We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Nice for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay. Nice for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our parents celebrated their anniversary here last year and enjoyed it so much that we decided to do it this year. This is a fabulous property in every way..We had our own cottage which was just perfect for us, The views of the bay were beautiful.

The staff was great. We had a few special needs and our housekeeper took good care of us .Everybody was very helpful

The food at Castle Hill is very good. The breakfast rates very high on our list of favorite places to have breakfast. Also in the evening, we could have sat on the lawn and drank wine until the sun rose...it was so beautiful.

They have complimentary bikes which we used and the proximity to shopping in Newport was convenient..

We'd like to be back someday. This is a great spot for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    68
    21
    14
    18
See reviews for
45
270
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune City, New Jersey
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were outrageously overcharged for a bad massage from a message therapist that was most unprofessional. She made inappropriate comments and three days later I am still in pain. Prior to arrival at Castle Hill (at least two weeks prior and it was in response to the staff inquiring if I wanted any in room amenities when we arrived) I ordered fresh organic berries, organic chocolates and a particular bottle of Cremant from Castle Hill's wine list) Upon our arrival, there was no Cremant (and no one seemed to know what we were talking about albeit there were several emails back and forth about this request) and the berries were in their containers, in a plastic bag on the table. No tray, no lovely display. It was just unbelievable. I had never been to Newport and was looking forward to this trip to celebrate my birthday at a Relais and Chateaux property. While some of the staff was pleasant, no one went out of their way to insure that we were having a good stay. My daughter complained to the manager after our massages (at that point we were very dissatisfied) and he said, how about dinner on us? We already paid for the dinner as it was part of the package I booked so he comped us a bottle of nice champagne. The dinner was not "on them" because not only were we charged for the sparkling water we ordered but also for the 2 after dinner drinks then it was obvious they forgot it was my birthday because it was not until a significant time after our desert that a tray of fudge was brought out with some candles. It didn't stop there. When the waiter brought our check, He said, "you saved $200 bucks on this bill!" I will not return to Castle Hill. No class and definitely not up to Relais and Chateaux standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am very sorry that, despite our efforts to turn things around during your visit, you left disappointed. That was certainly not our intention, and I apologize to you and your daughter for the lapses in service you encountered. I can tell you that we have since been informed by our spa service provider that the therapist from whom you had your service is no longer with them. I am writing you separately to express our apologies more formally to you, and hope that you will consider returning to Castle Hill.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Return visit to Castle Hill and just as good as the first.

The sheer 'can-do' attitude of the staff and the immaculate grounds are backed by some very gracious and comfortable accommodation.

The charges are not for the faint- hearted but are worth every penny

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stayed at the castle hill inn for two nights only but would have loved to extend it. the hotel is situated, as the name implies, on top of a hill with a magnificent view of the sea. the room was very quaint and cozy. everything was very clean and comfortable. the staff were extremely friendly and breakfast a true treat which we were able to take on the terrace overlooking the wonderful bay.
although it was a bit too chilly to actually go swimming, we went to the hotel beach which was serviced. we took a bike ride with the hotel's own push bikes and explored the surroundings.
make sure to have a drink on the lawn before going into town for dinner. it's well worth it.
thank you for a great time at castle hill inn.

Room Tip: we stayed at the rose room which offers a good view and is quiet despite it hovering over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been to "The Lawn" at the Castle Hill Inn several times. This is my first review. This Inn has one of the best views in Newport. If you go to Newport- you have to stop here to have a drink. There are chairs on the lawn overlooking the ocean and you can sit here and have a drink or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a beach front cottage, which was a great choice for us. The room is a little small, but very cute. You walk out the back door onto your deck and have a very pretty view of the small private beach. You can walk off your deck down to the beach in about 30 sec. It's like have your own little beach right in your back yard. We loved it. The hotel does offer room service to the cottages and they are very accommodating. We had dinner at the restaurant one night after enjoying a drink on the adirondack chairs on the lawn at sunset and really enjoyed it. It's only a short drive to downtown Newport (About 8 Mins.), which is great for shopping and eating. Overall it is a little expensive, but was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Drive into the Castle Hill Inn property created expectations of perfection and that is exactly what we found. The Mansion sits on a Bluff overlooking the Harbor of Newport where you see the lights from the Bridge in the distance The entire staff is warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable about not only the Inn but Newport in general. Our room was in the Mansion and was fit for a queen.. The oversized Soaking Tub in the tiled bath was just what I had been hoping for plus the sounds of the Fog Horns in the distance added mystery and intrigue. The breakfast selections were absolutely delicious and enjoyed on the porch outside where we watched the sailboats exiting the yacht basin. Initially disappointed that our room was not available for our second night's stay we were instead given the BEACH COTTAGE.. Well...How lucky we were as it turned out to be the most comfortable little getaway with a stone fireplace, four poster King sized bed more comfortable than you could imagine.. PLUS very large bathroom (again with an over sized Whirlpool tub) kitchenette and a porch right on the beach. Cannot wait to return..again and again!!! Being a kid at heart I walked the beach finding sand dollars and sea glass at sunrise.. It just doesn't get any better anywhere!! and....afternoon Tea was a delight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.