We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffside Inn review by Paula and Jim B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliffside Inn to your Saves list
Cliffside Inn
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off your 2nd Night!
Ranked #1 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Cliffside Inn review by Paula and Jim B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The location was perfect right on the cliff walk,Bill and Nancy were the Best Inn keeps we have ever met Their warm friendly smiles all weekend made the place even better than advertised I will recommend the Cliffside Inn to any one going to Newport any time of the year I can't say enough good things about the Cliffside Inn and the inn keepers Bill and Nancy Thanks for a great week end
Paula and Jim

Room Tip: The loft was very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Paula and Jim,
It was great having you here. Thank you for your kind words. I do love that Loft room too. Glad you were able to get away and stay with us. Hopefully, next time you will be able to have a longer stay.

All the best,
Bill and Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
591
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a wonderful B&B to stay while in Newport and this place is a gem. The furnishings, decor, food, and cleanliness were all exceptional. We stayed in the Cliff Suite which had 2 wonderful fireplaces (one gas and one wood burning) and loved the cozy library room in our suite. Being so close to the Cliff Walk was also great. To our surprise we had a partial ocean view since the trees were bare. Bill & Nancy were gracious innkeepers and always enjoyable to talk with and ready to provide recommendations for sights and restaurants. Their attention to detail is pretty sharp too. They moved a Van Gogh painting (fake, of course) into our room based on a conversation we had when we booked our room months prior. Now that's impressive! We look forward to returning and you cannot go wrong with this place for a romantic B&B experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your review and so glad you liked the van "faux"! We are glad you enjoyed having it in your room. We enjoyed having you here to kick off the holiday season with us. It is actually warmer now than it was the first week of December! Looking forward to having you back with us soon.

Happy Holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Sorry for our late review ... we had a wonderful visit in mid September. We stayed in the Cliff Suite and just loved our experience. The rooms were spacious and lovely, and we enjoyed the breakfast and wine. We were celebrating a special birthday. Nancy and Bill even arranged fabulous weather (well, okay), but gave us great recommendations for dinner and a sailing trip. The location of the Inn near the Cliff Walk was also a treat, and it was a quick and easy drive to many of the places we wanted to visit. We are hoping we can plan a return visit (maybe even with some friends or family next time).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
We are so happy that you chose the Cliffside Inn to celebrate your birthday and that we could help make it special. That was a great weekend. There was a lot of activity at the fire pit too. We've put together a s'mores package that you'll have to try next time you are here.

Hope you have a great holiday and New Year.
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times over the years and have always loved it. When Bill and Nancy purchased it at the beginning of the year and did a significant renovation they made this the best place to stay in Newport. All of the rooms and suites are beautiful, the food terrific, but most important addition is the incredible friendliness and hospitality of the new owners. We will be returning often.

Room Tip: The larger suites are in the outer cottage, which adds a little more privavcy and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We are especially thrilled when we hear from former guests that they like what we've done. It was wonderful to have you here. I hope the trip to China went well. Happy Holidays.

Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to Newport, and could not have picked a better place to stay than here! We stayed in the Tower Suite, and it was amazing. Not only was the room gorgeous at first glance, but we kept finding wonderful little touches, both in the decor and for our comfort. Be sure to admire the bathroom door!

Everyone we met was wonderful, from Bill and Nancy themselves, to the lovely gentleman who brought us bedtime cookies.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Jenn - we are so glad you enjoyed the stay and the Tower Suite. Terrence, and the entire staff, really are gems and we're so happy you recognized that. Hopefully, next time you can have a longer stay.

Happy holidays,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in the Cliff and Seaview Suites in the cottage for three nights. The suites were absolutely lovely. Everything was perfect. Nancy and Bill were gracious hosts. We can't wait to go back. As the next lag of our trip, we stayed in a 5-star hotel that has paled in comparison on every level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Well, we hope next year you will be sharing the Thanksgiving meal with us! It was wonderful having you and the girls stay with us. They are both wonderful young women and hearing all of your stories was a delight. I hope that your Thanksgiving with your son went well and you had safe travels back to Louisiana.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

This B&B is everything it should be;immaculate, inviting, welcoming, comfortable, delightful. Best of luck bill and nancy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We are so glad that you and your daughter decided to stay with us. It was wonderful having you here even for a short visit. We do hope you will come back to visit when you can stay longer.

Best,
Nancy and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliffside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.