We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand home with great grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms

The Elms
367 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: French-style mansion built for coal magnate Edward Berwind.
Cutlerville, Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“grand home with great grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We toured 2 mansions in Newport. This was smaller than the Breakers but very opulant. The grounds behind the home were very well. kept and worth walking through. The audio tour was very informative.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    131
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“below stairs tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was very interesting and informative how people live in these house for the 3 summer moths of the year. We were the only two on the tour so we had the guid for just us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This house although smaller than the breakers had a lot of its original furniture and again built to impress you.
Hard to remember that all these home were summer cottages to the original owners and they only spent a part of their time in Newport.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Mimic of a French Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was an amazing house. There was this new fangled thing called electricity that Mr. Berwin installed in his house way back when... The passages and connectivity so that the servants could keep the house without interfering to much was very interesting. We enjoyed the visit very much. I regret that we didn't take the servants tour which was a newly added option this year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mansions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Join the Preservation Society - 75 for 2 people for a year. Gives you unlimmited entrance to all of their mansions all year. We joined last visit toured most of the mansions and went back to finish up at know cost. No parking charge either. Get news letters all year about fun things tho do.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elms also viewed

 

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.