We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Location,Total Lack of Professionalism.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Save Saved
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Newport
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Location,Total Lack of Professionalism.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We Love Newport and we visit for a few days every August, this trip we decided to try Forty 1 North..(I gave the 4 rating due to the beauty of the hotel, & the location) We arrived and the Valet was very nice and said: please go to the front desk and I will bring your bags in. Well there really isn't a front desk... You walk in and there is a table with a book on it on your right, and a bar on your left. We walked passed the bar, and all the way into the restaurant and No one was around! A person came out of the kitchen and asked if he could help us.. He pointed to go back to the bar, and finally a guest service woman came out and said: welcome back did you have a nice walk? We said we are just checking in and she: said oh... She walked us over to the bar and very matter of factly checked us in...(Not a good first impression) no problem with where we are checked in, as it is a Trendy Hotel: problem is Missing Staff!!! Our room was really nice & we decided to look at the bar menu in the room.. No bar menu...called the front desk she said all the information is on the IPad.. Checked the IPAD No information.. Called back, she came to the room.. Couldn't find info.. She called guest services.. They were all confused.. Oh boy okay so they send up the price list hard copy.. one line item said: if the IPad charger was missing you we're liable to pay for it.. Guess what! It was missing..called the desk... We put the TV on it didn't work.. Called the desk.. 2 engineers came in they said: the TV Was wired wrong.. They fixed it and brought up the IPad charger .there is an IPod on the wall but it has no charge OMG Really!!!!!!..Went to take a shower: Amenities listed weren't there, called guest services again! Every time we went by the front desk at the bar.. No one was ever there! The Restaraunt is great : Food Fabulous, Staff all Young & Very NIce. The Hotel has it all with the "Huge Exception" of needing a few "Seasoned Hotel Professionals" that care about their guests. Owner/Management Really need to Audit their Establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    57
    29
    6
    13
See reviews for
46
191
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After confirming our reservation with a credit card through Bookings.com, the hotel informed us three days prior to arrival that they overbooked labor-day weekend. We placed several calls to both the Front Desk Manager (Scott) as well as the General Manager (Khan); we received no return call from either of them. My best advice to anyone booking a reservation at Forty 1 North is to call prior to arrival since a credit card guarantee means nothing to this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location on the harbor and a outdoor restaurant the most beautiful sea view. The staff is professional and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and modern. The restaurant is really good, we tried it out for breakfast and lunch. One of our best hotel experiences.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ya know- we have stayed in 5 stars and luxury hotels. Someone recommended to check out 41 north. I called to inquiry about booking a week.. and was greeting by a gentleman who basically didn't care that I wanted to become a guest. Oh well... booked our vacation somewhere else. All I can say is that to management is that they need to train their front desk or reservation people with respect and kindness!

Room Tip: Get someone who cares on the telephone to treat potential customers with respect and proper hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Total customer attention.Trendy,yes but very clean and fresh.Entry sculpture was indicative of what was to come.had a harbor view and a little music from below.Multiple shower heads in bath was fun.Fully stocked bar with the best brands.Pricey,but competitive by Newport standards.
My new best friend Lia took great care of us with dinner reservations and suggestions.
Yes the staff need experience,but they are certainly on the right track to getting it.

Room Tip: Room 17 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Splendid one night stay aided by fine weather, terrific staff, and breathtaking harbor views. This place is an oasis in what at times can be a noisy town, as it's set back from the main road and behind it is the most beautiful restaurant surrounded by water and huge, ocean-faring yachts. We took a chance and used the Web site with one day's notice and scored a very nice room. Immaculate, tasteful, and with a very comfortable bed. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Go for the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days in lovely water view rooms. The rooms were clean and well equipped except they could use a coffee maker. The location of the hotel was ideal - within walking distance of almost everything. Staff were very willing to shuttle us to and from more distant mansions.
The problem we had was with loud music filtering into our room. The first night we called, and they gave a reply which seems to have been a standard reply. "This is a trendy hotel". We finally determined that main source of the music was a speaker just outside our door that played the same "trendy" music that was playing in the lobby. I tried sleeping with a pillow on my head but did not sleep well that night. The next morning the manager said he would take care of it and we were provided with free breakfast but told we should realize that this was a "trendy hotel". We explained that trendy doesn't mean noise in our room to keep us awake. The second night it was a bit lower but we managed to sleep by downloading a sound machine on our iPad. Sometime during the night, the music went off but it was back on bright and early. The third night we used our sound machine again.
We think the hotel was lovely but consider a quiet room for sleeping a necessity unless the noise is coming from a busy city street and cannot be controlled. This was coming from the hotel. They did lower the speaker a bit but we continued to have noise in our room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport
40 1 North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.