We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barking Crab

Barking Crab
151 Swinburne Row, Newport, RI 02840
401-848-CRAB
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Barking Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thames
Transit: The Barking Crab is located just two short blocks south of Newport's Gateway Center on America's Cup.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice location overlooking the harbor. Great selection of seafood. Something for everyone in a fun atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    109
    98
    46
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and fresh.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good choice for a seafood lover in you. Crab legs delight. Great choices, good value, great service. Absolutely no complaints. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes DE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here during a weekend in Newport. It is a casual restaurant specialized in seafood and fish. I ordered a Lobster and my husband ordered a seafood platter. The Lobster was good, quite fresh and tasty, however the seafood platter was a selection of breaded and fried shrimp, clams, fish etc. It looked quite unappetizing and greasy. Our server was weird - he would stop by our table every 5 minutes to ask if we were doing ok, although we just ordered and we were sipping on our drinks or not come back for 10-15 minutes after the food was delivered to see that our sides didn't come the way they were ordered...With so many other options around, I think I will try all the other places in Newport before going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ehhhhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

although the service was great...... I wanted crab claws, and ordered em. the second one i cracked open smelled like it was marinaded in ammonia !!! I soo had my heart set on crab. They did bring a few very large but tasteless shrimp to make up for it after the server took a whiff of em. dont think i will be running back soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great for Sea Food lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food and great service. We were visiting from the UK and our waitress helped us choose a starter that we could share and recommended the Clambake as a main course that came with a bowl of Chowder. Also great beer to wash it all down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Crab also viewed

 

Been to Barking Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barking Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.