We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Save Saved
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Newport
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I had a fantastic experience at this great, boutique hotel when traveling on a combined business and pleasure trip. The staff was very well prepared and educated – welcoming and attentive but not intrusive. The hotel has all the amenities I needed for business (and a couple I didn’t need, but were fun to learn about). I was comfortable in all respects and close to everything I wanted to do. The evening I spent on the deck bar and restaurant was particularly enjoyable. It was a big crowd and the staff was literally running between tables, the bar and the kitchen. I was not in a particular hurry but really appreciated the staff member (not a waiter) who was willing to take my order and see that I was served promptly. “Pinch hitting” in this regard seemed to be an attitude pervasive throughout the staff and management. The response to special requests seemed to be “I’ll see what I can do and get right back to you” - which they did.

The property itself is beautiful and in a fantastic location right on the water. I looked at a variety of rooms, from very reasonable to “over the top” luxurious. I was pleased to enjoy a room with a view which I thought was great value.

When back in that area, I will stay with 41 North again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    51
    25
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
185
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have been fortunate in staying at 41 North three times this year, once just a week after they opened. That first stay told me everything I need to know as the service was just about seamless despite their having just opened. I have stayed at other hotels which were just as new and always experienced opening glitches. Not at 41 North! If anything, they have gotten even better over the months and are one of the best hotels I regularly visit (and I am fortunate enough to stay at some pretty great ones--Halekulani in Honolulu, Peninsula in Chicago, Fairmont Olympic in Seattle, Waldorf Towers in New York, etc.). The staff goes the extra mile, the restaurant and room service food is excellent and the rooms are modern and exceptionally well designed. Now if I can only figure out how to use all the features of the IPad that is in each room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I had a wonderful time while at Forty 1 North. The decor was beautiful and well thought out. It had a cozy yet classy feel. The lounge area near the fire place was a very comfortable and relaxing place to hang out. The dining area was elegant and made for a very nice atmosphere. The food was great and my dark and stormy cocktail was delicious!. My favorite food of the night were the oysters and my veal porterhouse entree. The tater tots were amazingly good and the creme brulee for dessert was the perfect end to the meal. The presentation of the food was very nice and the waiter was very accomodating. It was a very nice evening, I had a great time, and I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My family and I travel to Newport often and wanted to give this newcomer a try and were we ever sorry. This hotel offers nothing but a good view but you don't have to spend serious $$$$ staying here to see it.
They were quite possibly rudest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. We felt as if we were bothering the staff if we asked about anything. They really do think they are something that they are not. On top of it, the food is poor and extremely overpriced as is the hotel itself. Worst of all is it's loud. We thought at the very least we'll get a good nights sleep. Not really. If you are looking for that you should definitely stay at one of the other infinitely better Newport area hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Truro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Trying to be something they are not. Loud music in room. Fancy iPod that did not work. Rude staff for turn down service. At the restaurant, the Grill, another table smashed a water glass and no one noticed. Patrons were left fending for themselves with the cloth napkins. Wish I had spent less elsewhere . Very sorry to report this. Had high hopes going in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

New this year, Forty 1 North beats anywhere I've ever stayed (including New York). Don't be fooled by the traditional New England exterior as you approach from Christie's Drive - inside and down below (the bar and harbor) is so hip, so cool, and so beautiful, it's worth just walking down the drive and acting like you're staying there to check it out.

You have to be feeling like a huge splurge if you're going to stay there - the rooms run around $750 a night. But we were feeling like a splurge, and after talking with someone really helpful in reservations, decided to go with the Red cottage which has two floors and was able to accommodate our small group of 3. The cottage almost seems out of place on this property, but is a wonderful place to stay. It has been well insulated to block out most of the surrounding hubbub (this is right on the harbor) and seems like a world apart.

There is a thriving bar and dance scene that I fear might waft up to the ocean-view rooms in the hotel. It is, however, something not to be missed. If only we could be part of the beautiful people all of the time.

I usually have more to say, but must admit to being somewhat speechless over this experience - see my photos. Someone has designed an amazing spot in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent 4 days here and would have loved to have stayed longer. Even though the new building was being built there was no intrusion. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.