We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is probably not in my best interest, but I'll say it this one time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is probably not in my best interest, but I'll say it this one time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful Hosts - immaculate, well appointed rooms - perfect temperature control - quiet and comfortable - super breakfast - great afternoon reception.

We have stayed here three times this year!

(Now that I have said it, I will probably have a harder time trying to get reservations next year)

Room Tip: They all have their charms, The descriptions on their web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
You made us smile as we read your very thoughtful comments about the inn. I can assure you that when the two of you are ready for your next visit to Newport, we will find a way to get you into "your" room. We really appreciate your support and the time that you have spent here at Cliffside. I will also note that your review of the inn has caught the attention of many on Trip Advisor...several hundred in fact, so you are a well read reviewer. Our best to you both.

Bill and nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
638
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife took me on a Mystery Weekend and much to my surprise and delight we ended up at the Cliffside Inn. Everything was perfect. The owners, Bill and Nancy (and Cody), were warm and welcoming. The cottage room was quiet and bright and the breakfasts, tea, and wine hours were wonderful. Newport was a fun destination and Cliffside in is the perfect base to explore from with the Cliff Walk just steps from the door. We're trying to figure out how to get adopted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I'm telling you . . . part-time innkeeper and yoga instructor. It's a winning combo! We really enjoy spending time with you both during your visit. This is such a great place to unwind, relax and rejuvenate. I hope you were able to complete some of the planning you were working on. I'm looking forward to finding out what you decide.

Thanks also for sending the generator information. We are a few steps closer to having one!

Looking forward to the next visit.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Charming stay in this Beautiful cliff side setting...Took a scenic walk along the cliffs, just minutes from the Inn...Beautifully landscaped with a great fire pit to enjoy a superb bottle of wine...Room was extremely comfortable... Sizable tub with whirlpool & a wonderful, delicious breakfast...Best of all was the courteous and efficient staff, especially Inn Keepers Bill & Nancy...Answered all our questions and recommended great restaurants and scenic tours of this lovely area...All in all, this was a great visit...

Room Tip: Room off porch has a spiral staircase down to the bathroom and sitting room, ideally used to cuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you Bob for your visit to Cliffside, and for taking the time to share your impressions with others. We are glad you enjoyed the Garden Suite...the privacy is great and it is very romantic with the spiral staircase to the cozy library niche, the bathing salon and the private garden patio. Nancy and I enjoyed seeing you enjoy Newport and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay! My husband and I had the opportunity to get away for a night and chose the Cliffside Inn-SO glad we did! It was only one night but we are eager to return as soon as possible. My favorite thing about this place other than the lovely owners and location is how CLEAN it is! I have never stayed somewhere that I felt was as clean as my own home..for me that is a really important! Our room was the Swann Room which was adorable. It was smaller, but so cozy, spotless, updated, and charming! We were able to walk right down the road to the cliff walk and were close enough to town to enjoy that as well. Breakfast was really delicious and we loved sitting outside on the wrap-around porch on that beautiful morning enjoying it. Anyone who stays here will not be disappointed! Thank you to the owners Bill & Nancy for making the Cliffside such an amazing place to stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for coming to the Cliffside for your anniversary, even if only for one night. I do like the coziness of the Swann room. Although small, it has great light and such a traditional Inn feel to it, especially with the character that the mansart roof adds. We do hope you will find time to come have a longer visit with us.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Better than any Inn or hotel. Walls are filled with art, rooms authenic period furnishings, the finest linens and bath appointments -- doors open for warm, hospitable welcome. When I was there, the owners were away and left operations in the hands of an extremely capable staff headed by the vivacious, knowledgeable, professional Alexa. The food and service was impeccable . . . and made-to-order, served to your table inside or on breezy porch overlooking the water. Down to the water glasses in the bathroom, every thing was shined (no waterstains, no finger prints). So relaxing. Ample, on-site parking. Beautiful grounds, abundant flowers (from which cuttings are taken for inside arrangements), firepit, easy access to cliffside walk and pleasurable stroll to town. My five-star recommendation with no disclaimer!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent. Different rooms have varying amenities which you might like to enjoy during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
What a great review and we are so happy that we have Alexa so that we can get away for a short break now and then, but we are sorry that we missed meeting you and hope you will be back soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new canaan, ct
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There is nothing more meaningful (to us) than owners who care very much about your vacation experience, and make every effort to ensure it is the best it can be. We arrived in Newport after a grueling drive from home, twice as long as it should have been due to inclement weather. Although the severe storms abated, nature did little to improve conditions. From the moment we called the Inn to report our delay to Alexa at the front desk, the help and warm feelings began. The hosts - all of them - made sure we could enjoy our weekend. Whether it was arranging for transportation to a restaurant or spending a half hour going over options for seeing Newport, they delivered. There's no question in our minds that they made a weekend potentially rendered ho-hum by the weather into something quite memorable.

The room was very quiet and comfortable, and well airconditioned (put to the test by the high humidity during the stay). It is a two minute walk to the stunning Cliffwalk along the shore. It is also near many of the beautiful mansions for which Newport is known (open for tours). The beach is perhaps a 10 min walk. The walk to where one finds restaurants is an easy mile, but a mile nonetheless (upside is the hotel is away from the ‘scene’ and is quiet). Taxis are available and inexpensive for those with weary legs (parking in the 'happening' part of Newport is not simple).

We will definitely come back. It was one of our top experiences at any inn or hotel of its kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for noticing how much we, and the entire staff, truly care about out guests experience both at the inn and in Newport. While there is not much we can do about the weather, we are so glad that you were comfortable while you were at the inn (both by the a/c and the staff). It was great getting to know you both and finding connections in New Canaan! We hope you will be back soon (and bring your train friends).

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you are going to Newport, Rhode Island and want to be perfectly located, pampered, well fed and treated like family (but really IMPORTANT family) go to the Cliffside Inn. This gem is located a block from the Cliff walk and is a short walk (well, about a mile) into town (so you can avoid the $20 parking in town). The Inn itself is stunning, the rooms are beautiful - with everything you could want considered and available - and the breakfasts are yummy and filling.The Inn Keepers, Nancy and Bill, are down to earth, and are well informed and interesting people. They seem to be always available, which is hard to imagine since the Inn obviously requires a lot of upkeep! How do they do it? We have stayed in a number of Inns, but this one is in our top 5. I can't imagine staying anywhere else next time we are in Newport!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room. It was gorgeous and the perfect size. The bedding was beautiful and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
So many great comments . . . "important family" "stunning" "top 5" . . . we are very flattered! We, too, love the Blue Room. I can't describe it but the room is just special, and we are pleased that you enjoyed it as much as we do. Since our stay at a B&B in Cape Town was one of the impetuses for this adventure, your comments are all the more meaningful. We do hope you will find you way back to Newport and the Cliffside Inn.

Many thanks,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.