We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine choice for old Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fitzroy Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   398 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Lowell, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine choice for old Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Inn is in a great locale: if you don’t mind walking most of all the attractions you’d like to see (including the mansions) are within about 1 ½ miles of the Inn. The building had a few rough spots re appearance inside & out: flaking paint and other relatively minor cosmetic details in need of attention. But overall there were no issues with cleanliness at all (dirty lodgings are a cardinal sin in our book). The interior common spaces are all nicely maintained, though tight if shared with other guests. BTW: we found that breakfast was better than most, with unexpectedly good coffee and a nice selection of appetizing pastry, fruit juices and tasty fresh fruit salad. All staff were very amiable & accommodating; our server at breakfast was great- look for the tip jar and recognize the fine service!
One caveat: you may want to ask whether the shower is in good working order. We had an irritating problem with the plumbing the first morning which was easily remedied (really should not have happened), but too late for our morning routine that day. Even considering that one detriment, we found the Admiral Fitzroy to be a fine choice for old Newport!

Room Tip: We ‘upgraded’ to one of the two top floor rooms which each have their own small deck/patio. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    52
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
118
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had a weekend with "no kids". We purchased a "Groupon" for the Inn, which included a bottle of wine and chocolates. Breakfast was included. The inn was beautiful. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was a healthy choice of many items, including fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, scones, yogurts, and more. The location was right in the middle of everything, very convienent! There were fresh cookies always available, along with a candy jar (which my husband loved!) The only issue was you could hear people in the adjoining rooms. It wasn't too bad, but definitely noticable. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy for 4 nights in June, 2011. I had a difficult time choosing a location but am glad we decided to stay here. This is a lovely inn, full of character and in a great location for exploring the area. The room was charming and very clean. The breakfast was excellent -more continental than American but filling and more than enough choices. Staff were friendly.
We brought our bicycles and loved biking on the trails in the area. Great sea side rides. We also did the cliffside walk, explored the mansions and did a sunset cruise. All in all, a great area to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn for two nights with my boyfriend, and from start to finish we had a welcoming, warm and hassle-free experience. From the variety of fresh breakfast food each morning (and fresh-made cookies each afternoon) to the charming decor of the rooms, the staff who were always willing to answer any questions we had or offer advice on local attractions, and the convenience of the location, this was a fantastic 'home base' for us to have for the weekend. On top of that, Newport is a wonderful little city with a lot to do and see. We walked along Thames street and the waterfront, as well as the scenic Cliff Walk, twice, toured a mansion, visited a local vineyard and enjoyed the nightlife (the restaurants and bars host a lot of great live music). We will absolutely be going back to Newport in the future, and we plan to stay at the Admiral Fitzroy again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvaplan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a winter weekend getaway. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and priced right. It was on the top floor and we had a view of the water. The staff was friendly, made us feel right at home. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast, it's similar to breakfasts served in European inns and the breakfast room is adorable! The location of the Admiral Fitzroy is great, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We had a nice relaxing weekend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the street will have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I went to Admiral Fitzroy for a weekend with another couple. We had such a nice time. The staff was so nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was wonderful all fresh and homemade. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed their last fall. The staff was friendly, the room clean, and price fair. There is on site parking. The best feature is the location. We were able to walk around old Newport, peer into the various yacht yards, and drink at the local waterfront joints. We would happily go back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the parking area are probably quieter during the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fitzroy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.