We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Inn for your stay in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newport Flower Show
Ranked #1 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Rome, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional Inn for your stay in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

From the moment you walk up the porch stairs and first open the door, you can feel the warmth and hospitality of this wonderful inn. You are warmly greeted, your bags bustled away to your room while you complete your check-in and chat with the hosts and/or staff about your stay. We stayed in The Loft room and it was amazing. Tucked away on the top floor all by itself - away from the other rooms - it has skylights above the bed and the two-person tub. The walk-in shower with the huge shower head was incredible. Any everything was spotless, fresh and neat. There's a gas fireplace that warmed the room nicely. The king-size bed was very comfortable. We are already planning our trip back to try one of the other rooms!

Room Tip: The Loft is an amazing space - small and cozy with a great bathroom and skylights everywhere! No vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. Also, thank you for recommending your client to us. They came this week and were delightful. We are so glad you enjoyed the Loft. It really is very cozy yet spacious.

Wishing you a happy holiday and hopefully we will see you soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
477
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had our second visit to the Cliffside Inn since Nancy and Bill took over. It's no surprise that it's our second visit in a year because in every respect it's a lovely place to stay. The house itself; decor; welcome; food; location;all just superlative.
A lovely base in which to explore a lovely town, Newport.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It was our pleasure to have the two of you back with us. We are so happy that you love the house as much as we do. We are looking forward to many future visits.

Merry Christmas!
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a quick vacation over the Thanksgiving Holiday. While we haven't had the best experiences with B&B's in the past, all of the positive feedback about the Cliffside Inn convinced us to give it a try. We couldn't be more pleased that we did as the comments provided here only provide a glimpse of how special this B&B is.

The Inn was beautiful and Bill and Nancy were fantastic. The food was fabulous (from the special breakfasts, to the wonderful Thanksgiving dinner that was served) as was the atmosphere. Bill and Nancy went out of their way to make all of the guests feel like an extension of their family, which made the entire stay over the Holiday even more special.

We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay an additional day and will definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Cliffside Inn. That Thanksgiving dinner really was something special. It was great to see all the guests getting to know each other and giving thanks together. It is definitely a holiday tradition that we hope to maintain. We really enjoyed your time here and are glad you were able to add on the extra day for additional relaxation.

Hope you have a happy holiday and that we see you again soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our first romantic night away without the kids was a treat in itself, but our "treat" multiplied as we arrived at the Cliffside Inn. We were cheerful greeted and led inside as soon as we turned into their parking area. We saw nothing but smiles and were surrounded by such warm, friendly, non-stuffy staff (I just always had an opinion in my head that B&B's would be somewhat "snooty." This was NOT the case). Bill and Nancy went above and beyond making us feel comfortable and so very welcome. And Koty, the absolutely adorable dog, was just the cutest, friendliest dog who loved to have his tushy scratched. We enjoyed the evening social gathering with wonderful hor'dourves and wine. And breakfast was abundant, excellent, and comfortable. I was worried that the Cliff Walk would be off limits from Storm Sandy, however, we got to walk as much of it as we wanted and it was a breathtaking as I remember it from my childhood. At night we enjoyed sitting around the firepit, just something special about a cool fall night and a roaring fire. And our room...the Garden Suite was pure luxury. It is depicted perfectly on the inn's wonderful website. Nothing like falling asleep with a roaring fire next to you (on a timer) after soaking in a HUGE warm jacuzzi tub. I haven't been this relaxed in....in a LONG LONG time! Kudos to Nancy, Bill and the rest of the wonderful staff at the Cliffside Inn for making our stay heavenly. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite has an outdoor entrance which we liked. Plus it had an outside patio which believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
What a pleasure it was to host you for both your first B&B experience and your first getaway from the kids. We could see the relaxation began from the moment you arrived. Thank you so much for the detailed and thoughtful review. Koty thanks you too! You definitely had his number. I hope that you will have more getaways in the future and that we will be seeing you again here soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn the day of Thanksgiving eve. We were greeted by Nancy, she is very welcoming. Codie the dog is a charm and a very nice touch. You need to visit the Inn and read the history which I found to be very interesting. Both Bill and Nancy have performed a tremendous amount of work on this very old and history filled Inn and it shows in every detail.
We stayed in the original owners bedroom that now houses a shower with a spa steam that was the highlight of the stay. The food was great, Bill did a great job. You can walk to the cliff walk and take a stroll or go into Newport and shop. Breakfast was great and we met two nice couples that were very interesting. If you are looking for a Inn that is special this would be on my list. My wife and I will be back to visit even though we live in Rhode Island. Oh, and don't forget the Mansions.

Room Tip: Always take the Inn Keepers recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Koty just loves to be mentioned in reviews! He's getting quite spoiled by his popularity. But seriously, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Sun room. That steam shower is particularly nice now that it is getting colder. We do hope you will be back soon and that next year we can have you at Thanksgiving dinner rather than Thanksgiving eve.

Happy holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am not sure what I can add to the chorus of well deserved praises for Cliffside Inn. Bill and Nancy are fabulous innkeepers and the place is perfect in every detail. They have obviously invested a lot of time, talent and treasure in this place and have created something very special. I look forward to visiting again and I highly recommend it anyone looking for the best accommodations Newport has to offer.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was charming, private and utterly immaculate. Just a few steps from the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We were really thrilled to have your whole group with us. While all the rooms are great, the Carriage House is becoming one of the most sought after rooms on the property. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

Hopefully, we will be seeing you back in Newport soon. You all need to try Salvation Cafe on the next trip.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th anniversary with a getaway to the Cliffside Inn. I chose it based on the recommendations of my fellow TripAdvisor devotees and I have to add my huzzahs to the chorus of cheers: Great setting - only a few steps from the Cliff Walk. Beautiful furnishings and fascinating historical charm. Spotless. Luxurious amenities. Outstanding personal service - our anniversary was marked with a bottle of prosecco in our room. Delicious breakfasts. A welcoming wine and appetizer hour when we arrived (the food was so good, we skipped dinner) and a yummy tea and sweets hour the next day. Bill and Nancy, the owners, felt like old friends right from the start. And every staff person was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the cozy Loft Room - beamed ceilings with wonderful skylights, an antique king bed, spa bathroom, gas fireplace, just a lovely setting. I'm not going to wait until another anniversary to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank so much for your great review and for choosing the Cliffside Inn to spend your 20th! It was a pleasure for us to have you here and to see you both relax and enjoy yourselves.

I am glad that it won't be another year until we see you again.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport
Cliffside Hotel
Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list