We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servants life tour elms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms

The Elms
367 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: French-style mansion built for coal magnate Edward Berwind.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Servants life tour elms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I went on the servants life tour and recommend it to downton abbey fans. It is 1 hour. You don't see the fancy part of the house. You need the regular tour to see that. We saw the 3rd floor servants chambers and bathrooms, laundry room, boiler room, kitchens, root cellar and the roof. You enter the tour through the servants entrance of course. Very enjoyable!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    130
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very detailed tour with audio set of what life was like for the owners and the staff. Decorated for Christmas as well as the original house furniture.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been to Versailles and Chateau Vaux le Vicomte in Paris so we appreciate the French inspiration for the amazing Newport Mansions. To imagine life in that era and to have the opportunity to walk the rooms of the lavishly designed homes is such a pleasure. Although the homes would never have been decorated for Christmas because they were only used for the summer "season" we got a glimpse of what it would have been like if they had been. Each room was beautifully decorated and flooded with flickering candles. Tables set with the finest of china and linens for grand holiday dinners with family and friends. The Newport Historical Society has done an incredible job of maintaining and preserving this wonderful property and its grounds. It is a beautiful place to visit at any time of the year.
Thank Heaven the Elms was saved from the wrecking ball!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“The Elms at Christmas and the servants tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently toured the Elms during their Christmas celebration. Live music and refreshments made the beautiful mansion an even better experience. We also took the tour that showed life in the mansion from the servant's point of view. I highly recommend this informative, very interesting tour....not to be missed while in Newport!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Not as grand as the Breakers in style, but larger (it seems) and somehow is breathtaking and comfortable at the same time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elms also viewed

 

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.