We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Newport
Guilford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We absolutely love going to Castle Hill and dread leaving. It truly is a slice of heaven with it's unbelievable views not to mention being located on a peninsula. We typically visit during the winter off-season to really get away from it all. The beach cottages/houses are comfortable and nicely decorated and who can beat waking up with a view of the water? The property is immaculately groomed and the breakfast/afternoon tea service are delicious....not to mention the evening turn down service with chocolate chip cookies. The staff at Castle Hill do such a great job making you comfortable that you don't want to leave....we barely site see and spend most of our time at the property.

Room Tip: If your looking for more of a private getaway choose the beach cottages/houses which are a short str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    61
    18
    14
    18
See reviews for
43
233
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent Thanksgiving at this wonderful Inn. We stayed in the Harbor House portion of the Inn, and it was a truely wonderful and beautiful room and setting - as modern as one can imagine, but with the charm of 100 years ago. And the view, back over to Newport and the bay and the bridge - breathtaking. We had tea, which was good, but nothing in comparison to dinner at the restaurant. An amazing experience. The staff are most generous, helpful, and enthusiastic, as I would be too, if I worked in this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the Harbor House rooms. They are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful choice for a romantic over-night with my husband. THe beach cottage was cozy and tasteful. The shower was huge! Beautiful accomodations but a little small. The 5 course tasting menu inthe restaurant was superb and very generous. We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Unfortunately owning a home on the Jersey Shore, my residence received over one hundred thousand dollars of damage from “Sandy”. My wife and I decided to remove ourselves from the storms devastation to collect our thoughts. Your wonderful hotel provided us with just that luxury,my wife and I were very pleased with your hotel as well as your outstanding staff. Your hotel was Magnificent.

Room Tip: Beach Houses, very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The views are beautiful. You are close to all that Newport has to offer. The staff are a blend of the best of the luxury hotel brands, but with more sincerity. It is clear that they aim to make your stay pleasant. The beach cottages are unusual, unique and worth a stay. Not a lot of things to improve on here. The food was excellent and the lobster hash for breakfast in the dining room is an experience you don't want to miss. A great new england experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights in November -- which is not the ideal month to visit Newport. But it is a beautiful spot, and I would love to go back in the summer. The main "house" has rooms, and there are other rooms in "cottage"-like bungalows a little bit away from the main house. These cottages are right on the water and have small decks outside each room. So it's a toss-up as to whether you want the main house experience or be right on the water in your little cottage. Either one would be great -- just depends on your preference. The service is gracious but not intrusive. Food is excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This property was everything we hoped it would be. We stayed in one of the Beach cottages. Altough there were cottages next to us we did truly feel alone. We have three children so wanted a getaway that would be relaxing and romantic. It was that and more. The turn down service, robes and slippers laid out were a nice surprise when we returned from our romantic dinner. The brunch the next day was great and the view incredible. I highly recommend visiting Castle Inn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a forty-acre peninsula overlooking the mouth of Narragansett Bay, at the west end of Newport's world renowned Ocean Drive, Castle Hill Inn offers guests the seclusion and extraordinary beauty of a private oceanfront resort. Our elegantly restored 1875 Agassiz Mansion, the private Harbor Houses, Swiss-style Chalet with adjoining Terrace, and our Beach Houses and Cottages, are all nestled along the coastline providing an enchanting and relaxing escape. Also located on our property is the Castle Hill lighthouse reached by a secluded walking trail, which continues to our private beach. The Inn is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of over 550 of the world's most exclusive and charming hotels and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.