We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach cottages- Really something special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Newport
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beach cottages- Really something special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at one of the beach bungalows and it was beyond fabulous! Very private and outfitted with everything we needed for the weekend. It felt like home, but with a better view! If you needed anything, the staff would be there within minutes to replenish. So clean and fresh it felt brand new, but with charming old world "costal" cottage flair. With it's private beach for the cottages, the veiw was all beach and Ocean- so close we kept the window open and heard the waves all night. Best sleep I've had in years! During the morning and twilight, time was spent relaxing on the deck. Close to the mansions and "Cliff Walk" so you can spend all day sightseeing or a short car ride to the charming center of Newport. The cottages are pricey but oh-so worth it for a special get away. The Inn dining was grand at breakfast and the lovely outdoor patio for lunch with outstanding water views, but stuffy for my tastes at our one dinner there. Newport has so many options for fine dining.

Room Tip: The private beach bungalows are fantastic. We stayed at the "Nautilus".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    60
    18
    14
    18
See reviews for
42
231
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Don't have much to add that hasn't already been noted, this place is simply fabulous. Service was second to none and the beach cottages can't be beat, especially in nice weather. Found the food and drink service to the beach to be impressive given that it is down the street from the rest of the inn - we wanted for nothing all day. The meal we had in the restaurant was one of the most memorable dinners ever in terms of service and setting. 5 star in every way and will certainly be somewhere to return as often as possible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What can I say other than, "outstanding"?! We enjoyed 2 idyllic nights in a cottage (note: the Nautilus is the only free-standing cottage). Staff were superb. The inclusive breakfast was perfection. Exactly the getaway we hoped to have.

Room Tip: Only downside is that if you plan to come and go from your room to do other things in Newport, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your winter Newport getaway in one of our Beach Cottages. Watching winter seas and rolling breakers from your room while your fireplace is warming you and your loved one is the ideal winter warm-up. I noticed you had mentioned our distance from Newport. Actually, we think that is one of our best features, in both winter and summer. We're only ten minutes and four miles from the center of Newport, and yet you can escape to the sea, and your fireplace, at Castle Hill. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HAVEN,CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went here for our 25th anniversary. We stayed in the Turret room which was the most expensive room but well worth it. The bathtub, which was a few yards away from the bed overlooked the 300 degree view of the water. There also was a full bathroom with a large shower. The room was elegant with a fireplace and the room was dark blue tile where the tub is and decorated with all wood including the ceiling. A spiral staircase is in the room which takes you up to the top of the turret. A small seating area as well as a telescope was a nice touch. The staff sent up complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary. We went to tea at 3:30-which is complimentary although I encourage a tip because the staff really pays attention to each guest. They had tea sandwiches, fresh fruit, homemade scones & cookies. Very lovely. Then to dinner at 7. As one diner put it, "this food is ridiculously amazing." He was spot on. Absolutely unbelievable. The meals are prix fixe and you can get a 3 course meal for $75 each and they are very knowledgable about wines. The also have a 5 & 8 course prix fixe meal. The bed was comfortable & with the fire going it very pretty. Breakfast too is included and there is a nice selection. There again tipping is always a nice thing to do. Seems like all we did is eat but it was freezing outside & we only stayed one night. The woman that greets you and goes over your reservation offered me a to go beverage when we left. I believe there are 21 rooms. Can't wait to try it in the summer! Nice for weddings as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Taking advantage of Winterfest in Newport this weekend, we searched for a lunch spot that according to my husband, "Was not the usual bill of fare. Not that there is anything wrong with nachos, chicken fingers or burgers." We were not disappointed in dining at Castle Hill Inn.
The lunch menu was prix fixe at $18,75 for an appetizer and a small entree. I sampled the little neck clams with chorizo paired with a salmon filet on a bed of greens with an amazing puree. The meal was phenomenal. The views are spectacular. However the lunch set itself apart by the fantasic, attentive and knowledgeable waiter, Jeff. If you head to Castle Hill, ask for Jeff by name. He was a very kind and refined young man who not only knew the menu and the wine list but was extremely versed in the history of Newport, especially Fort Adams. Castle Hill was a high point of our weekend getaway and I cannot recommend Castle Hill or our waiter Jeff, highly enough. If in Newport, it is a must see!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Joining trip advisor just to make this review! First off ill start by saying the property as a whole is soooo romantic! We were greeted and taken into a nice medium size eclectic room they called "the ocean room". The food was very well though out, looked fantastic on the plate, and the flavors were unbelievable even in something as common as lamb they managed to take to a level I personally have never seen. The highlight of castle hill is its service team. Our server was Monty, who was outstanding and was extraordinary with his depth of knowledge, also another server was chiming in every so often as well. They seemed to be overlapping tables constantly making sure everything was being taken care of. This place is an amazing restaurant and I look forward to returning over the summer or maybe even sooner! Thanks Castle Hill!!

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic experience. We visited during the Blizzard of '13. It was the Sunday of the weekend and they had no power when we arrived. The staff was more accomadating then the four seasons. Even though it was 40 degrees in the building we felt warm!! Have told all my friends that this is the place to go for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite and it couldn't have been nicer. The pictures online don't do it justice. It is even nicer in person. Make sure to look for Jeff at the bar, he makes a great expresso martini!! Thanks to everyone who made our stay the best we have ever had!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks so much for posting your experience...we were delighted to have had you as our guests, even under somewhat challenging circumstances! We were able to keep a steady supply of wood blazing in our four wood-burning fireplaces in the Mansion, and Jeff took care of the espresso martinis, as you know. Please come back and stay with us, when it is a little warmer, inside and out.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a forty-acre peninsula overlooking the mouth of Narragansett Bay, at the west end of Newport's world renowned Ocean Drive, Castle Hill Inn offers guests the seclusion and extraordinary beauty of a private oceanfront resort. Our elegantly restored 1875 Agassiz Mansion, the private Harbor Houses, Swiss-style Chalet with adjoining Terrace, and our Beach Houses and Cottages, are all nestled along the coastline providing an enchanting and relaxing escape. Also located on our property is the Castle Hill lighthouse reached by a secluded walking trail, which continues to our private beach. The Inn is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of over 550 of the world's most exclusive and charming hotels and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.