We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Reuben sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Busker's

Busker's
178 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6616
401-846-5856
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Get the Reuben sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on Good Friday. Got the front table by the window which was great for people watching on a sunny day.
First thing we noticed..this place is clean. Usually bars have a film of grime over everything but the sun was shinning brightly into the interior. The walls, floors, windows, spotless.
Our waitress was friendly and attentive. Always a plus when you don't want to feel like a tourist.
By far the best of our 3 meals was the reuben sandwich. The lobster bisque soup had a nice flavor but not too many chunks of lobster. The hamberger had great flavor and was a generous size.
Even though this place is on Thames Street which usually means high prices, the tab was not outrageous.
Wold certainly go here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    88
    26
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great Irish food and a fun place to go. Our server was fantastic! He related to us and served us well. We had a great time and good eats there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Solid Irish, In the Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If You miss real Irish Home Cooking and a pint of Brew.....You'll find your prayers answered with a stop here.Featuring first class Irish and American Fare at wonderfully fair and reasonable prices.This Pub is well worth spending an afternoon or an evening for relaxing, hearty fare and great companionship!! Did I mention...the service is great and the atmosphere is unbeatably eye catching!!Our Favorite Irish Pub!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stopped by Busker's on a whim after exploring Newport our first afternoon there and we were very glad we did. Loved the pub atmosphere and the pleasent, attentive waitstaff. Most importantly though: the special Busker Burger was by far the best I've ever had!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Terrific Food, great dessert and fabulous drinks. I was in heaven! Everyone that served us were great and polite! Thanks for the great service and food!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busker's also viewed

 

Been to Busker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busker's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.