We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn with GREAT restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely inn with GREAT restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary at Castle Hill Inn, and we had a wonderful time there. We stayed in the main house, and our room was charming, beautifully decorated and roomy. The bathroom was everything you would expect at a 4 or 5 star resort, yet in keeping with the period of the house itself. The staff was young and beautiful, and although the service was a bit spotty at times, the overall experience was great. The staff were exteremly kind and helpful. They provided valuable information about Newport, and made excellent restaurant recommendations (off-property). We had one dinner at the inn, and it was the highlight of the trip. One of the best meals that I have had...anywhere! Our server was trained at Johnson & Wales, and was VERY knowledgeable about the food and wines.

The grounds and setting are unmatched in Newport. We spent one afternoon enjoying the view of Naragansett Bay from the expansive lawn.

All said, I would HIGHLY recommend staying at Castle Hill Inn. It is certainly costly, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    68
    21
    14
    18
See reviews for
45
270
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

A short weeks stay at Castle Hill was just enough time to relax, take in the sites and enjoy the ocean. The inn itself is charming with great breakfast and dinner menus. The beach house's are especially nice. Ours was beach house #34. Newport is great from the unbelievable gilded age mansions to unique shopping boutiques.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Just spent the weekend at Castle Hill. I rented one of the Cottages. They were very small considering the $1,000 plus charge per night but the location made up for the disappointing size. My one complaint is that the support staff was extremely inexperienced and there didn’t seem to be anyone in place to guide them. Don't get me wrong, there were plenty of support staff but, training appeared to be an afterthought. Some examples of this were when I contacted the hotel by email a week in advance to get restaurant recommendations and reservations. I was not contacted until I sent a second email. Again, I responded to the email sent but no response. I emailed again and never did receive a response so had to take care of it myself. That lack of response probably should have given me an idea of what to expect. Upon arriving the person at the desk just didn’t seem to have it together. He seemed like a high school kid who was told to perform the task until the real person got back. I didn’t get the sense I was even welcome. Other issues… I asked for a car service to take me to a restaurant for a 7:20 pickup. No one showed up and I had to call the desk only to find out there was a mix up. The room itself things like tissues and water were out and never replaced when the room was made up for the day. The property was absolutely beautiful and I would love to return but, I wish they would spend more time selecting and training staff so the experience would go from ok to excellent.

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — Service, room size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed for three nights at Castle Hill, couldn't fault it at all. Everything was perfect, our room in a Harbor House was just gorgeous, all at a bargain special offer on the hotel web site. Staff were lovely and the breakfast really good. We chose not to eat in the restaurant in the evenings as was very expensive, especially with a million places to choose from in Newport!! We are definately going back!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

location, location, location. holds true for this relais and chateaux property. without the location this would be a very mediocre destination. the rooms on the water on nice, but no way a true luxury destination. the bathrooms were really just average at best. there was no shelving, so hard for women to have a place to put on makeup, also the mirror was so high i was practically on my tippy toes, in addition, all hotels should have magnifying mirrors, especially luxury resorts. i also did not like the towels, they were rough, i prefer soft. the room itself was nice but not sure it is worth the price. i guess if we could have used the beach right outside our door that would have been nice, but the weather wasn't quite ready for that. the setting is beautiful, a walk or run in the neighborhood is a must. the staff was nice, although the maitre d' made a suggestion that we should tip him for better service and/or table placement. it made me uncomfortable and i thought for $900 night that should be enough to get the service and attention we required.
the main building is a bit dark and dreary, and the food is good, though a bit too rich for my taste. the desserts were not good at all. there is a $15 corkage fee for hotel guests, that was the best deal there. overall, we had a nice time, but for the money i think you can do better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

My DH and I just returned from a trip to Rhode Island and stayed at the Castle Hill Inn at the end of our vacation.

The hotel itself is stunning - a gorgeous mansion that has been seamlessly converted into a hotel. The property is gorgeous - amazing views of the bay, Newport bridge, and Jamestown across the harbor. The hotel does have a private beach, and we were able to enjoy a peaceful walk along the cliff with only a few bunnies for company.

Check in went very smoothly - the front desk personnel were very friendly and happy to make suggestions as to the better eateries in town. The wireless headsets that the staff wear are a bit CIA-ish, but did help ensure the service was unobtrusive (i.e. calling the valet for our car, or a porter to help us with our bags). We stayed in Room 2 which was a good size, and very well appointed. Each room has a gas fireplace, a jacuzzi, and at least partial views of the water. Linens were high end and what you would expect of a 4-5 star hotel.

Guests of the hotel are also offered complimentary tea service in the late afternoons and breakfast. Both were wonderful. The service was extremely attentive, the food was plentiful, fresh, and cooked well. No complaints on either front. Various newspapers are also available at breakfast. There is a business center with one computer in the main property, wireless is available throughout.

We also had dinner at the Inn on our last night. Prices were comparable to NYC prices ($70 for a 3 course meal, $80 for a 5 course meal, some dishes also come w/ a supplemental price tag) but the quality of cooking is also on par w/ NYC restaurants. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. It's a hefty price tag for a dinner there, but worth it for a special occasion.

All in all we felt our stay was well worth the money we paid and we look forward to returning on a future trip.

  • Liked — Location, quality of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, MA
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Worst dining experience we have ever had. The service was inattenentive, the fresh baked muffins fresh out of the oven wre ice cold and the lobster hash had poached eggs that had t be cut with a knife. Save you time and money and go to a good restaurant in Newport that doesn't overcharge for garbage!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.