We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Busker's

Busker's
178 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6616
401-846-5856
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I only had a Reuben, and it was one of the best. Thick cut, and lean and juicy.Dessert was excellent, as we're the delicious selection of beer on tap. Very nice barman Sam. Will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    88
    26
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a very good lunch. Atmosphere really nice. My husband had a burger and I had a chicken salad w/brie sandwhich. Many choices on the menu...if we were in Newport longer we would have gone back a 2nd time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful service, mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I went to this bar for the first time with 4 colleagues and the service was beyond terrible. The staff acted like they will never see you again, and make no effort to hide it. The food we ordered was mediocre and, like the beer, over-priced (even by Newport standards). There are dozens of bars on that strip, I cannot think of a single reason why I would return to this one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Get the Reuben sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on Good Friday. Got the front table by the window which was great for people watching on a sunny day.
First thing we noticed..this place is clean. Usually bars have a film of grime over everything but the sun was shinning brightly into the interior. The walls, floors, windows, spotless.
Our waitress was friendly and attentive. Always a plus when you don't want to feel like a tourist.
By far the best of our 3 meals was the reuben sandwich. The lobster bisque soup had a nice flavor but not too many chunks of lobster. The hamberger had great flavor and was a generous size.
Even though this place is on Thames Street which usually means high prices, the tab was not outrageous.
Wold certainly go here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great Irish food and a fun place to go. Our server was fantastic! He related to us and served us well. We had a great time and good eats there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busker's also viewed

 

Been to Busker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busker's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.