as they would enjoy it, as a guest. Now.... the mail man...well, he might not find Koty as "welcoming" as you describe but I am so glad you did! I hope you can visit again, we are not that far away.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list