We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thames St” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thames Street

Thames Street
Thames Street, Newport, RI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 Attractions in Newport
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Shopping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular Newport street filled with many shops.
Danvers MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thames St”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We walked around, it was cold and while stores were open they
were not busy. I would recommend a visit to the Newport Winery.
There was a very nice tour and wine tasting as well as a souvenir wine glass and nice gift shop

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    96
    58
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fun street with lots of amazing shops and dining spots. I cannot imagine how lively it is in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A street filled with many shops for all likes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This street is an experience and keeps on going and going. I love the shops. Enter as many of them as you can because you just never know what you'll find. Go into the Armory on Thames. Many different vendors are located within one large Armory. Worth the trip inside. A local told me about this place and I'm glad she did. Bought some pretty cool antiques in there included a glass float. This is why I recommend going into as many shops as you can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thames St. Newport,RI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wear your warmest cost,hat and gloves to traverse the windy sidewalk here in January. Many tore fronts covered and closed. It's obvious that Summer is when this street shines. Not many braved the wind and cold today.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lots of shops (upscale and trinket shops). Lots of restaurants and snack shops. A park is under construction by Trinity Church.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Street also viewed

 

Been to Thames Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thames Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.