We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff. Poor management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Castle Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Newport
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude Staff. Poor management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were treated as second class citizens behind the people staying in the actual hotel even though I was a part of a wedding party, that I would imagine spent $5k-$10k on food and drinks.

When complaints were made to management about some of the staff's rude behaviour, the management did nothing to fix the situation and actually defended some of the behaviour.

The place has nice views, but I would never spend a dollar here given the unprofessionalism and generally condescending attitudes of staff and management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I was sorry to learn of your disappointment, but I truly feel that our staff were trying to make the best of a challenging situation. which revolved around competing requests to view two different college football games on television. Our dining room managers had approached your party in reference to an animated request to turn the television in the small lounge adjacent to your wedding party to a different game than the one that was being shown. Two of our other guests who were already seated in the lounge were enjoying that game, and your party were insistent about your request to change the TV to another game. The lounge is a small one, with one television, and is certainly not a sports bar,. Our practice is to maintain the channel that is being watched, unless the guests come to an arrangement to share or change the channels.

Unfortunately, a member of the wedding party became verbally and physically abusive to the those two guests, using profanity, and our staff had to intervene. What should have been an enjoyable evening for all turned into an unfortunate incident, but our staff reacted appropriately.

Please feel free to contact me at 401-324-4507 should you wish to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Brian Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    60
    18
    13
    17
See reviews for
42
229
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Even if you can't afford to stay at this beautiful property, drive over for a sunset drink on the patio. A friend suggested that we had to stop here for AT LEAST that and it was magical. We watched a gorgeous sunset over Newport harbor, saw a cruise ship leave, and were blessed with a dual rainbow on each side of the setting sun. Yes, magic, for the price of two martinis!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is stunning... No argument there - some of the staff are good - Jo stood out as a good example. Sadly the overall impression we got was that the staff were generally young and inexperienced - the place is over-worked with far too much happening - weddings, lunches, cars coming and going - the level of activity distracted from the opportunity for this resort to be a relaxing or romantic place. We paid just under $1,000 per night (incl taxes). We had just left Blantyre Luxury Country Hotel which was exceptional... Our hopes were high - but we were disappointed. I don't want to totally can it - but if you are looking for calm relaxing avoid weekends - I am told there is a wedding there pretty well every Friday and Saturday night.
We stayed in the beach cottages. Very sweet... The beds are queen sized which is not my preference, and frankly the cottages are smallish and basic for $1,000 a night! If you are expecting luxury you may be surprised!! But the views are superb, and amongst the chaotic busyness of Newport and the main house of the hotel, the calming beauty of the beach was great. We enjoyed a beach fire evening with Hayden which was low-key and very pleasant. It was nice chatting with other guests in a casual environment.
Bizarrely the cottages are far from sound proof - in fact the sound transference was very poor. We had a horrific first night when the neighboring cottage indulged in a sex feast that pretty well prevented sleep for us - and the hotel gave us a 20% discount on that night as a result - but I am still stunned that the walls are so thin - it was like sleeping in a seedy motel in Vegas! Thankfully the following night was peaceful!
We chose not to test the restaurant, but we did order room service that unfortunately was ordinary and cold. By this stage our expectations had dropped considerably so it was par for the course!
If staying in Newport is on your agenda I suspect there may not be a better option. Be prepared for busy and go in with the knowledge you are paying a lot for a special location - and pray your neighbors are not exhibitionists!!!

Room Tip: There is one beach cottage which is not joined to others - request that!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have previously stayed at International Relais a Chateau properties so we had high hopes for our 25th Anniversary. What a disappointment. The list is endless but here are a few examples:
At $ 700 per night I don't expect plastic table mats on a bare table for breakfast, I expect linen table cloths.
I don't want my morning tea and coffee delivered wrapped in shrink wrap. I would also like it hot, Additional phone call to ask for milk and sugar should not be necessary.
Being a delivered a meal at the beach area was nice, plastic cutlery was not what I would expect.
Arriving and hour early we were invited to have a drink at the outside area. After looking at the menu we asked just to have something to drink, we were then rather rudely advised that to sit here you need to eat so push off, just not 5 star treatment.
The location is great, a swimming pool would have been really superb to sit around.
Training your staff during the meal - no thanks
Breakfast offered one choice from a reasonable menu, a croissant or two could have been nice.
My wife's egg bake was served too raw.
The cappuccino machine was not working.

Room Tip: Stay away - Over priced 3 star Guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Every level of service was exceptional. The setting has to be seen. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary (with our immediate family)and came away with great memories. I have always tended to stay away from hotel food. You will make a mistake if you do not experience the fine dining at Castle Hill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My mother and i were on vacation in august. We did not actually stay here. We drove around on ocean drive and thought we'd find the lighthouse, but instead, Great surprise found Castle Hill Inn. Wonderful service, pricey but Excellent food. The Rhode Island Muffaletta is too die for. The best part is the view and location. I'll say it again, Beautiful view, you are looking at the sun over the narragansett bay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The valet parking attendant had left our windows open overnight and we had a difficult time clearing up the windows and the windshield. Rather unexpected given the level of service we had experienced. Also, we had to leave earlier than expected and found that they hadn't billed us for the previous night's expensive dinner. Called their attention to it and after a LONG wait, finally got the bill sorted out properly. I was just doing the right thing, so to speak, but I expected some kind of gesture of gratitude given that it was a sizeable bill that I reported.

Otherwise, it was better than I had imagined. Photographs did not do justice. Service was otherwise impeccable and everything was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Castle Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to write about your visit to the Inn. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, but was concerned about the two lapses in service that you encountered. Please accept my apologies for our not having prepared your car appropriately for the evening, and I am sorry you were the one who had to bring our billing error to our attention. Thank you for being so honest! If you have time, I'd very much appreciate speaking with you about your experience - please feel free to give me a call at your convenience. My direct line is 401-324-4507.

Kind regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Drive, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a forty-acre peninsula overlooking the mouth of Narragansett Bay, at the west end of Newport's world renowned Ocean Drive, Castle Hill Inn offers guests the seclusion and extraordinary beauty of a private oceanfront resort. Our elegantly restored 1875 Agassiz Mansion, the private Harbor Houses, Swiss-style Chalet with adjoining Terrace, and our Beach Houses and Cottages, are all nestled along the coastline providing an enchanting and relaxing escape. Also located on our property is the Castle Hill lighthouse reached by a secluded walking trail, which continues to our private beach. The Inn is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of over 550 of the world's most exclusive and charming hotels and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.