We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous beautiful luxurious spectacular hotel with excellent service and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fabulous beautiful luxurious spectacular hotel with excellent service and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've stayed at 41 a number of times over the years and my experience gets better and better. The rooms are fabulous and the staff could not be friendlier. The fireplaces in the rooms are wonderful in cool weather but I really enjoy cocktails in the library and breakfast on the deck.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear SMALLGIRL1,

What a wonderful review! I'm not even sure how to reply other than to say- on behalf of the entire team- thank you, thank you, thank you!

Please let me know the next time you are here, I would really like to meet you in person. I may be reached at psauceda@41north.com.

With heartfelt thanks,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    71
    31
    7
    14
See reviews for
52
216
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came to Forty 1 North in March to celebrate a milestone birthday, and were immediately impressed by the valets. The decor inside was amazing, very city chic, ambient lighting, shiny accents, soft colors, and amazing water views. Check in was seamless, the young lady at the desk walked me up to our room, which was a Premium Water View room. The space was beautifully decorated, the only complaints I have on the room is someone at some point had burned three holes in the rug in front of the fireplace, which as it being a high end hotel should've been replaced or repaired; the lighting in the bathroom was too soft for makeup application, had to do it in the bedroom in front of the window, as all the lighting was fixed at a "soft" level. The chairs in the space were very uncomfortable, so it made sitting in front of the fireplace a non event... on the up side, the bed and bedding were so comfortable you just floated into dreamland, unfortunately, on the second night of our stay, there was a party downstairs, and the music was very loud, and drifted up to our third floor room. But the bed was comfortable enough that it wasn't enough to keep us awake! We ate dinner at the Grill twice, and breakfast as well. Dinner was a bit of a disappointment, my husband ordered a NY strip steak which when it came was very thin, and the chef had a too heavy hand with the salt on the steak. Breakfast was a hit, their eggs lobster Benedict was by far the best I have ever had, eggs were cooked perfectly, the lobster was tender, and the filet was so tender I could cut it with a fork! Coffee was wonderful, too, and never did we had to ask for refills of either water or coffee. Desserts were pretty amazing, just the right end to our meal...as far as the staff goes, all of the staff from the valets, check in clerks, wait staff, and the maids who cleaned our rooms daily were all extremely polite, accommodating, helpful, and attentive. I never got to meet the man who helped me with my reservation, but Scott was by far a huge help and a huge asset to the facility. All in all I would recommend this hotel, (already have) to friends, and am looking forward to another visit, hopefully this summer!

Room Tip: I would try for a suite the next time, as the chairs look comfortable, not the same as the chairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Cleo810,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It's always music to our ears when we receive such nice compliments of our staff. And it really means a lot to us when we get to read our names in a good TripAdvisor review.

While I'm glad your breakfasts were enjoyable, I am truly sorry that your steak was not up to snuff. We have already shared your comments with the chef to make sure we don't disappoint someone in the future with the same issue.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Even in winter, there was so much to love!
Forty 1 North is so perfectly located downtown that we would be hard-pressed to stay anyplace else. Not only was the view just breathtaking, but we were able to walk to everything, except the mansions. If it was not February, we may have ventured. We are foodies and were thrilled to be in the thick of so many restaurants and specialty shops.
We did dine twice in the hotel at The Grill; once for breakfast and the other for lunch. The service was friendly and relaxed and the food was quite delicious. Drinks at the lobby bar were a nice way to spend some extra time before late reservations, as the atmosphere is upscale with beautiful ambient lighting and great tunes.
There is valet parking for the hotel in the lot just out front, but keep in mind there is a $25 charge, per night, even during the off season. While the valets, themselves, were probably the most friendly and welcoming of all the staff, I'm not sure I'd choose to park there next time unless it was peak season. All the guys on rotation really connect you to the place, both leaving and arriving each day..nice little asset.
The BED! Oh that bed! It was difficult to get out of it each morning! We slept in...we had to!
We reluctantly awoke only to saunter to the SHOWER...which aside from the view and the bed, was another little luxury of our room.
Upon checkout, there was a slight issue with how we were billed, but the manager quickly swooped in and handled it, even offering to personally assist us with our room if we were to return in the future. That might have been the clincher, because I'm already planning another visit...
With all of that said, and after reading other reviews, I can see how noise might be a factor for guests in the summertime. The rooms are situated above what looks like would be a pretty amazing outdoor gathering place, bar, restaurant during warmer months, and the music is piped outside to speakers from about 11 am until late night. Additionally, our room, 6, was at the top of the stairs leading to the lobby and lounge, and across from the elevator. While we did not experience any intolerable issues with noise in the off season, I would consider both a higher floor and a room located more towards the back of the hotel next time.
It seems like the grand unveiling of all things Newport occurs in March...so I know where we'll be heading in April!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Loria1070,

Thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself so much.

I will be sure to let our Guest Services Manager, Scott, know that you appreciated his speedy assistance, and will be sure to share your compliments with our valet crew. It'll make their day.

We can't wait to see you back in April.

Very best,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Forty 1 North is an exquisite hotel! From the time you drive up to the property and the valet opens your car door until the time you leave you will receive excellent quality service. The staff is friendly, professional and courteous!

The décor in the lobby, lounge area and "The Grill Restaurant" are very open and sheik. The food at The Grill is very good. We ate diner in the restaurant one night and breakfast both mornings. The weekend package we had included breakfast and we were able to order anything off of the menu. I had steak and eggs that were outstanding!

Our room was beautiful...I loved our accommodations! The bathroom was huge! I loved the toiletry products all except the bar soap. I am very sensitive to smells and I found the bar soap to be a little overpowering. (I can't believe I'm even mentioning this...lol)

When we came back to our room on Saturday night we were pleasantly surprised by a complimentary cheese tray, bottle of wine and a hand written note congratulating us on our anniversary. Nice touch.....

This was one of the best getaway weekends my husband and I have had! We would definitely recommend this hotel and are looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: All the rooms at Forty 1 North are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Gigs2007,

Thank you for your amazing review; I am so happy that we were able to be part of your anniversary weekend!

Thanks for making our week and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Very best,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Sunday brunch was good,very nice place with wonderful views.
food prices are reasonable ,however, drink prices are beyond ridiculous! If you like $15 bloody Marys and $14 mimosas then you'll love 41 North!
,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Dan K,

Thank you for your positive and frank review of your brunch experience in our restaurant, The Grill. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and views, and sorry to hear that you were dismayed with our drink prices.

We take such honest feedback seriously and will review or pricing in light of it.

I hope we are able to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here during off season (late April) and had a wonderful experience. The common areas and rooms were quite luxurious and modern, and even included an iPad to access and review the hotel's amenities and surrounding activities. The staff was friendly and professional. The food was delicious and varied. Everything about the hotel, including the great waterfront views and easy access to downtown (literally steps from the main thoroughfare) made our romantic getaway perfect and cozy. Parking was also very easy, and because of its central location, it made it very easy to view the nearby mansions. Finally, I loved the Andrew Morgan blankets/throws and other fine details of the rooms, which easily pushes this hotel to the high ranks of a designer boutique getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Revelty,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic and thorough review! We are so glad that your stay with us was so pleasing and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Of all or your compliments about our hotel, the one that is most appreciated is about our friendly and professional staff. We review these comments on a regular basis as an entire team, so as an entire team we thank you.

I hope business (or pleasure) will bring you back again this April.

Sincerest thanks,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

my husband and I came here for dinner ( by suggestion of a Newport native) it was great the staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was good, a bit pricey but still very good nice and hot when it arrived so I know our waiter was paying attention. the bottled wines are extremely over priced we paid three times the price for a bottle of Rodney strong than it is to get from the general liquor store but other than that no complaints

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psauceda, Director of Sales at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Mariamarvobs,

Thank you for your great review of our restaurant, The Grill. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and are especially happy to hear about the good service from your waiter. If you happen to remember his name I would really like to share your comments with him. I may be reached directly at psauceda@41north.com.

Thank you again; I hope we see you again soon.

Very best,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.