We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and delicous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off the third night
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views and delicous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend and I went to Castle Hill Inn for their Sunday Jazz Brunch. We decided to walk to their lighthouse which was a very nice walk. Then we sat out on the front lawn till our reservation was ready. The wait staff were very nice. The food was great. It was $16 for the brunch which included an appetizer, lunch, and desert. I highly suggest the flat bread for appetizer, if you like hummus you will love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    65
    20
    14
    18
See reviews for
45
248
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff at Castle Hill was extremely polite and helpful. The moment we walked in the door we were greeted with a friendly staff, who later showed us our room. The room had a breathtaking view, with a clean bathroom. The only small concern I had was for the shower pressure to be a bit stronger, other than that everything was perfect.

The bed in the room was very comfortable. For me, its the little things that make the experience. I loved that when we went for our evening run, the robes were arranged by the bed, along with slippers, delicious pieces of chocolates and water on the counter by the bed.

There is also an excellent espresso maker in the room. Aside from that, the hotel rate includes a wonderful "tea-time" experience with delicious treats and varieties of tea. The breakfast and dinner were also delicious and I would certainly come back to this place and recommend all my friends and family to come back here again. The views all around the hotel are breathtaking --- the sunset was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and i spent a lovely weekend here celebrating her birthday with another couple. We stayed in a "beach house" - fabulous room with fireplace, heated floors, and deck overlooking the immediately adjacent ocean. Right on a private beach cove. Also delicious breakfasts in a dining room perched cliffside. Pricey, but great choice in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What a nice relaxing place for lunch! It is so calming to view the sailboats as they pass. The staff is super friendly and the food delicious. The crab cakes were almost all crab meat and seasoned great! And, the lobster roll is a pleasant twist on the traditional without loads of mayo so that you can really taste the lobster meat.
I would definitely make this a recommended stop on any visit to Newport, RI.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been a week. What a team at Castle Hill. The best all-round stay we have enjoyed in the USA. Gorgeous food, beautiful triple-aspect room, attentive staff, lovely grounds and ocean views. Nothing was too much trouble, but we didn't need to trouble the team for anything: they already had it covered.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to get full information as there are many different options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Castle Hill, and rest assured I will share your kind words with our staff. You are absolutely correct...we have many rooms from which to choose, and each one in the Aggasiz mansion has its own aspect and personality. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to New England, when you might like to try another room on for size!

Warm regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have gone nearly every year for about 10 yrs but tried Ocean House, also nice, but Castle Hill is still a big fave. I want to be sure to get there in 2013 as we missed the beach house and tasting with wine dinner. We enjoy their woods, cliffs and grounds. The dining room is so beautiful with water and bridge views. Newport is great anyway; cliff walk, art museum, nearby wineries and water everywhere.

Room Tip: We tried many rooms, even the tower, but nothing beats the beach houses and the bath view is of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of the car, Castle Hill was an increasingly pleasant experience. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, the location is gorgeous, and the accommodations were just as expected: top-notch. Not only that, but Castle Hill also has a very interesting history that made me feel like Steve Zissou would be arriving imminently. Located a short, scenic drive from the hustle and bustle of Bellevue (if you can call it that), Castle Hill is a historic gem of a B&B that is close enough to provide access to the wonders of the area while being remote enough to let visitors feel like they've gotten away on their getaway. To put it simply, I'll paraphrase one Ferris Bueller: It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend visiting this place.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Suite is perfect for couples or small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words. Professor Alexander Aggasiz, the renowned Harvard educator and marine zoologist who built Castle Hill in the 1870's, would have been delighted to know that his beloved mansion might warrant a visit from Steve Zissou! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a forty-acre peninsula overlooking the mouth of Narragansett Bay, at the west end of Newport's world renowned Ocean Drive, Castle Hill Inn offers guests the seclusion and extraordinary beauty of a private oceanfront resort. Our elegantly restored 1875 Agassiz Mansion, the private Harbor Houses, Swiss-style Chalet with adjoining Terrace, and our Beach Houses and Cottages, are all nestled along the coastline providing an enchanting and relaxing escape. Also located on our property is the Castle Hill lighthouse reached by a secluded walking trail, which continues to our private beach. The Inn is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of over 550 of the world's most exclusive and charming hotels and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.