We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Where to Stay in Newport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Save Saved
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Newport
altoona, pa United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's Where to Stay in Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

North 41 is a boutique hotel of 24 rooms. Heard about it on The Today Show. Stayed here in late June. Our room had a harbor view. Hotel has a Full bar, great restaurant- 41 Grill- and spectacular views! Service is top notch and most all employees seem to be young, energetic and very service oriented. Save up as prices are rather steep but I found well worth it. Excellent location in heart of Newport within walking distance of many good restaurants and shopping. They Provide transportation to Cliff Walk and Mansions. Will certainly stay here again when in Newport!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    54
    28
    5
    13
See reviews for
45
188
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. You are in the center of town and right on the harbor. The room was nice and spacious. This is a boutique hotel so there are very few amenities. For the price I would have expected a full water view and excellent services. It's a nice hotel, but way overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After much serious thought I have decided to add my input to this hotel. There are many things to like about this place. Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect for Newport. You are right in the middle of everything and basically you can leave your car and walk. The setting on the marina is beautiful and we enjoyed drinks and breakfast on the beautiful deck while watching fabulous boats coming and going. A couple of the employees were just tremendous -- Jim and Darlene come to mind. The room is modern but very comfortable. Even in May the fireplace was just wonderful. TV was great but never could sync the IPod but the music stations through the TV was just as effective. We had one of the more economical rooms facing the parking lot but it was fine. It had two semi comfortable chairs and a desk. The bathroom was large and modern but as throughout the room, the lighting was dim. There was a very well stocked mini bar but the prices (which had to be looked up on the IPad in the room) were way over the top. $90 for a small bottle of Grey Goose! So why the trepidation, well...the hotel in its effort to come up with a distinctive vibe has no real front desk just young ladies walking around with IPads. They are delightful when they find you but there is really no way to find them. They always seem to stumble on the guests, like, "oh, can I help you." When checking in I walked into the very attractive lobby and no one was around. A young lady said she would find someone to help me, a little longer than I would have liked another employee came by but so had some other people just wanting to look around. She had no idea as to who was who. After straightening that out she said the room was not ready since it was 2 PM and check in was 3PM. When I asked about the specific room, she said she could not tell me anything about the specific room. On returning at 3PM the room was ready, when I asked about a room with a view at that point she said it would be $100 a night extra even though I was very sure the hotel was no where near full on this Tuesday and Wednesday, especially since we never saw anybody in the restaurant except for breakfast. We were lucky to have scored with the hotel through Jetsetter so we did not have to pay the additional $25 parking fee and they did include an excellent breakfast with the package. I am sure that I would not have been happy paying near $400 a night even in this beautiful property with the great setting. I would return only if had another great price ($230) and I would hope that the hotel would upgrade folks when it is so easy to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hidden gem in Newport couldn't have been any better. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and accommodating employees. The room was fantastic with its fireplace and amazing view of the harbor.
The icing on the cake was when my girlfriend and I got a private tour around the bay. They have their own skipper to take you around the island. He knows the ins and outs of the town and gave us some great history lessons while we sipped on our vino that they let us take on board.
Highly recommend, especially if you need a quick get away from NYC its a fantastic place to spend the weekend.

Room Tip: Try and get the harbor view room, they give great deals during the week!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bread -- no butter, Soup -- no spoon. Wrong entrees. Half hour bewtween courses. Like being in an SNL skit. Nearby tables had similar issues. No leadership. Pretty faces who don't know their jobs.
Avoid this place. Much better choices in Newport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay 5/31 at this great Hotel. Everything here is just as advertised or better and the service was second to none. Upon check in I informed them we were celebrating my fiancés birthday and she would be arriving later. After she arrived at the hotel a bottle of wine with strawberries and truffles were delivered to the room with a handwritten happy birthday note! She was very excited and the kind gesture made her day. The hotel bar I believe may be the best in town as it is on the water, well designed, and the service is first class. Prior to our stay we had been here for dinner once, breakfast twice, and we visit the bar every time we are in town. Every visit so far has been great and we never have any complaints. I want to thank the staff for making her birthday stay such a special one not just with the wine and chocolates but the entire experience. We will definitely return here in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Fun lobby, good location, comfortable bed. Bathroom was very nice and spacious, with a huge bathtub! Nice views of the water from the rooms and from the deck off the lobby, where you can sit and drink coffee or have a cocktail. The hotel staff were all very nice. A lot of good shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.