We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming harbor-located B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fitzroy Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   398 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“charming harbor-located B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This old inn, originally a convent in 1798, is well-located in the popular harbor area in Newport R.I., near all the shops and restaurants, as well as the historical district, and with off-street parking. The rooms have been renovated and are modern, large and comfortable. The breakfast is full and delicious. The management is friendly and helpful. It is nicely decorated with all the amenities you would want for an overnight or multiday visit to this enjoyable town.

Room Tip: lower level room was quiet and nicely sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    52
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
122
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Really super location with lots of neat places nearby to walk to. The breakfast is continental and nothing tasted homemade. The rooms were clean but a bit worn. You a hear a lot of outside noise even on the higher floors ( drunken people walking by every night). Overall it was nice, but I wouldn't make it a point to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at this B & B. Although it is an older establishment we found the room and breakfast room very clean, well equipped and cozy. The breakfast had a very good selection of tasty foods and the coffee was fresh and hot.

The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt the cost for our stay was very reasonable. We also liked the fact that we could park our car in a safe area behind the inn and walk to most stores and restaurants. Very convenient.

We would definitely stay at the Admiral Fitzroy Inn again and recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriches, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were in Newport for Octoberfest weekend in October. What a wonderful hotel! So relaxing, felt like I was in my own living room while in the parlor downstairs. THe staff was wonderfully accommodating and patient with our large group celebrating a 40th birthday! Rooms were beautiful, rooftop deck is a must-visit, and breakfast was tasty in their charming breakfast room. Best night sleep in a long time with comfy beds. IN the heart of everything -- walking distance to shops and restaurants. Parking was convenient too! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Although this was at the higher end of our budget, it was really was worth it and gave great value for money. The location the ease of parking, the charm of the room, just everything was perfect. The staff were very helpful nothing was a problem and the breakfasts were wonderful, you could have as much as you wanted and there was a good choice, the tables were constantly being cleared and cleaned everything was spotless. We would certainly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants to really experience the old world charm of New England. Thank you to all

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had booked at the Admiral about a week before arriving to Newport, and I am very happy with our stay there. The room was what you would expect from a bed and breakfast in terms of decor. Was pleased with the size of the room and cleanliness. Breakfast each morning in a TINY room on the first floor. Selection for food was good, however, there was not much room to maneuver. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location was awesome-right in the middle of shops/restaurants/bars. Would recommend this inn to anyone looking to walk around newport and enjoy a relaxing stay at an inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Admiral Fitzroy is a delight. Situated in the heart of Newport, it means you can walk to all attractions in the city, whether on the water or historic streets. Rooms are cozy New England. The complimentary breakfast is better than expected, including fresh fruit and pastries. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Can't beat the price for this intown Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fitzroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fitzroy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.