We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time bad experience but best views anywhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off the third night
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Wilton, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This time bad experience but best views anywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Newport is basically our second home. We have been to Castle Hill for drinks and dining many times but the last time, the snooty staff really bothered us. We bought drinks but were not allowed to sit at the bar because of some lame reason they gave us. So we stood for several minutes before sitting on the adirondeck chairs on the lawn and then going somewhere else for dinner. The views are the best anywhere. Just breathtaking and if money is absolutely no object, and you are not traveling with children, you may have a nice time but prepare yourself for the attitude.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    66
    21
    14
    18
See reviews for
45
257
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

The place is indeed beautiful. Food is decent but not memorable. Stayed in a cottage overlooking the sea. Quality furnishings and comfortable bed. However, Castle Hill is enormously overpriced. Most rooms or cottages run from $400.00 to 1,300.00 per night.
The wealthy may find Castle Hill a home away from home-- but the average punter is priced out of existence.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I had the lobster hash with poached eggs for breakfast here. I was sick as a dog with food poisoning for two days after that. SHAME ON CASTLE INN FOR SERVING BAD FOOD.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

Our anniversary stay at Castle Hill was wonderful from start to finish. We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms at the Inn but it was recently redone and beautifully decorated in an ocean motif. It was also very light which made the room seem bigger.
We had a king size bed, whirpool tub and a nice sitting area with television and DVD. We especially enjoyed the tea time in a lovely room overlooking the ocean...the selection of teas were great, the sandwiches okay and good desserts. It was a nice atmosphere and when the staff heard we were celebrating our anniversary and another couple were on their honeymoon, they brought out a bottle of wine. It was a nice touch that made the stay all the more special. Dinner prices were expensive so we opted for light appetizers from room service. If the weather wasn't so cold we would of headed out to some of our favorite restaurants in Newport like Brick Alley Pub which is more reasonable on our budget. Breakast the next morning, which like the tea was included, was great. We had french toast and omelets and would order them again. All in all, the staff was really top notch and went out of their way to be helpful. This is a beautiful place to stay and exceptional customer service. I would not hestiate suggesting an off season stay and checking out the more affordable room choices on property if it fits into your budget better. One caution, it is a bit isolated from downtown Newport so keep that in mind when making your plans but the location is beautiful..wish we could afford summer prices as this waterfront property would be amazing then!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewheel06
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I booked the Castle Hill Inn as part of an engagement weekend for my girlfriend & I. it was perfect. we had one of the beach cottages (#29). the place was great - nice staff, great room, gorgeous location and great food. really couldn't have been happier--great place

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Everything here was perfect! We weren't sure what to expect as it was just a few weeks prior to the holidays when we decided to spend some long over due time away. The weather started out perfect - 50's and sunny so we would just sit on our porch and overlook a beautiful crescent beach! Our beach cottage was away from the main house but it was an easy 3 minute walk up the hill. The grounds are fabulous and lots of little places to explore. The trail to the lighthouse has a great view of the sound and is a very romantic spot to watch the sunset! The service was perfect as well! The wait staff at breakfast was very friendly and attentive. From the woman at tea when we first arrived to the wait staff in the dining room at both breakfast and dinner...everyone was wonderful! Easy to talk to, funny, very warm and inviting. And the food...oh my!! Breakfast was wonderful - the eggs benedict might be the best I've ever had. I know they say the lobster hash is the best on the menu...and its amazing too but i'll take the eggs! Dinner was wonderful as well - great service, wonderful food - fresh, served on warm plates...great attention to detail. Usually I don't like to return to places because I love to try new places BUT this will be an exception to the rule - we will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Liked — Service, breakfast, view!!!
  • Disliked — nothing...abolsutely nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewickley, pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Castle Hill Inn & Resort is located at the very tip of Newport, right on the water. The dining room is a lovely conservatory that over looks the water. On the grassy slope leading down to the water are Adirondack chairs conveniently positioned to watch the sunsets, unusual on the East coast. The location is a convenient drive to all the area's activities. You will need a car.
The food is terrific with breakfasts and afternoon tea included. Be sure to try the lobster hash on the breakfast menu.
The rooms in the Inn are beautifully decorated with lovely amenities.
Would return to Newport just for the pleasure of staying in the Inn.

  • Liked — Proximity to the water
  • Disliked — Public areas gloomy at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.